🎨 Drakos Art Contest: Pirate Theme 🎨 1st Prize 10 SBD + 2nd Prize 5 SBD

in #contest β€’ 7 years ago (edited)

Being a humble abstract artist myself, and supporting many artists on Steemit, I'm launching a contest for the best original art creation.

Theme: Pirate


1st Prize: 10 SBD
2nd Prize: 5 SBD
25% of the total payout will be split between the winners


You can do anything you like, a doodle, clip art, painting, digital art, whatever your style is. It could be something new, or something you already did. The art must be a pirate theme.

To participate, you need to follow these two steps:

  • Upvote this post.
  • Submit your work in a comment with the link to a post (if you posted it before) AND the image of your work.
  • Your work must of course be original.

People are invited to upvote their favorite pirates.
You can upvote more than one entry, since we need two winners.
After 7 days, the winners will be those who gathered the most votes.

I'll be tempted to upvote because of the great talent on Steemit, but I should be impartial in this, so I won't be upvoting any of the candidates. However, in the case of a tie, I will split the vote by picking the best candidate.

Good luck everyone.
Spread the word and let the contest begin.
YARGHHHHH!

P.S. There was a botnet voting for all the entries this morning (someone felt generous to all the candidates). To be fair to the new candidates, 40 votes will be subtracted from those entries when the contest closes. Also, self-votes will be subtracted, because some artists chose not to do it.


Proud member and delegator of the @minnowsupport project.
Join us on https://discord.gg/GpHEEhV

MSPPAL


If you like this post, upvote and comment.
If you really like it, resteem.
If you love it, follow.

Follow

Available & Reliable. I am your Witness. I am here to represent you.

πŸ—³ If you like what I do, consider voting for me πŸ—³

If you never voted before, I wrote a detailed guide about Voting for Witnesses.
-Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
-Enter my name in the voting textbox.
-Press VOTE once.

Vote

Alternatively, you can issue this command in cli_wallet (after unlocking it)

vote_for_witness "YOURACCOUNT" "drakos" true true

Sort: Β 
Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

@drakos

this is my entry to your contest

link to my post

This amzing bro, good work!!!

Amazing work. 100% upvote

great work my friend!

There a lot great art works here but this one remembers me to one of those skelettons of a necromancer^^ pirates never die...

Looks cool and professional .

Kind of dark but love it. Clearly the best...

https://steemit.com/contest/@atopy/arrrrrr-contest

d1.png

...you got 86 votes...does that mean 86 people will enter? :D

dis one

Its the manly chest hair, isn't it? :>

Hahah no, it means there's 86 people who love me.

I love you:) And I will enter lol:)

Beautiful !!! @atopy

from analog to digital. nice entry...

Freaky lol

LOL XD

is he scratching his moobies? :D

He likes it and I think it stings !!! Those niu pirates are crazy They donΒ΄t care at all the system :S lol

I figured pirates rather scratch their ballz. :D

hahahahahahahahhaa

This was tedious to make and I really messed it up. And the joke isn't even worth it.

Anyway,
Those new anti-piracy ads even have Jack Sparrow worried.
pirate.gif

Funny, but can't say it's original art though πŸ˜‰

Haha. Define "original art".

It means you create Jack Sparrow from scratch πŸ˜„

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Well, that definition kind of throws out a fair portion of the last 100+ years of art history. I mean, did the dadaists not create original art simply because they didn't create the images they used in their collages from scratch?

How about Andy Warhol?

He didn't create that image from scratch, he just silk screened a photograph. Actually, he probably got one of his factory workers to silk screen it, haha.

I created a composite image of a pirate watching an anti piracy advert, using "pirated" images. Surely that counts for something. I mean, that's three levels of piratey goodness. Haha.

I had to put an image of Jack Sparrow sitting in front of a computer screen on each of the 200+ frames of that gif. That's more than Andy Warhol did with Marilyn.

Anyway, it's not like it matters. I was only taking the piss by entering, it's not like I was going to get enough votes to beat the good artists, haha.

Ok ok ok, it's original πŸ˜€

Haha. I knew you'd see sense. Although I kind of hoped you'd put up more of a fight, hahaha.

Oh man I joined pretty late so i quickly made something for this competition! Now following you and awaiting to finish art competitions properly!!
but anyway heres a pirate mocking you to a duel whilst holding an AHHHRR-ange bet you could beat him?

21246059_1641299412588176_2106664317_o.jpg

Thanks for your entry. Better late than never πŸ™‚

Can I enter the competition with some.. pirated art? ;)

It may meet my pirate flag 🏴

Arrr ye sure?

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Holy shit man! That's amazing. I'll be running a Female Pirate contest after this one, you can enter it too with that awesome art. I'm afraid your late entry might not gather enough votes.

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Awesome, thank you!
I wanted to create a 3rd render: a close up of her face with the pirate eye patch.

I am you new follower
Thank you for posting
I will join your contest from time to time
Have a great time

Oh you pirate you! :D What an amazing contest! Maybe I should try my luck? Naaaah.... I'm very limited in painting (even though I do paint) so I wouldn't go for it - photography is mostly my thing ;) But I'm curious to see artworks!

Limited or not - to try is always a good idea;)

You think @inber? :D Naaah...I don't think I have the guts for it... :/

I believe that everyone can create:)

Challenge Accepted! :D ;) :*

Horaaay!:)

You could take a self-portrait photo and turn it into a pirate with some Photoshop magic πŸ˜‰

ahaha.... actually I have an idea.....which is close, but not quite....you'll see....@inber challenged me so yes, I'll do it :D

Yeahhhh do something abstract with flying pirates !! <3 <3

Omg, too fun! Good luck with your contest :)

I might
:D do something cool for this OMG, I wont be able to sleep tonight lol

Workin’ it…

β€œThe code is more what you’d call β€˜guidelines’ than actual rules.” – Hector Barbossa

Hi , this is the post: https://steemit.com/art/@alain-bellino/joli-rouge-a-sculpture-made-from-antique-bronze-and-computer-motherboards

And the photo :

Assemblage made from antique bronze ornaments and red computer motherboards. The bronze are gilded.

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Thanks for your entry, but it's too late, the contest is finished and the winners declared. You might be interested in the female pirate contest I started yesterday.
https://steemit.com/contest/@drakos/drakos-art-contest-pirate-wench-theme-submissions-phase

I had fun writing this post about The Flying Dutchman being a Dutchman myself.
The pictures and story are mixed true facts and fiction photoshoped
https://steemit.com/story/@nicnicy/the-flying-dutchman-doomed-to-sail-the-world-seas-haunting-without-rest

Dear @drakos
Nice artwork and thanks for sporting the artists on steemit
Here is my drawing hope you like it thank you very much
https://steemit.com/art/@ravenrillay/finally-i-complete-my-dream-lady-drawing

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

It's a nice drawing, but doesn't qualify for this contest. It's not pirate-themed. Besides, your account looks like ID theft. For an american actress, your English is very bad!