You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travelling trough time. Connection. Imagination

in #connection6 years ago

I love Donnie Darko. I haven't watched Dark, but from the trailer it looks like something I would enjoy.

As for being at the centre of something big, I totally get that. Sometimes I get flashes of it, when my connection to the universe is clear and untainted. These are the moments when I am most glad to be alive.

I believe that the concept you mention about one oneself existing is called solipsism. I looked at that topic when I studied War & Peace at university, Prince Andrei's inner monologue as he lies on the battlefield watching a shell fizzing beside him before it explodes. It's an interesting concept.

Sort:  

I'll definetly look up the theory of solipsism and prince andrei's inner monologue.. sounds really interesting and am sure a lot of thinkers came to that conclusion during a day...
One interesting argument would be a research I read about.. where people got arrested lonely in prison's for example they started to create another persons. Just as imagination or maybe as a drawing into the wall. They began to talk or even to argue and have a fight with them.. It's hardly to say if this "experiment" agrees or disagrees with solipsism..

Yes it really is a very interesting concept which should be spread more widely so that people dont have to overthink every decision and just do whatever they want to because if this concept is true, everyone would be more relaxed and wouldnt have the fear of doing something wrong.
I am interested in the flashes you get sometimes. Could you extend your tellings towards this topic? @camuel