You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #24: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

Life could never be worse than this. You think you've been through hell? Think again! I was just released from prison after serving 3 years for a crime I knew nothing about. The first news I was greeted with was the demise of my mother. She couldn't bear seeing her only child rot in prison. She thought about it day and night until she couldn't think anymore. She finally yielded after battling with high blood pressure.

Shortly after, my dad followed suit. It was as if he was waiting for me to get out of prison before he could join his ancestors. He died the same night I came home from prison. I was broken. It all felt like life has totally lost its essence.

I stared at the two graves in front of me. In there lay my parents who labored tirelessly for me till their last breath. I couldn't even say an adequate "thank you" for all their stress and troubles.
Life really is not fair.

I looked down at my little sister who was cuddled up in my arms; She flashed me a beautiful smile and at that moment, I realized that all is not lost.