You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curie Comment Contest Week 2 (August 12th - August 19th, 2018)

in #contest6 years ago

Congratulations everyone and thank you so much @curie for the lovely surprise in my wallet :) I especially love that you are taking the time to manually check the comments for spam etc.; so time consuming but really worth it too I think!

Thank you again!

Sort:  

Manually reading? Really? I must have misread or misunderstood their announcement. I thought they were using some kind of algorithm. That's great though. Manual is best, if you can find the time to read through them. Hopefully, they didn't choose to go through every last one. Is there a place where we can go to check the number of comments that were counted? I thought last time that was mentioned, at least for the top commenters, or maybe it was on discord?

Hi @glenalbrethsen, the "manual review" bit is a quick manual review of the comment histories of all winning placements - we use a formula to determine the winning placements, but then we do go through the comment histories of each winner to make sure we aren't rewarding a spammer. I wouldn't see we review every single comment, but we certainly do take a long enough look at the comments of each winner to determine that they are a legit commenter.

I have been going back and forth on how much to publish as far as the numbers of comments and what not - # of Curie upvoted posts commented on is only one part of the scoring metric, and I didn't want to over emphasize it by reporting just that stat as I did in last week's post, but I also didn't want to reveal the secret sauce of the other metrics we are looking at to prevent people from gaming the contest. Now I am flipping back the other way, I think I will report more stats in next week's post.

Hey, @carlgnash.

Thank you for the information. It's good to know.

I'm glad you're going through some of the history but not needing to look at everything. That would be a lot of man hours that you probably need elsewhere. I imagine you get a get good idea of what's going on with comments within the first 3-5. :)

I'm in favor of doing whatever you need to so that this contest isn't gamed. I just thought you were reporting some numbers because that's when I stumbled upon this, but it's okay. I'm trying to keep track of some of my numbers just so I know what I'm doing. People who want to game things will do it on their own—they certainly don't need any inadvertent help or encouragement.

Hey Glen! I too was surprised to see it was manual! I don't know where to look for a comment count; let me know if you find it though.

So, carlgnash also commented and said they didn't throw it in last week to avoid people gaming the contest, which I'm all in favor of impeding as much as possible. He might end up doing it, though. I like the verification of the numbers I'm keeping, but that's okay. Mine have been pretty much in line with Asher's so I would see that happening here, too.

Always someone trying to game something Glen, but like you, I trust their calculations.

Congrats, Lynn! It's so much fun to be rewarded for something we love doing!