You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - North American Friday #16 - the absolute winner takes 200 SBD!

in #contest6 years ago

This amazing story happened to me on the island of Bering (part of Aleuthian islands).

Getting there is not easy. And getting to the rookery is even more difficult. But if you go to the end, you can make amazing photos.
If you stay all the time in the water, then the animals perceive you as another seal. This is certainly not as simple as it seems. The water temperature in the Bering Sea does not exceed 8-9 degrees. And the use of dry suits and scuba divers repels seals.

But all the difficulties were immediately forgotten. Dozens of tiny creatures clung to me from all sides. They quickly realized that I was not dangerous. For about an hour I became their new toy.Baby of the sea
You can read more detail at my blog.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your participation in the challenge. I did pick other images to go further at this time as there was a high number of entries. Tomas