Umbrellas

in #communitylast year (edited)

20230408_111555.jpg

Two days ago I posted a "nothing to say" post where it ended up having over a thousand words on it....LOL... that doesn't sound too speechless really, does it? Me so funny ! Anyway.... one of the photos on it was this one where I took a photo outside at a small local art gallery in the town I live in. It's in an old Victorian type house that belonged to Captain White. There's a story about that somewhere.... but that may be for another time. Anyway... we had lots of rain yesterday and last night and are continuing to have more today, so it seemed appropriate to post about umbrellas.

20191002_111809.jpg

In general though, my first thoughts on it were not about rainy days, but about sunny days and giant umbrellas that provide a little shade. Not so much about the kind that keep the rain off of your head if you HAVE to go out. So... another hunt through my photos ....

20181031_144702.jpg

The previously photo and this one below are of the outdoor dining area of a restaurant named Da Vinci's Table. They generally have consistently good food and a decent bar if you like that sort of thing. I don't go there much, but I do love the atmosphere of their outdoor dining area when the weather allows.

20181031_145250 (1).jpg

It's always fun to see sidewalk umbrellas too. I think it makes areas look inviting and fun.

downtown in front of bakery.jpg

These are outside a local bakery. Now that is a great idea, some yummy pastries enjoyed outside while people-watching.

20191009_123733.jpg

This was my mother's back porch a couple of years ago. We didn't have much rain parts of that summer and the corner where she had lots of flowers was being blasted by the sun all day, so she decide to take the golf umbrella that she never used out there and place it where it would give some of the plants some shade part of the day. I thought it was a great idea AND it looked quite pretty.

Moms umbrella.jpg

These umbrellas were in an outdoor area outside of the breakroom in the building I worked in before covid started. It was a very nice area to spend breaks or lunch in when the weather was nice. I ate my lunch out here often with some of my coworkers.

work break area.jpg

I know this one barely shows the umbrella that was there, but when I saw the photo, I loved the way the lights made the area look, so I included it anyway. It almost counts ! This was at my Mother's 80th birthday. We had a hotdog roast, using her firepit which you can see a sliver of in the bottom left corner, to cook the weiners. All the "fixins" were on the table.

oct vics bd.JPG

I didn't have as many photos of outdoor umbrellas as I thought I might have. I knew there were more from some photos I took at the River Walk when I lived in San Antonio, Texas, but I couldn't for the life of me find the files with those in it. I KNOW I still have them, but where ??

While I was typing the above, all of the sudden it crossed my mind that I have some memory sticks and camera photo cards in a tin across the room that may have info from previous computers on them. It made me stop and go look. The one I thought might have the San Antonio photos on it, didn't have them. Oh well.... that's ok... maybe another time.

Since it IS a rainy day, I had to take my newest umbrella out for a photo shoot. LOL... the things we will do for photos.... but that is how I ended up with the cover photo of this post and below are some other shots I took. As you can see, my newest umbrella is quite colorful... and large. I actually bought it last summer to use like my Mom did hers, to help give my porch flowers some shade, but it was so nice and pretty when it got here, that it never got out to the porch and is now my favorite umbrella to use to keep myself dry.

1.jpg

Even though it doesn't feel like it today, (about 45 degrees right now), it is springtime here and the azaleas are in mid bloom. They were not quite full bloom yet, but they do NOT like rain, so who knows if some blooms will become sad before the others burst out, but it is a real possibility.

2.jpg

I had to take one where you could see all the colors.

3.jpg

Here looking out across the yard, the wet street and the horse pasture, you can tell this is definitely an umbrella day.

4.jpg

It was starting to sprinkle again before I finished the shoot and my model was beginning to get wet.

5.jpg

Tomorrow is Easter Sunday. I will be going to Moms with some food and some cake, all of which needs to be prepared today, so the kitchen is calling to me to come and get started. I expected to have been in there before now, half past noon....but Hive called and after photo hunting and the umbrella photo shoot... alas, nothing has been done in the kitchen yet. I'm really going in there now... I promise.

I hope you are all doing well.

Luv ya ! 💜

Jacey

6.jpg

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

What a creative umbrella post! I love the colors especially of the first and last pics.
It’s good that Da Vinci’s Table has good food. They wouldn’t want to “spoil the name”. Lol!

Thank you ....

....and about the name? I know ! It would be terrible to have a name like that and then have very bad food. Someone might come back and haunt the place !

LOL

Lol! They’ve hit yo keep up with the quality. 😆