You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WhaleShares Short Story Contest Series | Week #7

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

"Broken Reality"
I’ve been living there since my return, in the stories of civil wars, torture, rape and bombings. The ocean in front of me and the dead of night only takes me back to the old cobblestone streets of Aleppo and the little children selling fruits and bread in those dark alleys under the bridge. He is a memory, and not a story. Mehmet was the kind stranger who organized my exit, wrote a note for me in Arabic for my smuggler who helped me across the border into Turkey. Today I am alive in the land of the living while he breathes barely only in my restless mind.

My indebtedness to him haunts me in my sleep when I hear the despair, the fear and helplessness of millions of him dying inside and living outside those borders. How do I sleep in this silence that deafens me with the sirens of murder that is being committed every day? The world must believe this hollow city of crashed limbs, underground births and broken men does not exist. They are my reality’s horrors forgotten in tales of peace. They do not welcome my life nor the silence of sleep.

Sort:  

quite touchy @anavictoriakong
guess you were refering to syria in ur touchiung story
are you on steem chat...how do i reach u one on one...

Hi! Yes. This story east in reference to my time in Syria and it is the first time I have written about it, especially about Mehmet. I am sorry, I do not use Steem chat. I might join Discord in the future. I try to balance what little spare time I have to spend it studying or reading posts on Steemit. I would like to write more, and I intend on doing gradually as I find the extra time at night when I am unable to sleep. I do feel the need to express my memories through words....

ok dear... i try to read your posts but cant find current posts to read...mostly shared...