You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎨 Drakos Art Contest: Pirate Theme 🎨 1st Prize 10 SBD + 2nd Prize 5 SBD

in #contest β€’ 7 years ago

This was tedious to make and I really messed it up. And the joke isn't even worth it.

Anyway,
Those new anti-piracy ads even have Jack Sparrow worried.
pirate.gif

Sort: Β 

Funny, but can't say it's original art though πŸ˜‰

Haha. Define "original art".

It means you create Jack Sparrow from scratch πŸ˜„

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Well, that definition kind of throws out a fair portion of the last 100+ years of art history. I mean, did the dadaists not create original art simply because they didn't create the images they used in their collages from scratch?

How about Andy Warhol?

He didn't create that image from scratch, he just silk screened a photograph. Actually, he probably got one of his factory workers to silk screen it, haha.

I created a composite image of a pirate watching an anti piracy advert, using "pirated" images. Surely that counts for something. I mean, that's three levels of piratey goodness. Haha.

I had to put an image of Jack Sparrow sitting in front of a computer screen on each of the 200+ frames of that gif. That's more than Andy Warhol did with Marilyn.

Anyway, it's not like it matters. I was only taking the piss by entering, it's not like I was going to get enough votes to beat the good artists, haha.

Ok ok ok, it's original πŸ˜€

Haha. I knew you'd see sense. Although I kind of hoped you'd put up more of a fight, hahaha.

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

I'm not fighting over semantics. In my mind, original means created by the artist from scratch, that's the kind of art that I like and support. Collage is a form of art indeed, it takes time to do, but in my opinion it's half original. Can I take that Marilyn Monroe, turn into black/white, and call it original? πŸ˜‰