Bamboozled's Bamboo Contest: Win 5 Steem Basic Income Shares!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

bambusblessbrightskaliert.JPG

Thanks to @nateonsteemit and @neoxian I had a great start into the week and I want to celebrate this with my very first contest and giveaway!

Today its all about bamboo. You can participate with a comment that has SOMETHING to do with bamboo. Do you have a bamboo kitchen floor or a favourite pair of bamboo socks?
Is the little IKEA bamboo stick on your desk the only plant you managed to keep alive?

There is nothing more relaxing to you than listening to bamboo flutes in the evening? Or maybe you are a philosoph or Feng shui fan?

Is it common to build with bamboo in your country?

Feel free to share!

I will give 3 Shares to the winner I choose via Random.org and two times one share to the comments I like best. I haven't been long on Steemit and in case there are not enough participants the winner gets it all!

Hint: I love pictures!

Entering is Easy!

  • upvote
  • post comment about Bamboo
  • resteem (optional)

This contest will participate in @tfcoates Epic Steem Basic Income Giveaway Contest

The deadline is therefore on friday 22nd and the winner announced on saturday.

Zeichnung Bambus7klein.jpg

Sort:  

Once upon a time, in the heart of the Western Kingdom, lay a beautiful garden. And there, in the cool of the day, the Master of the garden was wont to walk. Of all the denizens of the garden, the most beautiful and most beloved was gracious and noble bamboo. Year after year, bamboo grew yet more noble and gracious, conscious of his Master’s love and watchful delight, but modest and gentle withal. And often when the wind came to revel in the garden, Bamboo would cast aside his grave stateliness, to dance and play right merrily, tossing and swaying and leaping and bowing in joyous abandon, leading the Great Dance of the garden, Which most delighted the Master’s heart.
Now, once upon a day, the Master himself drew near to contemplate his Bamboo with eyes of curious expectancy. And Bamboo, in a passion of adoration, bowed his great head to the ground in loving greeting.
The Master spoke: "Bamboo, Bamboo, I would use you."
Bamboo flung his head to the sky in utter delight. The day of days had come, the day for which he had been made, the day to which he had been growing hour by hour, the day in which he would find his completion and his destiny.
His voice came low: "Master, I’m ready. Use me as Thou wilt."
"Bamboo," - The Master’s voice was grave --- "I would have to take you and cut you down!"
A trembling of great horror shook Bamboo…"Cut …me… down ? Me.. who thou, Master, has made the most beautiful in all thy Garden…cut me down! Ah, not that. Not that. Use me for the joy, use me for the glory, oh master, but cut me not down!"
Beloved Bamboo,"-The Master’s voice grew graver still-"If I cut you not down, I cannot use you."
The garden grew still. Wind held his breath. Bamboo slowly bent his proud and glorious head. There was a whisper:
"Master, if thou cannot use me other than to cut me down.. then do thy will and cut".
"Bamboo, beloved Bamboo, I would cut your leaves and branches from you also".
"Master, spare me. Cut me down and lay my beauty in the dust; but would thou also have to take from me, my leaves and branches too?"
"Bamboo, if I cut them not away, I cannot use you."
The Sun hid his face. A listening butterfly glided fearfully away. And Bamboo shivered in terrible expectancy, whispering low: "Master, cut away"
"Bamboo, Bamboo, I would yet… split you in two and cut out your heart, for if I cut not so, I cannot use you."
Then Bamboo bowed to the ground: "Master, Master… then cut and split."
So did the Master of the garden took Bamboo… and cut him down… and hacked off his branches… and stripped off his leaves… and split him in two… and cut out his heart.
And lifting him gently, carried him to where there was a spring of fresh sparkling water in the midst of his dry fields. Then putting one end of the broken Bamboo in the spring and the other end into the water channel in His field, the Master laid down gently his beloved Bamboo… And the spring sang welcome, and the clear sparkling waters raced joyously down the channel of bamboo’s torn body into the waiting fields. Then the rice was planted, and the days went by, and the shoots grew and the harvest came.
In that day Bamboo, once so glorious in his stately beauty, was yet more glorious in his brokenness and humility. For in his beauty he was life abundant, but in his brokenness he became a channel of abundant life to his Master’s world.
(Author unknown)

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.23$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Oh my, what a beautiful story! Oh my this contest is getting harder for me than I initially thought! Thank you for sharing! Valid entry of course!

The rigid stalk snaps. Be like the bamboo that bends and sways with the breeze, flexible and firmly rooted!

Thanks for hosting @bamboozled
🚣

Ah, a zen master! I was hoping to attract some philosophers as well. Valid entry!

LOL, here's a photo of a zen master (his name is Mr. P). As Eckhart Tolle said "I have lived with several zen masters, all of them cats". Not quite a bamboo pic, but kinda related in a lateral way :D

zen-master.jpg

This is a poem which was inspired by my feelings about bamboo. I first spent time in a bamboo forest in Thailand in Chiang Rai, I didn't take any pictures as I was completely bliss-ed out from meditating and this was years ago before I started blogging. The poem has been previously published as a steemit post but I thought it was worth another share in your fantastic competition @bamboozled. The pic here is the one I used in the post sourced from unsplash.com and looks very much how I remember the bamboo forest at Khun Korn Waterfall in Chiang Rai.

Standing like warriors in the mist,
bamboo forest emptiness.
In my heartbeat's settling breath,
death's promise, undoing.

Messianic in growth, bamboo
wood-grass measures time
in partitions. Sifting mana
from soil - soul from sap.

I elapse into your wanton growth
collapse into bamboo
mazes of mind, in observance
I merge with you, I find quiet.

This is wonderful. Truly! Thanks for sharing your poems with us once more. Valid entry!

{Well I will just resteem and like now.}
Anyways, on to the actual topic at hand:


Well, I never really had encountered bamboo in a material sense. Like I never seen one in "actuality," but I have seen them in games and pictures whenever it is convenient for the setting that I so happen to tread upon. The only real knowledge I have of bamboo was of that in elementary school, that being that they can grow ridiculously tall and are very strict in their stiffness and straightness as they are being farmed.
Otherwise, this was like stumbling into a bad part of the forest and me knowing better to leave right now. Which I shall after stumbling to make this comment right now.

A bamboo newbie! Time to travel and have a cocktail in a bamboo tiki bar! Maybe as soon as you have a steady basic income going on. Valid entry!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha, oh that would be an experience to say the very least.

I've replaced some of my oak hardwood floors with engineered bamboo floors. They're more durable and look pretty good.

I've also been playing with the idea of planting a 3 ft/1 m wide path of clumping bamboo to block the view of some uphill neighbors into my house. Still haven't pulled the trigger on that one since it'll be pretty expensive.

But time is on your side. Bamboo spreads like crazy and if you build an underground barrier for the rhyzomes it will grow in the direction you want! We do have bamboo kitchen floor as well Valid entry!

Posted using Partiko Android

Bamboo pillows! I still don't understand how they make something so soft from what is basically a stick.

They make pillows from bamboos? This world is so strange.

Yes, they're really comfy too.

Ah bamboo viscosis! It's so soft, isn't it? I always wonder about that as well. Valid entry!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I can't claim to know a lot about bamboo, but I suspect this guy quite likes it....

20180619_230924.jpg

hm, ok, I will let this go through. Thats an exeption though, bc I love lego just as I like these cute cuddly panda bears. Valid Entry!

Well if it will take away any ambiguity around the validity of my entry, here's a bamboo joke as well....

Why do teachers use a bamboo cane?
Because when the cane goes ‘bam’ the child goes boo!

My cat hiding up in the bamboo branches the first time she was let out into the yard. Chai in bamboo 200x355.jpg

This is so adorable! And what a cool garden you have, where do you live? Valid entry!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. This was a small stand of bamboo behind a house we used to live in, in North Carolina, U.S. I don't think she'd ever seen bamboo before, and really liked being up in it. =^..^=

The word bamboo makes me happy, I can't do without it in a month, we use it as staking in the farm to stake cucumbers,

TMPDOODLE1529399008554.jpg

presently in Nigeria there is new Innitiave in vogue now by using bamboo to build a green house.

TMPDOODLE1529399221055.jpg

If I can't cut them from the bush I'll buy @N150 that's $0.43 per one and I'll buy up to 50 pieces.

Thank you for that piece of information! The greenhouse looks so cool and your pictures made me smile just like the word bamboo does too! Valid entry!

Congratulations @bamboozled! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I have clothes made of Bamboo. Very comfortable, naturally cool and sustainable!

I'm curious, what kind of clothes? Anyways, valid entry!

Boxershorts and t-shirts

bamboo boxershorts! Interesting.

Just wrote a story related to bamboo on the spot:-
A robber came to a bank with a gun to rob it. He shot to the sky! 'Bam! Boo! Bam! Boo!'
Everyone heard the 'BamBoo' sound from the gun. Everyone was terrified and hope that a hero would come to save them. In an instant, @bamboozled appeared out of nowhere. @bamboozled took a bamboo stick and gave a big wave. The robber suddenly became a panda and bamboo is all the panda needs now. Everyone was happy and cheer for their hero, @bamboozled.

Hope you enjoy reading it just for fun. Cheers for @bamboozled hero with the 5 shares of SBI.

woah, very nice and charming! Valid entry.

Bamboo is kind of trees that attached with my childhood. I and my friends played selling and buying game together under the shadow of bamboo. Or someday we collected its leaves to fire in the winter. And I will never forget the moment that in the summer, we skipped nap in noon, and gathered near bamboo to enjoy the wind when it was really hot and no fan. Now everything is changing. No bamboo, everything in the past exist in our memory.

oh, why is there no more bamboo? Your childhood recollection is beautiful! Valid entry!

because of the growth of my village, they cut down all bamboo to build house.

Where do you live?

Posted using Partiko Android

I live in a peaceful village in Vietnam

The best cutting boards (ie to cut vegetables) are those made of bamboo, because they naturally contain a chemical compound that inhibits the growth of bacteria and fungi.

True! Its such a versatile plant! Valid entry!

Posted using Partiko Android

True! Its such a versatile plant! Valid entry!

Posted using Partiko Android

I make my own bamboo pipes, natural, replaceable and ecological. I usually smoke tobacco in them, and some other times, other things :D. Bamboo is a very kind natural material and gives an Asian look to things.

Image taken fron internet

Thats a very nicelooking pipe. Cool handcraft! I was thinking about making a tea filter in a very similar way. The healthy DIY choice :D You are from venezuela, right?

And besides, it's natural, I'm a fan of life and natural things. yes, I'm from venezuela and that's why I'm entering this contest, to receive some help from sbi and that my income helps me to improve the situation so complicated and difficult that I live in venezuela, hunger, misery, corruption, serious failures in public services and many other things, I invite you to read a recent report I did about how I live here:
https://steemit.com/life/@reinaldoverdu/mi-vida-diaria-fui-de-visita-a-un-barrio-peligroso-my-daily-life-i-visited-a-dangerous-neighborhood

The article already has more than 7 days, but I still invite you to read me, if you want to support me because any contribution in any publication or recent comment, will be welcomed :D.

I followed you actually bc of the initiative of @cryptoeater but I haven't read your article. Thanks for posting it once again!

It's a pleasure, and I publish it not for spamming, but for you to really know what are some of the difficulties we are having. I ask that please, if a Venezuelan is in steemit, show your support with your vote, a resteem or a comment. the situation is really very difficult and I thank you very much for following me, thank you very much, these small actions are very important for our future colleague !.