My Great Grandmother Came For a Visit....

Hello again !

Do you dream? Do you remember them? When you do remember them and even when parts of them are not the reality you know when you are awake, while you are dreaming them, do they all seem natural, like real, like you are not questioning whatever it is, but accepting it and it still feels familiar?

That is how most of mine are, not all, but most. When I was much younger I used to remember many more of my dreams. Then for a long time it seemed I never remembered dreaming and it seemed odd to me, but I just thought I was still dreaming as much, just that I no longer remembered them.

....Or that was my theory.

Night before last my Great Grandmother came for a visit. It wasn't to my house, we were at her house. Not the only house I ever knew her to live in, but in the house she lives in now.

Cheek045justgrandma.jpg

I called her Grandma Webster. Her maiden name was Lenor Elizabeth Moore. Then she married my Great Grandfather James Carey Webster who we called Grandpa Webster. To their friends, they were Lenor and Carey. Interestingly to me, her name was pronounced to rhyme with dinner.

Webster007.jpg

In real life, I didn't know my Great Grandmother very well in the way of who she really was as a person. I was young and although I loved all my family, my life was happening as lives do and I didn't mature enough before she passed in my very early 20's to realize I needed to spend more time with her and actually get to know her in a way that was more than just a Great Grandmother. How I wish I did. I have so many questions now, so many things to wonder about.

She had 5 children. Her oldest, Ida, is my mother's mother.

Webster276.jpg

When we visited in my dream, I was at her house. She looked pretty much as I remembered her in her older years, but she moved like a much younger person. She lives in a huge historic house now. She is the matriarch there I believe, or that is how I felt it. She was putting away some Christmas decorations in a huge basement type place, only it wasn't really basement'y in that it was huge with lots of shelves. I'm pretty sure the walls were stone though.

She was dressed somewhat like she always was when she was here and somewhat not. She had on a dress that was long. She always wore dresses and they were normally at least half-calf length and they always looked a bit like they had empire waists on them, but that may have been because she was well endowed on the top and there wasn't a lot of space above her waist. She is still shaped like that and her dress still fit the same, only the one she had on the other night was very expensive looking and was one of those you see back in Victorian times kind of where it appeared to have a second skirted layer that went down to her feet. It was a long pinafore effect. She also had on some vintage pumps, very nice looking. I have seen some like them in a photo of her when she was very young. In real life, the dresses she wore were more "everyday" type of dresses and of course she had a nicer thing or two for special occasions back then, but not rich clothes. What she had on the other night though was very VERY nice.

Cheek287.jpg

In one area of that basement, there were rolling bookcases like in the library or a document storage space where the shelves roll side to side so that you can go in-between them, but they don't take up as much space as if they were stationary and had a walkway permanently between each one.

I was excited to be there with her and I kept wondering what kind of books were stored on those shelves. I really wanted to know and was hoping I would get to take a look at them. I just knew there was going to be some exciting stuff there.

Webster005.jpg

Unfortunately I didn't get to spend as much time with her as I would have liked too, because I woke up. I didn't get the feeling that she was trying to tell me something I urgently needed to know or anything like that, but I did feel happy when I woke up that I had gotten to see her again.

I hope to get a chance to go back and see what kind of books she has there sometime.

It's Wednesday again and I am off... again.... and I have run the dishwasher and washed a load of clothes. Next I will be going back to the kitchen to decide how I am going to rearrange what is on my counter tops to accommodate the new air fryer that got here yesterday. Looks like it is not going to work out where I pictured, so a new plan will need to be made and implemented.

I hope you are doing well however you are choosing to spend your day.

Love ya !

Jacey

Sort:  

realize I needed to spend more time with her

Both of my grandmother passed away when I was in my teens. I do wish I was smarter then too.

An yea I do dream. Some of them are completely crazy and make no sense at all or where that came from. Some are more like every day things - like your grandma dream.

I spent a lot of time with my Mother's mother (Ida) and knew her very well. It was that relationship that made me realize how much I had missed with some of the others. I know you can't always know these things are so important when you are young.

I on very rare occasion have a nightmare and those don't make any sense at all mostly. Fortunately it doesn't happen much.

The other dreams are not all based on real things, but somehow they still seem normal while I'm dreaming them. Interesting.... and odd.

I don't dream at all...not lately! It's been many years.
Maybe I just don't remember!
Great story!
!invest_vote

Thanks !

Sometimes I wake up in the night from a dream. Sometimes it is a very nice, feel good dream and I lay there a second and tell myself I will remember it in the morning and ponder on it or write it down. THEN.... I get up the next morning and cannot remember a thing about it! Grrr... ha ha

I had a super real feeling dream about a friend of mine who died under suspicious circumstances. It oddly happened around one of the anniversaries of his death. But the dream was just soooo pleasant. Like you said. No real message. Just that all was well and we got that dream time for a little visit. It was one of the most comforting dreams. 🙂 Glad you got the time with your great grandma. ❤️

I was sitting here thinking that I don't remember Grandma Webster ever being in my dreams before, of course, it could be that I have just forgotten, but that made it seem even a little more unusual.

That is something that your friend dropped in to let you know all is still well, no matter what actually may have happened here.

@silversaver888 denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@silversaver888 thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Oh !! Thank you ! 💚

Hey, that's exciting! Have you ever tried lucid dreaming? That's something I study a little, but don't have the discipline to really get into practicing at the moment. I'm pretty sure we could be able to get a lot more out of our dreams if we'd know how to do it properly.

Blessings,
Ana <3

Although I have heard of lucid dreaming and may at sometime in the past read what it was, it is something I have never pursued.

I seem to be remembering a lot more of my dreams lately. Sometimes when I wake up during the night and realize what I've just dreamed, it makes me giggle in the darkness as I settle back into sleep. Nighttime entertainment. 😄

There are some great resources on lucid dreaming, some people really seemed to have mastered it. It's a lot about training ourselves to remember our dreams and find patterns in them, as well as creating the habit of doing "reality checks" during the day, hoping that we'll also do them while we sleep and then realize that we're dreaming.
My man has tried that a few years ago and he needed two weeks of doing those practices to turn lucid in his dream.

I've had a few dreams like that accidentally when I was a child, but never again since, although I'm quite a vivid dreamer and almost always remember them.
Anyway, interesting topic. We spend so much time dreaming, and it's truly a mystery sometimes :)

This is a nice little memory here! I was very fortunate to get to know and spend time with my great grandfather when I was younger, he died when I was 19 or 20 I think and he was a character. I can remember him now asking for a hot dog and a shot of annisette, my family's famous homemade liquor. Those were the days that's for sure! Fond memories and ones that I'm really glad that I got to enjoy because they, even with their challenges, are fascinating people and we can certainly learn a lot from them!

I love these types of dreams, though I don't have many myself of my relatives that have since moved on. I wonder why that is but likely won't know for one reason or another. There would certainly be some welcome dreams to sit with my grandfather's, the only ones I actually got to know as my grandmothers died either before I was born or when I was pretty little.

I'm hoping to enjoy one of these pleasant dreams in the coming weeks, who knows, it may happen!

That is so nice that you were able to spend time with your great grandfather. Priceless memories !

We would always go to my Great Grandparents house at Christmas. My Grandpa Webster was a child at heart about Christmas and theirs was the first tree I ever saw the electric bubble lights on. I was always so mesmerized by them.

We did get to visit with them now and then, but I never really spent any one-on-one time with either of them. Who knew they would pass before I ever got to know more about the real people that they were? My Grandmother did put on a huge meal one time and invited my older sister and me and our very young husbands to her house. It was so much fun to be just the five of us. She had the best linens on the table and put out the fine china and crystal as if we were royalty. That is the only time we were able to do that before time ran out.

I hope you do get to have a nice night-time visit. Maybe he will come since he knows that would make you happy.

Thank you for stopping over !

You have such lovely photos of your great grandmother. It’s interesting how the brain works -the things or people we dream about, the details, the point at which we wake up, the parts of the dreams that fade and the parts that remain.
It feels like I don’t dream as much these days but I remember having some recurring dreams when I was younger.

Maybe you wish this particular dream was a little bit longer?
I wonder what was in those books. Maybe you’ll get back to it in another dream.🥰
Have a lovely weekend.

It is interesting and although I don't feel like I am forgetting a lot of it, I could be.

She seemed to be responsible for all that was there, but somehow I got the feeling that those books held some secrets I would find very interesting. I don't know why. It seemed odd to me afterwards that I seemed focused on the books. I like books and I've owned some, but I've never had a large amount at one time. Although I have a read a few books more than once, I'm not generally the type that reads the same book over and over, so haven't felt I needed to own all I've read.

I wouldn't mind visiting again, that is for sure.

I dreamed a lot when I was younger and eerily several I dreamed seemed to have some sort of messages or connections I didn't truly understand, but because I mentioned a few before things happened that seemed to be connected, my older sister told me once if I ever dreamed about her, not to tell her. LOL !!

Like I said, for a lot of my adult life I didn't remember a lot of my dreams although I feel sure I was still dreaming. I am starting to remember more and more now. I have no idea why.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you !