You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quack Attack: The QuackWatch Strikes Again!

in #conspiracy3 years ago

Thanks @jasonliberty for the mention, I've seen this for the second time now and yesterday when I got the notification that I was mentioned in the bot's post I downvoted the post, one of the things I rarely resort to as I support freedom of speech.

I would always welcome a healthy objective debate anytime but I strongly oppose defamation and character assassination, I've been suffering from such for the past decade now due to the US attempts to 'democratize' my country Syria by exporting their surplus of democracy at home using their usual 'freedom fighters'.

Appreciate your post and mention here, keep up the good work always.

Sort:  

If we expect to be allowed to speak freely about others (like gates and bezos) then we should allow others to speak freely about us.

@logiczombie, I take no issue with this guy speaking freely about me, but resorting to large scale defamation, slander and character assassination without a willingness to engage in debate or discussion of any kind, and without posting a single reference to back up his accusations, is in my opinion a whole different situation. Many argue a downvote is not always an attempt to restrict free speech - I downvoted this time, but not without leaving a lengthy comment correcting his erroneous claims about myself and challenging him to engage in debate with me, as did others.

It may be the last time I choose to take the route of downvoting, but his posts are seemingly borderline spam and absolutely abuse of the blockchain posting the same posts (tweaked only with few additions to the list) over and over and over again.

Also, unlike those on the blockchain who regularly go around punishing users for engaging in politically incorrect speech with repeat downvotes while refusing to engage those they downvote in any conversation, it seems the majority of downvoters in this case left comments so the bot manager knows exactly why we have left our downvotes, and he can certainly choose to engage with us if he wishes to regain his reputation.

It seems akin to a defamation lawsuit, and he has now lost his rewards due to engaging in multiple acts of defamation against 103 Hive users.

Any thoughts on this take of the situation?

All personal attacks (libel-defamation) are AD HOMINEM ATTACKS.

There is no reason to "retaliate" against AD HOMINEM ATTACKS because they are widely regarded as illegitimate non-arguments (logical fallacies).

It is surprisingly effective to simply identify them and walk away.

Whoever or whatever created this quack account has done us all a huge favor.

We should all band together, flat-earthers, anarchists, Christians, lunatics, conspiracy-theorists, and yes, even the MAGAHATS.

We should stand together and support REAL FREE-SPEECH.

We should stand together and support REAL FREE-SPEECH even for quack brainwashed.

If quack refuses to engage in a conversation, then they are a hypocrite.

DOWNVOTING FOR A DIFFERENCE OF OPINION MAKES YOU THE SAME AS THEM.

IN THE MARKETPLACE OF IDEAS, PROMOTE WHAT YOU LOVE.

IN THE MARKETPLACE OF IDEAS, PROMOTE DIVERSITY OF THOUGHT.

YOUR ATTENTION IS THE ONLY TRUE CURRENCY.

DON'T SPEND IT ALL ON THINGS YOU HATE.

Whoever or whatever created this quack account has done us all a huge favor.

On this point I agree 1,000%!

DOWNVOTING FOR A DIFFERENCE OF OPINION MAKES YOU THE SAME AS THEM.

Yes, I would agree, so good thing my downvote was cast not over any difference of opinion or to ‘retaliate’ against personal attack, but mainly because this is spam/abuse of blockchain in my opinion. I didn’t downvote the first time I saw I had been put on this list, but it is now apparent that this account is re-posting the exact same post over and over and over again, with no changes but the minor additions of a couple ‘quacks’ to the list. I was under the impression this was the most legitimate purpose of a downvote, to counter spam and repeat posting of identical content over and over and over again. I think this could also fall into the category of ‘disagreement over rewards’ as it is absurd that this account should get rewarded over and over again for posts that are copy and pasted and re-posted over and over and over again...

That being said, I probably won’t downvote again next time he re-published the list, as it would be nice for his pics to not be hidden so all can see his lunacy in all its fullness. Also because I agree with you that we should be focusing most of our energy on supporting what we consider to be ‘good’ content rather than downvoting and attacking what we consider to be ‘bad’ content.

this account is re-posting the exact same post over and over and over again, with no changes but the minor additions of a couple ‘quacks’ to the list.

Lots of accounts do this.

Even very prominent and influential accounts.

Sure,

At least in our little corner here, cunts like Gates & Bezos are not in an unequal position where they can use censorship tactics against any voice of dissent against them.

I'm finding it just a bit funny that this sloppy milquetoast bot posting of @quackwatch is something HIVE can rally around, as opposed to rallying around them who will kill us or leave us in abject poverty before too long (Gates and Bezos)

First they came for the flat-earthers, and I said nothing because I am not a flat-earther.

Then they came for the fringe-right, and I said nothing because I am not fringe-right.

Then they came for the Muslims and Christians, and I said nothing because I am not a Muslim or a Christian.

Now they coming for everyone and everyone said nothing. Let's perish in unison wahoo!

Thanks for the comment @aribisouri, like you I very rarely cast downvotes as I’m a strong supporter of free speech like you, but did this time too, mainly b/c this bot is engaging in defamation, character assassination, and slander on a massive scale without any sources to back his claims and attacks, and without a willingness to engage in debate or discussion of any kind whatsoever.

I did laugh pretty hard when I saw he labeled you as a supporter of both ‘Assad regime’ and ‘terrorism’ as under the current conditions those two seem pretty mutually exclusive, as the ‘Assad regime’ is waging a war on internationally recognized terrorists invading and occupying your country :) These ‘rebel’s are even designated terrorists by the US itself! One can at least make the argument that Assad is a brutal dictator, but not even the most extreme anti-Assad imperial apologist can reasonably argue that the SAA under his leadership is not waging a war on terrorism in Syria (though they try).

Keep up your great reporting, and I continue to hope and pray that your country will soon win the war on imperial occupiers and their terrorist armies, and be able to return to peace soon. Take care and thanks so much for the interaction.