You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Traditions and Customs)

in #contest6 years ago

In Bulgaria we have the tradition people to dress like "Kuker", plural is "Kukeri" in scary masks, huge fur costumes, carrying a belt with several brass bells of different sizes and tonality, dance and jump thus making a lot of noise in order to chase away/banish the evil spirits and summon prosperity and good health. It happens in the winter. Each village, town, city has its specific date and unique elements of the celebration.

Probably the biggest festival is "Surva" that became an International Festival of the Masquerade Games, annually held in Pernik, close to the capital of Bulgaria, Sofia.
The colorful and spectacular folklore Balkan and Bulgarian traditions with performers known as Kukeri and Survakari are represented at this glorious winter event. With thousands of participants, the joy and fun are guaranteed ;)

Here are few of my photos from the last "Surva":

DDH_3666.jpg


DDH_3709.jpg


At the end there are fireworks and a huge bonfire where all the participants perform a round dance around the flames ;)

DDH_3773.jpg

Thank you and have a great day. I suppose after this story I may meet some of you at the next Surva in the end of January? :P


SteemitBannerLightCaptured400px.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, that is an impressive tradition! It looks scary, but I can imagine that the atmosphere is a bit more festive? I am definitely tempted to come and visit some time, they are really great photos!

Oh, absolutely! I just picked those moments that are the most impressive! It is a 3-days festival, the first parade is by children, colorful, happy and joyful ;) And a lot of traditional food to try :P

I've there several times already, it is getting bigger and better every year. The town can barely welcome all the guests :D

Thank you, @bengy :)

Thanks! I will be suggesting it to my wife!

My pleasure! :)
If you decide to come and participate, drop me a line, I could give you some practical tips how to make your stay better ;)

The winners and the next SBI Givewaway (Recurring Dreams) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayrecurringdreams-bh3ogyftjk