You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #24: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

All Is Not Lost

Stepping out of my car, I chuckled, anticipating the looks of surprise on my family's face when they see me. I was supposed to be gone for a month on covert operations but wrapped it up in two weeks,earning some well-deserved holiday.
One foot in the parlour and I felt my knees go weak as tears sprang to my eyes. On a sofa, my son was staring at me with eyes that'd never see me and a knife slash on his throat.
I went screaming all over the house for my wife and remaining kids. Seeing no sign of violence, I pulled myself together and headed for the concealed panic room I'd had built.
I found my wife and two remaining kids passed out,but definitely alive. Turns out they'd been in there for almost a day. As I called an ambulance, I noted a postcard with traces of blood on it in the parlour belonging to no one in the house. I've got what I need to track down who did this and make sure they can't hurt my family again. All is not lost.