'Finish the Story Challenge' - Help Choose the Winner

in #contest6 years ago

Hello Steemians!!

Thank you so much to everyone who took part in this creative writing challenge. As promised, the entry with the most upvotes has received a 5 SBD prize: @maugenia with this amazing Story.

I have another 5 SBD prize to give for my favorite entries, but I'm finding it really hard to chose. I'd be super grateful if you guys could leave a comment with your favorite entry.
Please click on the names to read the full story.

photo-1500445113926-4b0454111bc9.jpg
source

The Starting Paragraph given:

She closed the door gently, but couldn't lift her hand from the knob. She leaned against the wall, frozen, with the confused expression of someone who forgot why they walked into a room. She pushed the door back in slowly, careful not to make any noise, held it there for a few seconds, and closed it again. No! she thought. Go, please go! Her legs started moving awkwardly, like they had forgotten how to walk. She pressed the button for the lift, but couldn't get in when the doors opened, and stood there motionless until the doors closed again. A note! Maybe I should go back and write a note! She started walking back quickly, so that reason wouldn't catch up with her.

The entries:

A Dream by @maeugenia

Sofia had made the decision to leave the city to fulfill her dream of being a dancer, she loved ballet and as a child she had strived to be the best of her group in the academy. Thanks to her work and perseverance she had obtained a scholarship in an important academy and could not miss this long-awaited opportunity, even if that meant having to be separated from her beloved Alberto.

Psychopaths in a relationship by @josecarrasquero

Trembling with fear, and with feelings confused by the strange love I felt; he took his lipstick and wrote on the wall "I must go, our love became an obsession and so it is very difficult to be free". Her husband, Jhon, was of strong character and uncontrolled jealousy, had taken him to beat her to release the hatred he felt when his wife talked and went for a walk with his friends; her behavior was silent, but capable of assassinating him without any compassion, all this combined, those that are leading to a predictable destiny, death.

@marik

She forgot the reason she was in the room as shivers ran down her spine, driving it from her every vein and causing her thinking to go hay-wire. She managed to get herself into the lift, but was still pondering.
"Should i have shouted, should i have given a signal, have i done the right thing?"

@neiraurdaneta

Amanda had gone to the hospital to see Erick, but fear seized her. Erick was his fiancé an athletic and handsome man he met about 2 years ago.

A terrible dissapointment by @norkamoran

*But at that moment he remembered when looking through his boyfriend's belongings he found those horrible tests that showed him the terrible mental illness that he suffered: he was pedophile. It was then that she decided to leave and abandon him. She went out and on the outskirts of the hotel I take a taxi back to her house. *

Sleeping with a stranger by @edurley

But it was not the reason that persecuted her, that memory of the past was frequently made, a message maybe she wanted to say, the truth is that that night her life would change. When Rachel woke up in the middle of the dream, a strange smell was felt between the four walls; small instants returned to his memory as if the past wanted something from her.

Why, Ana? Why? by @rnunez09

It had been a long and exciting night, Anna and Victor had made love until dawn, "he must be sound asleep," she thought as she stealthily pulled a pen out of her purse, took a napkin and wrote under the motel letterhead: " It was a wonderful night". She left it on the bedside table in the dim light of a lamp, looked again at his lover and was about to throw herself into the bed to give in to him once more, she took a deep breath and exhaled softly through her mouth as if expelling the desire of her interior, she took her purse and left.

thelovejunkie

As she got to the door, she jerrked backwards as if she had lost her mind so soon again, she knew she had to do this. She had to let go of this love, this love she was holding unto so dear, despite all the times it had shown her it's other side.

Connection by @romeskie

As quietly as she closed the door, she turned the knob once again and slowly pushed it open. The lights are still dim. He hasn't woken. She looked at the man slumbering peacefully on the soft round-shaped floating bed. She still can't believe she will be entrusting her son, the sole heir to the throne, to this person. He abandoned them.

DREAMLAND OF EMOTIONAL TWIST by @kesterk

midst the anxiety she slipped to the floor, getting her white gown stained with dust from the floor that has been deserted by cleaners over the weeks. Oh! What has come over me? She thought aloud to herself, if she had known, she would never have said no to him, the Love of her dreams!

The entries that didn't follow the rules have been disqualified.

Thank you so much for your help choosing the winner!

Until next time, Steem on!

Corina

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Thanks for the contest @corina, I think they are a good initiative on your part!

But I wanted to make a comment on how the winners are chosen, since that way they do not reward quality content, but win the people who have more friends in the network. It seems like a competition of followers and not of talents.

I think there are very good stories here and few have taken the trouble to read them.

By @norkamoran

You're right. The first prize is won by the number of votes, and somewhat unfair. However the other one is based mainly on my favorite entry. I'm just asking for people's opinions to help me decide, but if I notice an unfair pattern I would definitely ignore it. Thank you! :)

I agree with @norkamoran. The talent must be valued.
There are many people who can pay money and accumulate many votes. Another case may be that of people who seek votes in other ways, begging their friends to vote their comments to try to win, there is also the possibility that they send their comment to all the people without knowing them. They are people who do not even take the time to read the story and decide to give their vote to please the user.

Another thing, the contest was closed on June 4 at 19:00 GMT at that time my story had 46 positive votes and no other one surpassed it. Today publications with more votes were awakened and one of them won the award of 5 SBD.
So I wanted to emphasize that if they give an exact date and time where the contest closes, it should be like that. You must be more attentive @corina

Much success for @maeugenia

The best story?
Vote for: @norkamoran and @edurley
Good luck to you all.

I am really sorry if this is true! My little one is teething and doesn't go to sleep the way I expected so I couldn't be on my laptop at the time of the closing! Next time I will make sure there is a co-host for the contest so they can be here if I'm not. Thank you so much for letting me know!

I understand @corina. Another alternative may be to reward the first place, the second and third. Or have a trusted friend who helps you as a judge decide the winners. Regards!

God bless your little one!

I think Psychopaths in a relationship by @josecarrasquero awesome story ....

My vote goes for Connection by @romeskie

I hope there will be more contests like this, I'd like to take part. Too bad I didn't learn about this one on time.

Great work @corina

Thanks for the wonderful contest and it has been an honor to participate. I think that choosing by comment is a not just way to choose the best story, because I would win not the best story but that participant who has more friends, has a trail or belongs to a community. That's why in my humble opinion you should choose it yourself or seek help among writers you know or admire. Because if it is for comments @maeugenia should have taken the 10 SBD because he had more comments. Regards

My support goes to @rnunez09

I agree with the comments of my colleagues, the one who has more friends wins. There are also those who coordinate a group of votes and use it for their benefit. It should win the best story in terms of content and writing.

En mi humilde Opinión, Psicópatas en una relación por @josecarrasquero, es la publicación que merece mi voto, Saludos!!!

My support goes to @edurley for her excellent history!
Greetings!!!

I must say @romeskie has the potential to win. Why is that? She made the story very awesome. A fantasy full of love. I felt that I was watching Peter Pan. Overall very good story.

For me, the winning story must be that of @josecarrasquero, since it is very different from all the others, because it is based on the psychopath that we can become in a relationship.

Psychopath love has been crazy.
It was tragic and quite unique and original.
Vote for @josecarrasquero

I loved the story of @edurley my vote goes for her.

My support goes to Connection by @romeskie because out of all the stories hers seems to be the only one that truly followed the story that was given by the author of this post

Your story reminded me of an event that happened near my house a couple of years ago. Incredible your way of writing. I will vote for: @josecarrasquero

@josecarrasquero is my son.
So I will vote for him. Good luck son.
Greetings @corina!

My vote is for @josecarrasquero, for its history and for being a very talented and simple young person that we must support. And to be fair since it was the one that obtained more votes within the established term.

logo peq.gif

My vote goes for Sleeping with a stranger by @edurley.

You had a nice idea @corina

Some amazing entries you received!

I like the post of @neiraurdaneta and congratulations to @maeugenia for the prize. Excellent contest I promise to participate in another. Greetings @corina

My vote is for @neiraurdaneta deserves the award for its excellent post. Excellent and congratulations to @mariaeugenia for the prize!

Interesante historia...difícil decisión, mi voto es para @neiraurdaneta

Buen relato, voto por @neiraurdaneta

Friend this story inspires me. My vote is for you: @josecarrasquero

My vote goes for @neiraurdaneta

Sleeping with a stranger by @edurley

Sleeping with a stranger by @edurley

I love Sleeping with a stranger by @edurley, I really like it.