WhaleShares Short Story Contest Series | Week #7

in #contest7 years ago

This is the Week #7 of the Whaleshares Short Story Contest series. I'm so happy because there were a lot of good entries last week. I hope the contestant and number of entry will be increased by time.


First of all, Congratulation for the winner of last week Short Story Contest. If you haven't check it, here it is:
The Winner of WhaleShares Short Story Contest Week #6


Contest Rules :

  • Write an Original ShortStory ( Plagiarism will be flagged and reported )

  • The Story contains no longer than 200 words

  • Write a ShortStory based on the topic that I will give every week

  • Only 1 entry per user

  • Submit your entry in the comment section below

  • The Winner will be decided by the number of valid and genuine upvotes received. So don't try to cheat with the bot upvotes or community upvotes ( I will check them manually).
    There will be 3 winners this time.
    -1st Winner will receive 5 SBD and 20 Whaleshares Token
    -2nd WInner Will receive 3 SBD and 10 Whaleshares Token
    -3rd Winner will receive 2 SBD and 5 Whaleshares Token

  • If you're wondering what's whaleshares, you can check this thread:
    STEEMGIG - A COMPLETE GUIDE ON HOW TO USE WHALESHARES! by @eirik
    Whaleshares Project | My Experience with Whaleshares Project

  • Upvote and ReSteem is appreciated to help me grow the contested interest.



These tokens are on BitShares! So make sure you have a BitShares Account to receive and send them for upvotes on your Steemit posts!

Register Bitshares Account




Be sure to join us on the fastest growing steem-related Discord server! Over 1850 users in under 8 weeks!

https://discord.gg/hskTseT


Sort:  

"Family first"

As Ann bumped into a stranger...
Ann:Excuse me please
Stranger:Excuse me please too ma’am...
Both were very polite to oneanother...

However, at home how we treat our loved ones is different from how we treat strangers...
While preparing dinner, her son stood still beside Ann. As she turned, without noticing anyone, she nearly knocked him down. Ann shouted at him to move out of the way. She never realized how harshly she spoke. As Ann retire to sleep, her inner voice spoke;
Voice: "While with a stranger, you used courtesy, but with family you love, you'r abusive. Look on the kitchen floor, find flowers by the door your son picked for you. He stood still not to spoil the surprise,you never saw the tears that filled his little eyes when you harshly scolded.
Ann felt ashamed &tears fell freely. She went by his bedside & woke him...
Ann: Are these the flowers you picked for me?
Son: Yes, found them while playing and picked them because am sure you will like them especially the beautiful pink ones. Ann became emotional...
Ann: Son, mummy loves you, sorry for yelling at you then...
Son: Ok mum, love you too...

@kenhudoy Thats 100% true!
Most of us dont find time or we even feel artificial or formal to show love or kindness to our family members but we do show love to outsiders.
But this is the great short story to make us feel to shower the love to family members open heartedly!

Thanks dear...keep steeming hot...sent an article on human breast milk for adults...find time and read...very helpful

this is a very great story. we must always learn to appreciate our loved ones more. majority of us are guilty. we respect strangers more than we good our loved ones. Great story @kenhudoy

Speechless I am I must confess. This is inspirational

thanks dear...

You are always welcome

Hello @kenhudoy

This is a short story but it is packed with morals.

Most parents fail to realize the Importance of encouraging their children, it is a major determinant when it comes to the level of self esteem the child will possess.

Nice Story Upvoted.

@ogochukwu

thanks dear... i appreciate your comment and response.. and i concur to it..

Short and lovely story, most importantly it teaches morals... Nice one

Cool story @kenhudoy I love it! May you win first prize with this one!

thanks dear .. hope so too

Really enjoyed the story specially being a mom, I can see how this could easily happen without being aware of the impact it makes on our little children. The message is even more powerful still and so very true. We must place those we love first when it comes to courtesy, patience and compassion.

thanks dear... i always appreciate all mums out there.... you guys are the best...

Hmmm - Good writeup

upvoted. Goodluck

thanks....did you read my last two blog posts...very informative.... take a look!

my submission

Story Title: GIFT

Ada was a pepper seller in the very busy Ukodo market. There was something that differentiated her from others in the trade. It was not because she had just finished from college, but her voice that sounds like that of a nightingale. She went for an audition and was rejected on the excuse that she could not harmonize well. Ada returned to the market in distress and wouldn’t be consoled by her mum. She stood motionless behind her table as her mum’s encouraging words led her to tears. When she opened her mouth and began to sing, her voice raised the adrenaline in everyone who heard her sing, coupled with the fact that she sang amidst tears. Among those who stood amused, was one who stood amazed! As Ada stopped the song abruptly, she noticed a man in front of her, separated by the table. “What is your name?” He asked. “Ada” she said. “This is an amazing voice”. He confessed. He works with Odix Muxic, the biggest music brand home and abroad. He told her that he is willing to sign her to their label. Few weeks later, she became the envy of everyone. Ada became an international singer.

wow...this story is quite inspirational...although short but i learnt that true talent count and no one can deny destiny...you really good...deserve to win...

thank you for this kind response. i greatly appreciate. just also read through your story, it is an amazing piece

Lovely one, my igbo name is Ada but i can't sing to save a life... Lol

hahahahaa... but there is something that certainly differentiates you from others right? everyone is awesomely unique. thanks a lot

I do love your story, for it contains in it so many lessons. to mention a few:

  • There is no better love than that of a mother.
  • What ever happens in life always remember that for every disappointment there is always an appointment ahead.
  • Nothing pays more than a natural talent.
    My upvote has been earned....
    I LOVE YOUR WRITE UP!!!

wow... @steve1122 i am really humbled by this comment. i greatly appreciate. this means a lot... i am really grateful

Hi Outhori5ed, I really loved the way you've written this piece.

thanks alot. glad you enjoyed the piece. thanks for the nice appraisal

this is a really great story. i felt emotional when she sang and cried

"Broken Reality"
I’ve been living there since my return, in the stories of civil wars, torture, rape and bombings. The ocean in front of me and the dead of night only takes me back to the old cobblestone streets of Aleppo and the little children selling fruits and bread in those dark alleys under the bridge. He is a memory, and not a story. Mehmet was the kind stranger who organized my exit, wrote a note for me in Arabic for my smuggler who helped me across the border into Turkey. Today I am alive in the land of the living while he breathes barely only in my restless mind.

My indebtedness to him haunts me in my sleep when I hear the despair, the fear and helplessness of millions of him dying inside and living outside those borders. How do I sleep in this silence that deafens me with the sirens of murder that is being committed every day? The world must believe this hollow city of crashed limbs, underground births and broken men does not exist. They are my reality’s horrors forgotten in tales of peace. They do not welcome my life nor the silence of sleep.

quite touchy @anavictoriakong
guess you were refering to syria in ur touchiung story
are you on steem chat...how do i reach u one on one...

Hi! Yes. This story east in reference to my time in Syria and it is the first time I have written about it, especially about Mehmet. I am sorry, I do not use Steem chat. I might join Discord in the future. I try to balance what little spare time I have to spend it studying or reading posts on Steemit. I would like to write more, and I intend on doing gradually as I find the extra time at night when I am unable to sleep. I do feel the need to express my memories through words....

ok dear... i try to read your posts but cant find current posts to read...mostly shared...

Hi, just wondering where the topic for this week can be found? Do I need to join Discord to find out the topic?

it's stated in the post above, the topic is "fiction" please put your attention when reading lol

Sorry! Totally bypassed it! Thanks!

Thank @walterz for the beautiful opportunity. I have been learning to write through this contest. Here's my entry.

Imaginary Nightmare

I woke up to see my body lying down lifeless on my bed. Touching my body in an amazement, there wasn't life in there, and everywhere was quiet, since everyone was gone to their houses, after my birthday party the previous night. So, I graduated from touching to shaking and then to screaming. Nothing happened and no one seemed to hear from the neighborhood.
In agony, I decided to reach out to neighbors. Trying to open the door, I noticed my hands passed through it unhindered and I ended up passing without opening. There was mixed feelings, some happiness that I'm no more limited by barriers, but worried that my body is lying lifeless. I just didn't know what to feel or think anymore. Still deep in thoughts, I arrived my neighbor, Uche's door in seconds: speed was another advantage.
My knockings wasn't heard, as my hand passed through the door each time I tried knocking. After much fruitless efforts, I stepped in to find him quarrelling with his wife, Ulomma. They didn't even notice my presence, so I started shouting " STOP! STOP! STOP!". None of them heard me. It was obvious I'm alone in a world full of relatives, neighbors and colleagues. If Uche and his wife couldn't hear me, it was enough experiment to know nobody will.
" Return to your house and stay beside your body", a thought whispered. That's how I woke up later to discover it was just a dream.

Kismet

"What am I watching?"

"A replay," I heard a small voice say behind me. My visage hardened into ice as I realized what spoke, behind me... an orb. It happened again. A replay, but not of my life.

"Why are we watching the accident? Who are you?"
"My name is not your concern." Raising slightly in tone.

"Accident?" It paused. "There is no accident today."

The replay happened again, but much slower. The orb moved playfully as a toddler ran after it, through an intersection, THAT intersection. As my car sped down the road, swerving to miss him, just knocking the kid off his feet. As I was about to look away, a truck also swerving to miss my car... hits the child.

"This was NOT an accident?!"

"The man.... Driving the truck has murdered several men, and today he will be caught. The child, can be incarnated into a non-abusive family."

"What about me?"

"Today..." It started. "She had complications from surgery... You rushed to reach her bedside correct? You'll see her soon."

"But why?"

"Why," It paused, as if he began a thought. "Because it's my job. To complete the most, in the shortest amount of time."

Story Title: Death and Misery

Once upon a time, there was a small boy who was poor that people called him Misery. He lived in Mauritius and was an orphan.

One day Misery met a tired nomad. Seeing his pitiful state, Misery invited him in his straw-house and offered him all that he had to eat. Then Misery told him about his poverty and the difficulties he had faced in life. The man, touched by his generosity and words, said, "You are poor but generous. l'll give you a plot of ground that i have and you can do whatever you want with it."

Misery thanked him profusely and the next day itself, Misery started to plant trees. Those same trees afterwards gave the best fruits of Mauritius. Misery was very happy, thinking that he would sell them and earned money. But Alas! One day when Misery was going to pick the fruits, the children of the locality destroyed the fruits. Misery begged them not to do so, but they turned a deaf ear to him and their parents did want to pay for the loss incurred by Misery. As such, the latter was hopeless and sad.

But one day a strange man came to Misery's house, and the latter invited him to come inside and offered him what he had. Again, Misery told his sorrows to this man. The strange man did no say much, but listened to Misery carefully. Before going the man told him, "Listen carefully to what i am going to tell you and do not ask me anything. When the children will come, you will say, WILL BE GLUED!

I am telling you again do not ask me any questions. All that i can say is that they would not come gain. Remember these words also, WILL BE UNGLUED! You will know when to use them." And of course Misery did not ask any question. However, he told the man that he hoped to see him soon but the latter replied that he would not ever see him again, but that he would meet his brother some day. Then, the man went away.

Some days later, the children came again and Misery, without losing time, made use of the words "WILL BE GLUED" and the children started to stick to the trees and would not move at all. Even when the children's parents threatened and begged Misery, he did not budge. Axes, knives were useless. So the parents were forced to pay Misery until the last cent. Then the latter said, "WILL BE UNGLUED!"

As soon as these words were uttered, the children could move again. The parents took them and went home without returning.

Many years elapsed where Misery became a young man then an old man. Often, he thought about the strange man's brother and wondered whether he would meet him. But one day, the one whom he did not expect came to his house. He was also a strange man like his brother and was dressed in black. He told Misery that his brother asked him to come and told him that he had to take him with him because his time had come. Misery asked him about his identity and where he would take him. The man replied in a severe voice, " I am DEATH!" Misery said," Ok!

Give him time to prepare myself. You can pick up some fruits if you want, they are delicious."

As soon as death started picking the fruits Misery said, WILL BE GLUED!" Of course Death could not move and shouted,"Free me! But Misery ignored him. Death begged him and asked him what he could do for him. Then Misery said, "Promise me that you will never come to take me." Death could not argue any more and was compelled to accept. Then, Misery said, "WILL BE UNGLUED! Death could move again and did not come to take Misery again.

That is why until now every Mauritian knows Misery. He will continue to exit until Death exists, that is FOREVER.

Story Title: Nneka

Should I say that my whole life has been full of fictions that I don’t even know the part of my life to share here?

Well, I’ll tell you about “Nneka”. She used to be my crush, and I was so much beclouded by her beauty and nice shape. Mehn, this girl has an abundance of class and ass, and that would easily compromise any guy’s sense of reasoning.
But all that changed when she catwalked into my life. Should I blame fate for sending her my way? Well, I don’t know.
The very first day she came to my house, I didn’t hesitate to tell her to prepare something for us to eat. And that was a serious mistake I made. The beans she prepared (At least, it looks like beans), I don’t know how to explain it. But just know that the stones I discovered in my beans could start up a stone industry. That wasn’t all. I can’t even say which is saltier; the Dead Sea, or my food?
What finally broke my heart was when I saw her washing rice with detergent… Sweet Sammy!!! I shouted “ah don die”

hahahahahaaha... this is a very funny post. "class and ass" amounted to nothing at the end.

I dey tells u

Loading...

@walterz got you a $1.59 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@walterz got you a $1.59 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

This looks great. But did I miss the subject?

read carefully

aaahh Albiet, in red!

My Funeral
I went to my funeral the other day, I was sitting sitting there gazing around the room when I started to realize a few things about the life I no longer had. I watch as the few friends and loved ones I had left weep in sorrow, my life begins to play back before my eyes like an old time movie flashing memories of all of the good times and the bad. I think of all the things I could have done diffrent wondering what life would been like, I wonder if I would have the same family and friends, or a new set of family and friends, or anyone at all??
The scenarios and questions begin to flow, (what if what if), then I realize once more that it dont matter for that life is no more. I look over at my wife wondering if she will be alright, I am sad that I am leaving her here alone, I wish I could have had more time with her. I hope the life we had together fills her heart with love and not regret, our life was not fancy or without worry, we had our good days and bad, but we always made it through.
I watch the tears comming from her eyes roll dowh her cheeks and drip of her chin, I reach out to wipe them like I had many times before when death pushes my hand away, he had crept in behind me and was waiting for me to say goodbye, he places his hand on my shoulder and whispers ( you are no longer able to interact with the living, it is time to go).
I ask death for that one last wish as everyone does, he gazes down at me and nods his head, I turn to my wife and kiss her for the last time. Death and I begin to walk off into the darkness, I turn and gaze back at her one last time when I see her smile and I hear her say (I love you and I will miss you, you were a good man but you are now in a better place and I will see you on the other side). I whisper back, I love you my beautiful wife, I will be waiting for you.

Wow! This inspired me to write about my own funeral and how it would be. It reminded me of Mitch Bloom's "Have a little faith".

Loading...

Silver rain, shining like falling mercury. Gentle thunder, pealing low and heavy like a whale’s song. The air, sticky and sweet.
She knelt and drenched her palms with tears.
The nursery had received a third. Her cousin’s daughter a third. And a third had gone towards this heavenly ending.
Lemon-spicy scent from the crushed flowers under her knees awoke her senses. Numbness fleeing from the pharmacological mastery.
“Don’t do anything. Just be, and let the chemicals wake your senses up, and take you for a ride, and a sweet goodbye.” The guardian had kind eyes. She had hesitated, wondering if she should turn away from the archway, and reach out to him. When was the last time she had recognized kindness and tenderness in a man?
But her feet knew what she had decided. And she was unwilling to be disappointed again.
She sighed, and lay down on the soft flowers, letting the delicate rain caress her.
“Breathe, just breathe, and do nothing,” he had said, smiling deeply into her eyes until tears had welled up and she had turned away.
Whale song…heart murmurs… body softening…
Bliss warmed her belly and heart, and even her ever-anxious eyes softened.
“Goodbye…”

Nice post @walterz

@silver he is doing great for the community...

thanks @walterz

divider-1024.png

Sweet Carrots

Celine pressed the knife into the carrot. She picked up the appendage and commented on how sweet it tasted. Celine cut deeper into the carrot. This piece was bitter. Such surprises, she thought, were distasteful.

She looked up and into the eyes that were watching her. Celine lifted the knife to slice again.

In an effort to stop the flow of blood, Jared poured peroxide straight from the bottle. Celine winced. He watched a tear form underneath a clenched eyelid. He splashed again. This time directly onto the wound.

The finger stopped throbbing the moment Jared sat beside Celine. His arms around her, he whispered words that were sweet enough just sweet enough. She listened. She could still taste the sweet of carrots in her mouth. Her smile was warm and inviting as she looked up, into the eyes that were watching her.

The moment she began to cry, Jared regretted his decision. He never intended to take advantage.

Jared looked at her hand, and wondered which pain hurt more: the betrayal or the accident of sweet carrots.

She winced. Then grabbed her finger. The pain of the apparent infection must have been unbearable. The thought brought him comfort.
divider-1024.png
@allthingsmavis

The Wild Nature's Song of Songs

Ocean to the sea:
"I will send you a typhoon, my beloved, and I'll turn your head. Tsunami will carry to you the rhythms of my heart, and they will throw you out of the shores. I will come to you with rain and bring a rainbow, the most beautiful in the world".

A Fiction

He told his wife he had quit smoking--one fiction among many--and when she knew that he hadn't she merely kept quiet about it, though he could tell that she sensed it, even if she could not always smell it. He told his children this, too, or at least that he was trying, when he would come back inside from the house and he smelled of it, their little faces wrinkling, noses twitching, exaggerated sneezing. But it was clinging to him, this time worse than before, worse than the other times that he had quit.

The guilt made him feel ashamed. After he smoked, he would go to his room, stay away from the children and his wife. He didn't want to be around them, didn't want to disappoint them. But it wasn't just about smoking. It was about something else, something deep inside of him that ached when he was around them, especially his wife, whom he had grown more and more distant from. The fact that she couldn't stand his smell only hastened the movement away. But in many ways it made it easier, for her and for him. At least there was a reason for the distance.

A Funny Thing Happened To Me On My Way To Life.

• I met a girl
• I discovered alcohol
• I became conflicted

When I woke up I found that I was already in my 40s, I am presenting auditing.