Less music, more community

in #community6 years ago

About two months ago @anomadsoul had offered to convert a person who wanted to apply for it into a "whale" for 36 hours. This was due to a trip that he had that would not allow him to vote, so the proposal was that that person who was selected was going to execute, indirectly, the vote of @anomadsoul (a vote that has more than 260000 SP), that is, a vote of high value. On that occasion I left a comment where I said "I would not dare to do it, because it seems to me a very big responsibility."

In Spanish there is a saying: "tongue is the punishment of the body", meaning that when you start to "say" things, life submits you to the tests you are talking about and puts you in situations where you have to Do what you said you wouldn't do...


¡Versión en español disponible aquí!
Deutsche Version zur Verfügung hier!

Well, a few weeks ago I was approached with the proposal to take charge of a curating project for the Spanish-speaking community, which there was practically no way to deny me.

It is worth mentioning that it is a very nice and interesting project and that it currently offers one of the most transparent curating systems that can be found in Steemit.

imagen.png
Fuente

This commitment, of course, has brought with it that I can not dedicate the time that I would like to write (which was already scarce because of my commitments as a musician), to devote to this project that requires a lot of attention and searching quality content to be upvoted. In addition, we have been doing and have in mind changes and improvements that require proper planning.

However, there is a small team that has been making its contribution, which we hope to expand in a short time, which has allowed the project to remain active while we implement the new improvements.

This project is called La Colmena @la-colmena (the hive) and has its server in Discord in https://discord.gg/SYwngna.

But what makes this project different?

I have grown tired of reading in the different chat channels related to Steemit the complaint of many users, that the whales do not upvote "the content that should be voted", "that they only favor some", "some of them only upvote among the same members of a community". "these are mafias" and any other number of complaints and accusations.

In La Colmena are the same users, who request their role as curators, who postulate the articles to be upvoted (all Spanish-speaking users can request it, as long as they follow some basic guidelines) and in the same curation channels criticisms or recommendations are made. To ensure that the user is submitting quality content, he must explain in a few words why he is submiting it. And without a doubt, the best curation school is there, where other users make observations, in terms of design, quality of images, writing, plagiarism, spam, or comments and/or criticism generated by the postulated post.

When we say “all Spanish speaking users”, we mean even members of other communities and the invitation is for all these communities to support their members submitting their posts in our channels.

We urge all our curators to review well that it is not plagiarism, that the images have their sources clearly identified, that the material is original and of high quality. Once they receive enough votes in each curation channel (we have 5: general, arts, literature, music and photography), it goes to a review channel where the administrators do a second review (this is what in some communities the "reviewers" do) and each postulated post must receive at least 2 votes to finally receive the upvote of the community.

We have the support of @curie, as a Spanish sub-community and also the support of @c-squared, for whom we also carry out the upvoting in Spanish. So our responsibility goes beyond this community, of course, we understand that our work has to be taken very seriously and responsibly, because it is an honor and a commitment.

This is a job that requires a lot of dedication, but at the same time produces great satisfaction. The main pleasure is being able to give an upvote of high value to publications that could possibly be left without a significant reward.

One of the things that I like the most is that people who do not have the power of a "whale" can make the content that they consider of quality, receive our vote.

Another interesting aspect of this project is that I believe that the best way to learn how to make good posts is learning how to curate. As long as we understand what the elements are that make a post something of true quality, we are learning how to make them ourselves.

I myself participated in the mentoring that @promo-mentors does and although I did not opt to become a curator at that time, I understood what the quality content was about. Of course, we are talking about common and established criteria in some curating communities. We understand that these are very complex paradigms.

The part that I like the most about this activity is the amount of people that you come into contact with every day.

Among the negative aspects I can emphasize that I lack time to do all the things I would like, to write my own posts , to make music on this platform, to make more music in my life.

This has absorbed almost all the time I dedicate to Steemit and I have not been able to deepen my relationships with communities that have supported me and that I have liked a lot, like the German speaking communities such as D-A-CH (@dach-support) and @steem-bootcamp. The group of my friend @vladivostok, or the friends of @helpie who are doing an excellent job.

Something that desperate me is not having more voting power, to be able to vote for all the publications I would like, even more so if we take into account that I read material in English, Spanish and German. Additionally, I am one of those who like to upvote the good comments that others leave in the publications. Since I have not yet reached 500 SP, I do not have a voting bar and my votes are 100%, which reduces my chances of supporting everything I want (I know there are "hacks" for that, but I'm not friends with that type of resources). This causes me great frustration in some moments.

Even so, I am happy that the lists published by @boddhisattva with the most outstanding curators in the #spanish category has included me in the last two editions (see the most recent). That makes me feel that the work that one develops on this platform has value and that the contribution I am making is real.

So, this became a soliloquy and the only thing I wanted was to invite you to support this project the way you can, even though it has served to me as a catharsis. So below I leave the indications of how to support La Colmena:

  • To join the server of La Colmena, click the following link: https://discord.gg/SYwngna (Yes, you’re right, it’s in Spanish only, even so you’ll be welcome!!!)

  • Follow the curation trail of @la-colmena in SteemAuto and give your support to the Spanish speaking community.

  • If you want to delegate some SP for @la-colmena you can do it using this links:

Thank you for reading!


Follow - Upvote - Resteem

@ylich
http://ylich.com


Recent posts / Artículos recientes / Kürzliche Posts

* If this post is older than 6 days, you may go to the most recent and upvote it!
* Si este artículo tiene más de 6 días, puedes ir al más reciente y votar por él!
* Wenn dieser Artikel mehr als 6 Tage hat, kannst du zum letzten gehen und diesen upvoten!
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stimu from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.