STACH Short Story Contest #24: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)


Hello Everyone, @kingst here with the announcement for the STACH Short Story Contest #24.

What is a Short Story.

A short story is a story with a fully developed theme but significantly shorter and less elaborate than a novel. It makes use of plot, resonance, and other dynamic components to a far greater degree than is typical of an anecdote. You can read it in less than 90 seconds.


Contest Rules:

•Write a Short Story based on the topic that will be given every week.
•Write an Original Short Story (Plagiarism will be flagged and reported).
•The Story must contain no more than 199 words.
•One entry per user.
•Story should be pasted in the comment section below, no links.
•Contestants are permitted to post their stories in an article on their blog, so they also get upvotes from the @stach trail.


Winners Selection.

Winners will be selected based on the topic, story plot, number of words and delivery as determined by the selected Judge. One word above 199, disqualifies the entry.


Contest Topic.

Write a 199 words story based on ALL IS NOT LOST.


PRIZE.

FIVE winners will be selected for a share of the 15SBD. The story with the most interaction gets a 1SBD prize from @ejemai.
First Prize: ----------------------4SBD
Second Prize: ------------------3.5SBD
Third Prize: ---------------------3SBD
Fourth Prize: -------------------2.5SBD
Fifth Prize: ----------------------2SBD

Good luck guys!


Sharpen your writing skills and throw in some inspiring short stories. XO!


JOIN US ON STACH DISCORD HERE


STACH is a physical Accelerator Hub dedicated to decentralizing the offline by breaking the barriers to accessing the internet like light, internet and conducive working space.

Steem Accelerator Hub... decentralizing the offline!
follow_STACH.gif
STACH is supported by @Sndbox as a Sndcastle project.Stc.JPG

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Sorry Everyone.
Edit: the topic is ALL IS NOT LOST and not otherwise.

Ohhh!! I didn't saw the edit 😵😵😵

I have a nefarious purpose to contact you.....
So, I'm only upvoting you and putting this
PRETTY THUMB UP i CREATED to get your attention.
thumbsupcolor.jpg

And going to appeal to your appetite to make money by curating others contests.
plagerism.jpg

I want you to cross promote your contest by participating as a judge in a couple of mine:
"SteemIt Decathlon"

Contact me through private chat on on discord channel: Steeminati
I'm the @HumanEmotican
steeminati_banner.jpg

followmesteampower.jpg

Oh, such interesting Contest Topic! I upvoted & resteemed and I'll try to write)

That evening all footsteps in the village was traced to Mr Obinnas compound. He had just been discharged from the hospital uptown, where he was in intensive care from about 3 months. Everyone looked forward to hearing from the horses mouth on how he lost his leg foot.
They had been married for 5years without any child. Amidst all odds, scorn, from neighbors and even family members what kept him and his wife still married is the fact that they truly loved each other and were determined to stay no matter what.
images (12).jpg
After 9months for the first time there was the sound of a baby in the house. This was indeed a miracle and she had been having several miscarriage before this time.
As custom he headed to the riverside to buy fresh fish to prepare a special meal for her.
Mr Obinna on his way back was knocked down by a hit and run drunk driver and that was how he woke up in the hospital. Now he cannot walk again with aids. "life may have been cruel to me somehow," he said "but I am confident of the fact that all is not lost"

This is how Tade almost lost his head. Tade left his house at Agege, that fateful evening. He had no destination in mind. He just kept walking. And walking. Like a homeless mongrel. Truth be told, he wasn’t different from one. His landlord had thrown him out to the streets. Perhaps, he would live under a bridge.

Tade walked aimlessly till he walked into a shed, “Mama Sikira’s Kitchen.” With his empty pockets. Three wraps of fufu and egusi soup. Goat meat. Empty pockets. Perhaps he was mad just as he was homeless. He ate till his stomach was close to explosion, drank the “pure water” he was served and made to leave.

This is the part where Tade almost lost his head. Mama Sikira tugged hard at his tattered shirt with shouts of “Thief! Pay me my money!” Tade clasped his hands in prayer to Mama Sikira. Her shouts alerted area boys already. Tyre was set. Petrol was on the way. Tade could see death. But at that moment the big man came in. You know all these big men that like roadside food. He paid Tades bill. All is not lost, Tade’s head would stay in place.

Recovering the Faith

George loved his wife, since his illness took a 180 degree turn, between his job, taking care of his wife and his young son, he felt overwhelmed and lost.

George's days passed slowly, he felt that every day he lost his faith. He did not understand why God had failed him. His family had always been devoted, and although they were not perfect, they always tried to help others.

George felt that every day he lost his faith in what he had always believed. His wife did not improve, and on the contrary he had little time to live. His anger with God caused him to reject his faith when his wife died.

One month later sitting in the park watching his son play, an old lady sat next to him and said: "Not everything is lost, even when a loved one dies, God gives us a new opportunity to return to love".

George looked at her and looked at the sky, remembered his wife, and understood that without her he would not have his son. He knew the happiness of marriage thanks to his wife, and it was not too late to recover his faith.

It felt like the world had fallen apart, Kike didn't know what to do. Mark had been the love of her life, she trusted him and would have done anything for him. As she drove to work, the events of the last two week came flashing back. She had tried to reach her cousin Bisi on phone, but she wasn't picking up, this was unlike her, Bisi always picked up her calls. All morning Kike tried calling but couldn't get across to her cousin. As the minutes passed, fear began embracing her gradually, "I think something is wrong", she thought. She got her keys and drove to her cousin's apartment, she got there to find her boyfriend pants down with her cousin. She was devastated. "What did she do to deserve this" she lamented

In her grieving moments, Max, her neighbor was the one nursing her. He had been in love with her since she moved in and he vowed to himself to bring back her joy. Even though Kike lost her relationship with Mark, all was not lost. True love loomed in the neighborhood, when one door closes, a larger one is opened

Really touching story you have here

I can totally relate to this story

Thank you

learning not to trust people, especially the ones who have the power to hurt one thing I've learnt.

this one's a really good story

her cousin is a traitor, a real backstabbing bitch

This is a picture of what happens in the real world

All is not lost
Come on guys, we're gonna be late, screamed Sonia. She had waited for this trip for so long and even had a calendar to mark the days. Calm down, we are coming! Alex and Vivian screamed back. They all get into the car and drove off.
We've been driving for a while now, someone please tell me we're close cos I'm tired of sitting, Vivian said. Sonia and Alex laughed at her, they knew Vivian didn't like sittting in a spot for long. She would complain till your ears got sore. Suddenly, their car broke down. Alex rushed out to see what was wrong, they had a flat tire and he ran to the boot to get a spare but there was none. Oh no! He screamed. They were in the middle of no where with no spare tire.
After standing for what seemed like hours, they saw a truck approaching and waved at it. The driver stopped and when they explained their situation to him, he decided to help them since he was heading in their direction. They were relieved as they thought they had to cancel their trip after spending so much time and money planning it.

The old man dipped his paintbrush in the white paint. Upon the dark hull of his fishing boat, he began forming letters.

His granddaughter watched, saying the letters as they were painted. “A-L-L. I-S. N-O-T. L-O-S-T. What does that mean, Grandpa? 'All Is Not Lost?'”

He put down his paintbrush. “It was your grandmother's saying. It reminds us of the times when we did not have enough. No matter how bad things got, we still had life and we still had hope. She would shrug her shoulders and say 'All is not lost!' and then buckle down and get back to work.”

“You miss her, don't you, Grandpa?” the girl asked.

Tears formed in the old man's eyes. “Every minute of every day,” he replied. “I wish you had got to know her. She would have loved your questions and wisdom.”

“But she is here! Her spirit is always here, Grandpa,” the girl protested.

“I just wish I could hold her again.”

“But you have me to hold now,”the girl replied hugging her grandfather tightly.

“Indeed, she was right.” He looked at the boat, his eyes glistening with moisture. “All is not lost!”

I liked that, sometimes it is the littlest among us that are the wisest.

Children so often become teachers. :-)
Thanks for your comment.

This is my entry for the stach short story contest. Titled,
ALL IS NOT LOST

Jerry paced up and down his room as he thought of what would happen next. Several times, he took a brief look at the wristwatch on his hand and also, the wall clock hanging. “She'll be here anytime soon.” he gasped.

For four months now, his life hadn't been as happy as it used to be. His wife caught him with another woman and since then moved out of the house with their daughter. He regretted his actions but everything he did to show he was sorry had since proved abortive. Until last week when his wife decided that she is coming back home.

A strange number called his phone.

“Hello, who is this?”

“Come to the hospital now, it's urgent.”

There has been an accident just at the entrance of the city. Everyone in the car died except a little girl; the little girl was his daughter.

He knelt close to her daughter on her bed and buried his face in the bedspread. His daughter reached out for his hands and said, "don't cry, dad. Mum had already forgiven you and you still have me with you.”

ALL IS NOT LOST

I trudge along the snowy wilderness. My snow boots sink deeper and deeper into the snow with every step I take. I do not breathe pure oxygen anymore. It's a solid combination of frost and oxygen.
For miles I don't see anything, just a desolate iceland. I have been trekking for days, days I have lost count of. Traversing this icy hinterlands with nothing save for my compass,hiking gear and ten energy bars I have salvaged from our crashed plane.
We were headed for the Himalayas. A fierce blizzard had reduced visibility and our pilot had flown blind for half an hour, leaving us to the hands of fate.
Fate didn't keep us airborne for long as our planes wing scraped against the side of a cliff and down we plunged.
Long story cut short, our plane crashed and I was the only surviving crew member.
So here I am in this icy wilderness blowing with a devilish blizzard.
A sound jolts me back to reality as I plug along.
There's a light in the distance. As I inch closer I recognize the outline of a human form besides a fire.
ALL IS NOT LOST afterall.

I've thought of committing suicide for a long time. I even went as far as asking my brother to write a suicide note for me deceiving him that it was for an assignment in school so he won't tell our parents.
One phrase of the notes read:

You don't have to be ashamed of me anymore.

This phrase has been in my mind when I stumbled on the bitter story of how my mum refused to hold me after she realized that I was born without limbs.
I couldn't get myself to tie the knobs of a rope so I started making plans towards taking poison.
I loved my parents and siblings but then I had fears bigger than love at the moment.

  • Fear of being laughed at in school
  • Fear of not having friends to talk to and play with when in school.

But then my whole self esteem changed when I was told the story of Nick Vujicic
by my mother.
No matter where he goes he communicates one core message

that no matter your circumstance, you can overcome!

It was then I realized that ALL IS NOT LOST

ALL IS NOT LOST
In Venezuela we are living a difficult situation, in the economic and political aspects, however, "not everything is lost", because Venezuelans love our country and we are workers, scholars and entrepreneurs. Not everything is lost, as long as we have Faith and Hope in our future and we put all our best effort to be the beautiful and bright country we all want.
Cheer Venezuela! And thanks brothers from other countries for supporting us and wishing us all the best. Thank you very much ... infinite thanks ...

ALL IS NOT LOST

MY ENTRY:-

Albert has just been withdrawn from the University due to his inability to meet the institution score standards during his second year in the University. Life becomes unbearable and wickedly unfair to Albert after a deep reflection of how hard he has put on his efforts and the never ending assistance from his mum, just to see that his son becomes a graduate.

Months and few years passed, Albert mum keep on encouraging his son to try the second time. All falls on deaf hear because he has given up been a graduate.

Failure is not the absence of not trying but the absence of not given it the very best

Albert mum, never give up on his son ability to become someone great in life. In a particular year, Albert finally agreed to return back to school. His return was like a ferocious lion ready to devour all odds. He came out the best through the years of his study and he was crown the overall best student in all university with lots of gifts attached to it.

Albert finally accomplished his dream of becoming a medical doctor with a different, despite the challenges it comes with.

ALL IS NOT LOST
In 1960 in the United States, an African-American marriage were walking on a long avenue. The husband was just fired from his job because he helped a woman who was raped by her white boss. The wife had a long day as housewife too, she got insulted by the white children of the house just because she sprinkle some juice on the floor. They were so sad that day, but someting strange happend. A white man who was selling chocolates at the street, with a big smile he gave them two and he told them "This are for free, everything is going to be better, all is not lost".


Image Pexels

A light in the gloom.

Larry, a young man without a father who was constantly being beaten by life, but still got up for a very strong reason. At 20 years pregnant his wife, and just nine months later when the day of childbirth, his mother dies because of an illness. The reaction to the events was devastating, because he felt it was his reason for existing, he wanted to give her a better quality of life, the one that she deserved forever. Between so much pain and crying Larry thought about the new life that was about to arrive and perhaps it was his new reason to continue standing, so he was overcoming everything and today 10 years later he is the father of two children who gave him the will to live to guide them on this road called life. Not everything has been lost, there is always a light that guides you in the shadows.

ALL IS NOT LOST

Suddenly in a very quiet city called Canaima, the children began to disappear, nobody knew because that strange situation was happening. But a very curious young man named Diego thought and said "Not all is lost".

A group of children led by little Diego, went to solve this great mystery, the interesting thing is that the children were lost at 6 in the afternoon, always in the same place. It was there when those children began looking in the glens of the city and found that a terrible man dressed as a dinosaur took the children and had them kidnapped in one of the tunnels in the ravines.

The young men decided to go after the kidnapper in order to find where the rest of the children were and thus solve this mystery, armed with bats, stones and bottless, we will rescue them when they reach the site they were able to fight the kidnapper and rescue all the children who were captured and end it with that terrible event that was happening in the city.

ALL IS NOT LOST!

Cristina, 14 years old, who suffered from a heart condition, needed a heart to continue living. Her boyfriend Felipe always thought to donate the heart to her friend.
Felipe apparently was in good health, but a few weeks ago he had begun to suffer headaches and sporadic memory loss, which led to the feeling that his death would happen very soon. That shadow had settled on his face in such a way that said "I'm going to die soon and I want to donate my heart to my friend Cristina”.

Cristina believes that everything was lost, the disease that suffered and no longer let her perform any physical activity so she had to stay in bed for many hours. The death came to Felipe, died suddenly because of having broken a blood vessel. When Felipe Garza's body arrived at the hospital, the doctors declared him clinically dead. The teenager had suffered a rupture of a blood vessel and the brain was left without blood supply. At the time the family knew that Felipe Garza had died, no one resisted what had been the great desire of the young man in the previous weeks. Her heart was transplanted into Cristina's chest.

By @norkamoran

All Is Not Lost

I find it hard believing that its been three years since my husband died. You see, we were a happy family,with two daughters and a son and Tobi's business doing great. Life was good.
It all changed on a day I've come to hate when a stray bullet from a robbery scene hit him. Within two hours, he died, leaving me to face the aftermath.
Up until then, I was getting on marvellously well with his family. But barely three months after Tobi died they had succeeded in chasing me and my children out of my marital home. I left with only what I had saved, to start a new life.
Things are slightly better now. I have a supermarket and with the proceeds, I'm sponsoring my two daughters in the university studying Medicine and Law. Junior just finished primary school too with a brilliant result. When I look at my kids, I'm assured that I've still got hope.
All is not lost.

All Is Not Lost

I never realised that I made people angry until I landed in the hospital. I am an athlete and I make sure I'm good at what I do.
In two months, I'll be attending a national competition and I have been training for sometime now.
Two days back, I went jogging early in the morning listening to music on my headset. Shortly after, I noticed four guys jogging behind me. I waved at them and kept on jogging.
images.jpg
Out of nowhere I felt something tangle with my legs and I went crashing to the ground. And then they descended on me, hitting me with all manner of planks. When the pain was too much, I passed out.
I woke up to find myself in the hospital,covered in casts. Here I was told that fortunately for me, a police vehicle was patrolling and the guys ran away when they saw it.
The doctor has assured me that I'll be back to normal in a month. Although that leaves me a month to train, it's better than nothing. I'll just have to train harder. But most of all, I'm grateful that all is not lost.

It was Holy Thursday, when Feliana saw Fabio her 7-year-old grandson come into her room, and he noticed it very strange, his intuition told him that he was possessed by a malignant spirit that caused him abnormal behavior, it made him look sick all the time and without encouragement. Immediately and instinctively he made the sign of the cross with both index fingers, and as Feliana was very spiritual and a believer, she invoked the name of Jesus Christ to throw out of the child's body the evil that afflicted him, and as if by magic appeared On their feet some black insects that started walking at first and then fled in terror, left the room, crossed the corridor and went through a transparent door illuminated by the sun, until they reached the front of the house, where they disappeared before the unbelieving eyes of Feliana and Fabio began to experience the health and improvement of all the ills that afflicted him.

Feliana thanked God and remembered what Jesus said: "EVERYTHING YOU ASK FOR THE FATHER IN MY NAME HE WILL GRANT YOU"
ALL IS NOT LOST.

ALL IS NOT LOST
I was working on a project that would take my company to the next level. This project might even award me a raise or a promotion when completed. I started seeing myself in that light because I knew I had succeeded.

On the day of presentation, I got dressed and was ready for my big moment. Suddenly my stomach was upset just about 5 mins to taking my shot. It was so pressing I could not bear it. The board of directors were all seated and I cannot miss this moment for anything. I had worked too hard and good for this. I remembered I had celebrated with some friends last night eating and drinking.

Quickly, I rushed to the toilet like a mad man and did a quick one sweating and shaking. Praying oh God don't let this moment pass me by. Looked at the time - 1 more minute, I said to myself ALL IS NOT LOST. I dashed into the board room sweating and smiling just at the nick of time.

All Is Not Lost

Stepping out of my car, I chuckled, anticipating the looks of surprise on my family's face when they see me. I was supposed to be gone for a month on covert operations but wrapped it up in two weeks,earning some well-deserved holiday.
One foot in the parlour and I felt my knees go weak as tears sprang to my eyes. On a sofa, my son was staring at me with eyes that'd never see me and a knife slash on his throat.
I went screaming all over the house for my wife and remaining kids. Seeing no sign of violence, I pulled myself together and headed for the concealed panic room I'd had built.
I found my wife and two remaining kids passed out,but definitely alive. Turns out they'd been in there for almost a day. As I called an ambulance, I noted a postcard with traces of blood on it in the parlour belonging to no one in the house. I've got what I need to track down who did this and make sure they can't hurt my family again. All is not lost.

All is not lost

In my country, Venezuela, we are going through the worst humanitarian crisis of all time. It is well known that medicines are not available, money is not enough to buy food, goods and services and insecurity is at an all-time high. All this has led to a large migration of people to different countries of the world, being the most sought after Latin Americans and the United States, this with the purpose of providing a better quality of life to their family, especially children, since any illness in them, the medicines for them are the ones that get less, although not everything is lost in this case, since many Venezuelans who are abroad (established for a long time or famous people) constantly perform donation activities and there they collect supplies such as medicines, diapers, milk, wet wipes, among other things to help Venezuelans who are still struggling to rescue this beautiful country.

Tade sat down in his car wondering the fortunate event that happened to him just now after he dropped the call. He has just gotten a contract worth million after he had given up on it already. He has gone from being a giver to almost a beggar, He had lost everything he worked for with just a simple decision.
Two month ago, a friend introduced a business idea to him, he was impressed and happy about the profits to be made if it comes through. They planned to come up with the capital together and share the proceedings. A month ago, he put up with all his savings and got a loan from his bank. He called his friend and gave him his own part of the capital, two weeks ago, they learnt that they have been duped.
The bank has been on his neck since he had passed the due time to pay back. They had promised to confiscate his house if he did not come up with the money soon.
Now, he was relieved he would pay up. All Is Not Lost after all, he thought.

STACH SHORT STORY CONTEST #24 "ALL IS NOT LOST"

Dr. Adekola, a surgeon, neurosurgeon to be precise has been in medical service for 25 years now. He is a renowned neurosurgeon, well known and respected by others surgeons in the hospital because of his best practices on brain surgery.

He has a home in GRA, 200 kilometres far from the hospital.

On a friday after he had left for work in hurry, a terrible incident happened at his resistance which had made neighbours running helter skelter to put off fire outbreak boozing out at his residence. This happened because he totally forgot to switch off the electric kettle he used making hot tea for his break fast. His wife couldn't do this because she already left for UK the previous day with their children.

The water left in the electric kettle dried off, the kettle became overheated and melted all plastic around it. From there, the fire touched the curtain nearby.

The whole house was burnt remaining just only one thing at his place where he always commune with God, which is THE BIBLE.

He came back seeing everything with a bitter heart, but when he entered, he saw Bible and said with faith "ALL IS NOT LOST"

Karen, the fat girl at school, was tired of so much contempt, bad looks and murmurs behind her. She did not like her body and her weight.
She went shopping and nothing was left, that depressed her even more. His biggest dream was to get married and have a family, but who would want a fat wife.
Albeth a young tender, began to approach Karen, he seemed beautiful, despite his overweight, his inner beauty was what mattered. They became friends and he helped her to somehow deal with her obesity and accept herself as she was.
Karen stopped paying attention to the comments of others, she felt that she was interested in someone and that made her happy. He decided to take the initiative to improve his diet and quality of life, he realized that it was worth a lot, despite the opinion of other people, and that everything has not been lost to begin a new stage in his life.

Anna was an expert Mibster. She could knuckle-down with the best of them in a game for keeps, earning her the nickname 'The Keepsie Queen' and today was no different. Simon was the unlucky prey she chose to take advantage of.

It was over within 10 minutes. Simon was left clutching tightly onto his shooter in complete shock. There was nothing left of his favourite collection. All of them. Gone.

"How could this happen?" He said in amazement.

As Anna got up to leave, Simon stuck out his foot and tripped her, falling to the ground. When she landed, her bag of marbles flew from her hand and began spilling all her newly won trophies into the storm drain.

Simon walked over, picked up the bag, and handed it back to Anna with the type of grin your little brother gives you when he's gotten you in trouble with your parents.

She snatched the bag from his hand and quickly peered inside to see the damage. As tears started to fill her eyes she looked up at Simon standing over her with a condescending look.

"At least you didn't lose them all."

Hello @stach this is my entry the contest my story.
One night, when we all slept soundly, dreaming of our future, that night where only the silence and the breeze of the wind could be heard. We were awakened by a loud roar that struck without compassion the doors, the windows, we were dragged by a strong tsunami, very high waves that headed for houses, buildings, food stores, bridges, crumbling roads, cars, but never our dreams. Here we are on our feet to fight again, lives and many material things were lost, but not yet everything is lost. The love that unites us as a family helped us to stay together while we dragged the strength of the waters. Today we have the strength to remain united and together to help our people to continue dreaming of a new city and show that all is not lost and we can start over to build our dreams that nature snatched us from night to morning. Dawn with a radiant sun but without a roof has been the strongest we have lived, we touched and with this step we will learn to be better people and give a hand to those who need it and say everything has not been lost.

ALL IS NOT LOST FOR THIS GENERATION

Back in the days, youths aspire to become a lot of things due to what was told; education is the key. Study to become a good Doctor, Lawyer or an Engineer for a great life in the future.

The most interesting thing was the love and respect youths had for their elders, irrespective of what they are in the society. Having a boy friend or a girl friend was not something to be told at home or envied by the majority, because you will be seen as wanting to destroy your future or as a sinner.

In this 21st century, it seems like the youths have gone crazy. They are more interested in the things we were meant to detest as youth. No one cares about the gray haired wise councel nor the pride of working hard/smart for a decent life. Imorality acts of experimenting sex with same sex and animals is now the order. Taking laws into their hands and call it jungle justice. No more reverenve for the teachings of the Bible but ALL IS NOT LOST for this generation. Steemit is building youths who are responsible citizens.

Sarah sat by the lake, the waters a perfect mirror of the night sky, and silently stared into the great expanse. Her eyes inspected every star, each distant galaxy so far from her own, and though she was outwardly emotionless her rampant thoughts wept their broken tears.

It had been over a year… they had told her that the pain would end, that the Fates would deliver their kindness in the end. But they had been wrong.

The Fates had forsaken her! She had been cursed. Her husband and family, dead; her home and livelihood, eradicated; her very existence, stolen. She was nothing and had nothing! How could the pain possibly end?

Do not despair, kin.

The soft voice breathed itself across the way alongside the sudden breeze, unexpected within the night’s stillness. It reminded her of her mother, though she knew that was impossible.

All is not lost; we are coming.

A star fall from the heavens. A good omen! It pirouetted impossibly across the sky until the mass hovered above, and she felt relief as the lightbeam fell upon her and drew her into its depths.

The Fates had not forsaken her; they had come at last.

ALL IS NOT LOST


image source

"Hey Granny?Would you like to click a picture with me?",Ellie requested.
With those old eyes that could barely see anything,the old woman tried to figure out who it was.
"Do I know you?"
"No grandma!But I have just got some sweets for you because it's my birthday.Shower your blessings upon me."
For a woman who had been thrown into the old age home just the day before inspite of her three successful sons and their families,it seemed to be something unexpected.While the lady was still trying to figure out what wrong she had done ,Ellie appeared with a smile.
"God bless you dear.Never let your parents go through this.".....and a tear rolled down her old wrinkled cheeks.
"I have no family.I lost all.I was brought up in the orphanage nearby."
The old lady hugged Ellie tightly saying,"Dont worry darling.All is not lost.We both found a family now."

This Sunday,21st June, is a special one, it's my birthday. so excited, got out of bed early to prepare for church. I played the saxophone with tears while thanking God for the past years.
After the service and wishes, I realize I got no foodstuffs. Nothing at all. Broke undergraduate life.
I sat down alongside my Broke church friends. Then one said "let's go to my hostel, I'll feed you guys. I dressed up ready to go,then i asked what he was going to cook and he said beans. That alone demoralised the other guys.
But because hunger dey,no choice. I said I wasn't going,not because I had an option or I wasn't hungry.
Anyways, they left,i was too broke to even get pure water. I said a word of prayer and slept off. Around 6pm,a knock came from my door, it was the girl I've been asking out. She actually brought me dinner, Moi-moi (steamed beans pudding).mehn.....i devoured! Not only did I get a yes and a Kiss that night, my friends came back hungry and savoured the remaining wraps.

ALL IS NEVER LOST TO THOSE WHO BELIEVE AND HOPE.

All is not lost

"So what the elites have left for mars leaving hubris of their abuse and rest of us in this hostile diseased planet? So what the technology cannot be improved upon to wrong the right without resources that of which nary is left? I used to work for the travel agency and I know for a fact that the out of service portal number 2 is operable with 87% chance of survival and if we brave the heart and take a chance and those that crossover fight the regime of soft elites, maybe the young ones will have a chance. All is not lost. Not yet." Sylvester addressed the earth, what remained of it. A glimpse of courage and hope sparked in their heart by their burnt black lungs. As far as eye could see, Sylvester's people seemed packing their kids, clothes, ammunition and guns. Tomorrow they'd march to Mars and their probable death. There will be no celebration tonight.

Life could never be worse than this. You think you've been through hell? Think again! I was just released from prison after serving 3 years for a crime I knew nothing about. The first news I was greeted with was the demise of my mother. She couldn't bear seeing her only child rot in prison. She thought about it day and night until she couldn't think anymore. She finally yielded after battling with high blood pressure.

Shortly after, my dad followed suit. It was as if he was waiting for me to get out of prison before he could join his ancestors. He died the same night I came home from prison. I was broken. It all felt like life has totally lost its essence.

I stared at the two graves in front of me. In there lay my parents who labored tirelessly for me till their last breath. I couldn't even say an adequate "thank you" for all their stress and troubles.
Life really is not fair.

I looked down at my little sister who was cuddled up in my arms; She flashed me a beautiful smile and at that moment, I realized that all is not lost.

The scents of pure bad luck pervaded my senses bringing back the horrors of last week. The memory of disaster filled my mind. The storm hit on our last day at sea. Zus the seaman had promised us that if we left the ship for a night, we’d b safe. He said he knew the sea like his wife’s body, assuring that nothing would happen. I trusted him with my life. He was wrong. A few minutes after we left the cruise ship, a current took hold of our little canoe and drove us far into open waters.
That was when the storm hit.
We struggled for hours, then when the storm was about to free us, lightning struck. What were the odds? What were the bloody odds?
I passed out and when I came to, I was on this island. Despair gripped my heart. I was going to die here. There was no doubt about it. I went back to the sea to try fishing again, maybe I’d be more lucky this time, but instead I saw our captain examining our wreck. I was saved. my life wasn’t over. All was not lost.

22137029_1732982860341669_2425897072885855842_o.jpg

All is not Lost:

Rosa Was a family of good principles, educated, beautiful, had an older sister only called Samantha she loved her a lot, combed her, played were friends and confidants, but one day Samantha dies in an automobile accident. This leaves Rosa devastated, her sister not only friend has died, Rosa is not the same as before, she does not sing, she does not talk to anyone, the years go by and Rosa remains the same and her parents are worried. A pink day enters Samantha's room and checks her belongings that are still intact and she sees a drawing that her older sister made is a rainbow, one and two people holding hands and written on the given drawing even if you feel them alone, and feel that the world falls, calm, all is not lost.


"NOT EVERYTHING WAS LOST"
The fishing Martin, had invested a lot of money for the tuna season, when they were fishing in the sea, one of the machines that dragged the nets broke down and the captain decided to collect the fishing and return to the coast to repair the fault. When they repaired the machine, they returned to the fishing point, decided to recover the lost time and started fishing again. After having had a good fishing time, suddenly there was a storm of waves of 10 meters high that hit the hull and one of the sailors who was on the deck was hit by one of her leaving him unconscious. When seeing the gravity of the situation, the captain decided to collect all the networks to put the fish in the tanks, since in those conditions it was not possible to fish, and they did not want to risk any life. To return to the land they made the evaluation of the fishing and, in spite of so many inconveniences, they realized that "NOT EVERYTHING WAS LOST" in both opportunities they caught enough to cover the investment, and most importantly, they did not lose their lives.


"NOT EVERYTHING HAS BEEN LOST"

THE MAXI C.A Oil Platform, which was 5 miles from the coast extracting the crude oil. In full production, there was a bad weather hurricane which caused a slide in the base of the platform, the workers of guards tried to control the stability of the platform, while the operator called the tugs asking for help, because the wrong time to make things worse, was when by speaker reported that one of the anchors that held the platform had burst and at any moment could sink, the tugs were already close with auxiliary anchors to secure the platform and its pumping position, while bad weather continued, they were placed because the waves were too high and the safety of it was in danger. The operations manager led the stability maneuver with the help of tugboats. Presenting an outbreak of fire in the production line that was controlled. After the bad weather, the platform was stabilized. "NOT EVERYTHING HAS BEEN LOST" despite the fact that the production was stopped, the spilling of oil in the sea was avoided.

Doyin was bustling with life not so long ago, nothing could be more better for her than this, she just got married with the love of her life and her business was growing on a daily basis. Three years from then, they have still not had a child talk less of children. Her mother-in-law had been a thorn to her flesh, no day passed without her reminding Doyin of how unfortunate she is.
Now as she lie down on the hospital bed, she was reminiscing on how she got here. She could not remember anything. She tried standing up but found out she could not move her spine. She feared the worst.
Her husband came in after and the mood he was confirmed her fears.
Your spinal cord got injured in the accident and the doctor isn't sure about you able to walk again,he announced but there is something you need to know dear. He smiled.
You're pregnant!!.
Doyin was happy and sad at this news... All Is Not Lost . She thought as she sobbed.

Mr. Juan tired of his country of birth sold all his goods and went with his family to California in the USA a little disappointed in life since everything was going wrong, in business in his country of origin came to his new house one day Friday which all great and happy for the change but the next day Saturday afternoon there was a very strong category 4 hurricane where Juan left with his family to his underground shelter for his safeguards to pass the bad weather came out to the surface and they found that they had nothing left and it was the only thing they had left they took all their house, their corotos, their car were completely amazed and with tearful eyes could not believe it, at the moment they come out of debris to her little dog who gave them a lot of joy for which their dog jumped into their arms happy to get their owners for which Mr. Juan told his 3 children and his wife, Maria, my love and You see everything has not been lost.

ALL IS NOT LOST

No one knows where she comes from: oddly dressed, her face concealed under her a hijab.

She takes a sharp turn at Crescent Street and heads towards the lagoon.

She has been running for days, holding onto all the paper she has gathered for years, thirteen sheets in total.

Authorities have banned all forms of writing. Writers are inciting civilian uprising, they say. All Writing softwares flushed away, internet platforms supporting texts are taken down, papers are banned too.

She lost some of it last night as she ran, with the Police on her trail. Writers are outlaws, a large number now imprisoned or killed.

At the lagoon, she locates a desolate wooden boat, hops on it and paddles to the middle. Here, on water, she tastes freedom. She imagines herself as water, swirling into endless spaces.

She dips her hand into her bag, making for her paper. She hopes all is not lost: one is left. All the years of hiding, running and being hunted is down to one sheet of paper.

She brings out her pen, warm tears streaming down to burn her cheeks, and writes for the first time in years:

'We're writers, and we're here.'

[199 words without title - as per MS word / 205 words without title according to busy.org - this creates a bit of a dilemma for me, so I'm not changing anything - hopefully MS word is the standard ]

All IS NOT LOST
“That was a hell of a fight you boys put up today!” Coach Ted announced as he walk into the dispirited change rooms – trying to cheer everyone up.

“I know losing isn’t easy but, you did yourselves proud – You didn’t let them settle in for a minute...” he paused, “...You did something far more important than winning today!” he paused again ensuring he had everyone’s attention – “You earned your opponents’ respect!”

“Hey! Robert – Hell of a tackle you put in there towards the end” trying to weave some positive elements into his pep talk, “He he he!” he chuckled, “You rattled that defender alright!”

“I guarantee you boys if you play all of next season the way you played today – we can start engraving your names on that cup!” coach Ted seemingly getting lost in his own thoughts for a moment - relishing the prospect.

“Now, stop mopping like a bunch of Patsies”, he instructed, “Get out of here and go have some fun – you’ve earned it!”

As, the final player left, Coach Ted, thought to himself, finally after 15 years of coaching,” I finally have a bunch of boys I can take all the way to the Top.”

All is not lost.
Hot tears ran through my cheeks when the doctor gave me his final words "All hope is not lost".But how can i forgive this man who took away my virginity and also infected me with an incurable disease thereby bringing me closer to the grave. It hurts down to the bone marrow when you think you know somebody but then you have only been deceiving yourself. On feb 14 2006, I decided to give Tunde my virginity because i felt he deserved it after a 7 year blissful relationship. Tunde was so sweet, loving and caring. He is a wolf in sheep's clothing. I went into his room that day only to meet Tunde having sex with another person in the bed. My legs could no longer hold me when i realised that it was his best friend Edmond that was in bed with him. Before i could leave, they both raped me. Till date, i don't regret the fact that i stabbed tunde to death and now I have been infected with HIV and also in prison. I will just keep my fingers crossed and trust the doctor's words that ALL IS NOT LOST

ALL IS NOT LOST
Gina, you're needed in the principal's office, Mrs Smith said. Gina wondered what she had done this time. On getting to the office, she was told that she had to go home as her mom had called.
What happened? Gina asked ,she knew her mom won't have called if it was not important.
On getting home,her mom was in living room and she could tell that she had been crying. What's wrong mom? Gina said. Her mom asked her to sit. Mom please tell me what happened, Gina was growing impatient. Gina it's your dad, I just got back from the hospital he was admitted. We lost him dear.
Gina could not believe her ears. She knew her dad was sick,and had been in and out of the hospital but she never expected to get this type of news. Gina burst into tears, she was inconsolable but her mom tried all she could to console her. She told her everything would be alright. She was going to do everything in her power to make sure she does not feel her dad's absence. Gina felt relieved with her mother's words,she knew they were going to be alright.

"There was an accident, Sorry ma'am",
"What are you sorry for, tell me, what happened" she begged the caller
"We tried all we could, but we lost him", the caller said
"Lost who, who did you lose?" she asked, her heart was beating at a fast pace, she held her chest
"we identified him as your son", the caller replied
Those words hit her like the punch of a heavyweight boxing champion, the phone fell from her hands and she past out.

Mrs. Eze had been married for 15 years without a child, it was an excruciating ordeal. When she finally got a son, she was so attached to him, she loved him with all her life, now he's dead. It felt like life itself was sapped from her. How would she live without him now? What is her guarantee that she'd have another child.
She was nearing menopause, was her husband up to the task.
Her mother had tried to console her, "all is not lost my dear", she told her for the umpteenth time.
She knew all was not lost, she had hope, but the loss of her son would always be remembered.

All is not lost
Hey Becky,let me have that flashlight, i just stepped on something, its dead, unless you brought some juice i would say we keep walking she replied. I hope we find this thing after what we lost today and by that i mean mason and tyler,i just dont get how you guys are still chasing a fantasy. Listen we are all starving and its all thanks to you for forgetting our supplies after swearing that you packed them ,not another word from you.Relax boys, cut in sarah,you can get at each others throats on our way back.
Okay we're here, the map says he was killed and buried in this tomb, but there's nothing here. I cant believe we came this far for nothing. Wait all is not lost yet,ithink i found it screamed Becky, oh wait it's just a twig sorry guys. We better get going there's nothing here,it was all a waste of time said Harvey in a beaten tone as he sat on the ground. Yeah,we should never have come with you in the first place, said sarah as she tripped over something,and there it was Poseidon's triton.

All is not lost
I think we lost them, maybe we can stop running now said isabel trying to catch her breath. I think so too replied Martha,if we ever make it out of this cannibal infested island, I'm never going to look at anything that flies ever again.
Be quiet i think i heard something, its coming from those bushes, its them, run! Yelled isabel.
Both sisters ran as quickly as their feet could carry them, suddenly they were both inside a ditch, why didn't you watch where you were going....you probably stepped on something and now we are about to become dinner.
How many times do i have to tell you to be quiet, they should have found us by now, maybe they didn't see us fall, lets just wait it out.Found them!yelled one of the cannabals,they are over here come quickly. Yippee the other shouted as he stopped to do a quick dance move.
Finally we're home,now tie them over that pot while i get the ingredients ready. In an instant a volcano began to erupt and all the man eaters fled for their lives leaving behind the only boat they had ever seen.

                              **All is not lost**

It has been a tragic year so far. Funmi lay supine on the bed in tears . Thoughts of the events that led to this day flashed through her mind . I was supposed to be a joyful visit to their in laws place. Her mum and dad joined them in hubby's landrover . They had been travelling for just two hours when the unexpected happened. There was suddenly blood everywhere and she couldn't move. It wasn't Long before good passers by came to their rescue. The moment of truth alas as the doctor broke to her the news of her losses , she couldn't believe that her 7months baby was still living and breathing. Alas ! She thought "All is not lost"

There are 3 pages
Pages