You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WhaleShares Short Story Contest Series | Week #7

in #contest7 years ago

Thank @walterz for the beautiful opportunity. I have been learning to write through this contest. Here's my entry.

Imaginary Nightmare

I woke up to see my body lying down lifeless on my bed. Touching my body in an amazement, there wasn't life in there, and everywhere was quiet, since everyone was gone to their houses, after my birthday party the previous night. So, I graduated from touching to shaking and then to screaming. Nothing happened and no one seemed to hear from the neighborhood.
In agony, I decided to reach out to neighbors. Trying to open the door, I noticed my hands passed through it unhindered and I ended up passing without opening. There was mixed feelings, some happiness that I'm no more limited by barriers, but worried that my body is lying lifeless. I just didn't know what to feel or think anymore. Still deep in thoughts, I arrived my neighbor, Uche's door in seconds: speed was another advantage.
My knockings wasn't heard, as my hand passed through the door each time I tried knocking. After much fruitless efforts, I stepped in to find him quarrelling with his wife, Ulomma. They didn't even notice my presence, so I started shouting " STOP! STOP! STOP!". None of them heard me. It was obvious I'm alone in a world full of relatives, neighbors and colleagues. If Uche and his wife couldn't hear me, it was enough experiment to know nobody will.
" Return to your house and stay beside your body", a thought whispered. That's how I woke up later to discover it was just a dream.