You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CONTEST!!! ( giving back to the community)

in #contest6 years ago

Thanks @prettyjules158 for creating the contest. Here is my entry.

My story goes thus, some years back while I was at the University. I think I was in 300 level or so. I went to Ibadan for a family function; Ibadan is actually my hometown and schooling is Ile-Ife helped me visit my extended family which was a good thing for me.

Back to my story, on that faithful day, I left my house at Ife at about 11 a.m to Ibadan. I arrived Ibadan approximately an hour later. I had a wonderful time with friends and family alike.

Somehow, I forgot that time was far spent and I had to return to Ife that day because I had a 7 a.m test the following day and the lecturer involved was not someone to be joked with.

Well, i arrived Iwo road at some minutes past 8p.m with my phone almost dead. Fortunately for me, I joined the last bus available. On the bus of eighteen passengers, we were just two guys (the other guy also happened to be a student of my school) while the other people were women and children.

Just after we crossed the Ibadan toll gate, the bus began to show signs that it wasn't going to take us far. The bad news was my phone was dead so there was no way I was going to tell my parents or friends back at school that I was goimg to be late. It was also raining.

As the vehicle finally came to a stop in a very lonely area, I said to myself these women cannot be left here alone with their children. So I decided to stay back and help get vehicles to convey them to their destinations. The other guy disagreed with my plan and left with the first vehicle that came to our aid. His excuse was that the Olode (night guards were not to be disregarded because there was a curfew for 10p.m).

I decided to play Mr nice guy, and that was how I arrived Ife at some minutes to 1 in the morning. The good thing was I helped every one of them get a vehicle which made me feel fulfilled.
The bad news was everybody was already bothered about my whereabouts. As soon as I turned on my phone, texts rushed in and I kept on receiving 'where are you calls' till the following morning

It felt good to sacrifice for others even if it came at huge price. I had to keep those who cared about me in suspense, I also came down with a fever some days later as a result of the cold I was exposed to along with the mercyless mosquitoes that attacked without remorse.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Thanks is a maximum of 100.

IMG-20180302-WA0000.jpg

There is still time for everyone to make adjustment on their post.

Goodluck in the contest bro

Thanks for your entry

The feeling of joy is unexplainable. Good job bro