SPU Poetry Contest #1: Announcement!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

PoetsUnitedLogoProjectFINAL1.png

Steemit Poets United - Contest Week 1

Last week, we have asked for feedback on contest formats (check the original post), and we received great input! There were two particular options that have received almost equal postiive feedback. As suggested in one of the comments, we will be alternating between these two more popular choices. These choices were option A and option D on the original post. This week's format will be using Option A - Poetry Prompt.

The poetry prompts will be selected from our own poets, who have consistently been active. Some of these have been featured in the curation project of SPU Best Poetry of the Week.

Note: If anyone is looking to guest judge future contests, feel free to contact me through discord. One must be an active poet on Steemit Poets United to be eligble. This week, @sammynathaniels will be helping me judge the contest.

Prizes

The prizes for week 1 have been massively increased by a sizeable donation of 6SBD from @angelveselinov! Therefore, for this week, the prizes are as following:

RankPrize
1st7SBD
2nd3SBD
3rd1SBD

It is important to note that this prize money comes from our pockets. We kindly request that you upvote and resteem this post. Sharing the word helps us earn more payouts, with ensures that we have enough SBD to cover the prizepool. Currently, we will be using from our own wallets to provide you a great opportunity. I believe that more than the prize, the encouragement and exposure are rewarding as well.

Thank you @angelveselinov for the donation:

If anyone would like to donate to the prizepool to be added, transfer SBD to my wallet with the memo: SPU Contest 1 Prizepool. You could also invest in next week's prizepool, with the memo: SPU Contest 2 Prizepool, and you will get mentioned in the contest announcement.

Poetry Prompts

Poetry Quote 1

Laughter; a deception, a lie
Hiding truth in white teeth,
Smiling at you as if the world
Was a playground and butterflies
Were never cocoons eaten by bats.

Taken from the second poem in Photography and Poetry, by @warpedpoetic.

Poetry Quote 2

if I only had a match to light
and see where I am now
wrong side of heaven
or righteous
depth of
hell?

Taken from the poem LOST, by @lymepoet.

Poetry Quote 3

life's wind in my head,
it refuses to play dead
and keeps resisting the forces of changing

Taken from A Birthday Limerick, by @madevi

Rules

  • Your poem has to be inspired by ONE of the pieces above. Inspiration can be emotive or literal, and can use the whole quote or just a word or a phrase. Note, you may read the full poem to understand the context; preferably let the inspiration flow from the quoted part.
  • No restrictions on length or rhyming. Feel free - use your freedom wisely.
  • The post's title has to be "SPU Poetry Contest #1: POEM_TITLE". Obviously, replace POEM_TITLE with your poem's actual title.
  • In the post, provide a link to the poem you chose (before or after the poem). This helps the poet gain some more exposure.
  • Use poetsunited as the FIRST tag.
  • Upvote this post. Resteem is optional, but appreciated.
  • Copy the link to your poem, and post it on the comments below.
  • If your poetry is featured in one of the prompts, you are obliged to choose one of the other two options.

Deadline for entries closes once this post has been paid out. We will do our best to announce winners and the following contest as quickly as possible.

Clarification Edit: The deadline is Sunday, 25th of February. For precise timing, keep an eye out on when this post pays out.

You must respect Steemit rules! No plagiarism allowed. If you are going to use photos or pictures on your post, make sure that you are allowed to use them, and to source the content. Any breaking of rules will be notified and the entry will not be accepted.

Judging Notes

We try to keep this contest as fair and objective as possible. Subjectivity always comes to play, and that's why we try to have more than one judge. Transparency is a big part of steemit, and we would like to share things we will be looking out for:

  • Originality and Creativity: We like new ideas. Impress us! Whether it's the language used or the form of the poem, we appreciate innovation.
  • Coherence: We prefer that the poem/lines/stanzas transitions smoothly.
  • Logical Structure: Make use of every line and stanza - they should logically fit within the structure of the poem.
  • Rhythm/Rhyme: We do not request a rhyme scheme or a metered poem, but do pay attention the overall rhythm. If rhymes are used, we will also evaluate if these were used well, or were instead forced.
  • Aftermath: Powerful poetry should make us feel something, or should send us into deep thought and reflection.
  • Inspiration: We seek that there is at least a faint inspiration from the poetry quote you chose. Inspiration is more flattering than imitation, so be sure to be inspired and take it to new directions.

Feel free to ask any queries in the comments. I will do my best to respond in a timely manner.


Join the Steemit Poets United on Discord

Designed by @mental-extract
Sort:  

Your entry has been approved :) I'll be taking a deeper look later on

Your entry has been approved. Thank you for participating!

I got my inspiration for two poets out of three mentioned on the contest. The first and the second. They both added supernatural and nature to the mix.
@lymepoet poem titled LOST give me an inspiration about a supernatural presence when she mentioned "heaven or hell" and about the awareness of nature as she writes about the "Clouds and raindrops".
@warpedpoetic poem also inspired me when he also mentioned the presence supernatural being in his poetry and about nature and seasons of the climate.

So this is my entry.
https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@unserious/spu-poetry-contest-1-katsina-blues-7d43b9d21697c

Your entry has been approved. That's interesting, to take two prompts. I'll be looking forward to read it and see how it played out :)

@moneyinfant has added your contest to the list Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #24. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest List I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

This poem has been approved! Will be reading it soon ;)

Hope I am not too late to join the contest. So here goes...
https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@jenyfa/spu-poetry-contest-1-my-little-mundane-life

Your entry has been approved! The contest doesn't end until Sunday :)

Great been looking forward to this contest... Couldn't submit my post for the last one... Hopefully my phone doesn't act up again...

Will be looking forward to your entry! You have 7 days, so hopefully, you will have enough time to write, and your phone will give you enough chance to post.

Finally it is here. I wish all the contestants the best.

Indeed, good luck all!

Thanks for the mention, feel honored :) Not sure if i will enter yet, but we'll see how much comes. Good luck to all who enter!

Feel free to enter if you get the chance, but do not feel obliged. I know you're already quite active with the community :D

Hey This Post has been sponsored 0.5sbd for Promotion into the promo steemit section. Enjoy :)

Thank you for choosing my poem as a quote. I feel honoured. Blushing ;0)

I really had loved that poem, especially that part!

Well I got to be the first one to Enter :) Haha :) Thank You all For your Participation and Dedication to the community. I really love you all and love what you have been doing... Keep Up the Good Work. :P Cause I might get lost :) hehe here is my Entry Enjoy :) https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@angelveselinov/spu-poetry-contest-1-lost

Good luck, your entry has been approved

Thanks for this. Writing the poem for this contest helped me sort out a lot of deep feelings. Here is my entry.
https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@firststeps/spu-poetry-contest-1-if-only

Your entry has been approved - will be looking forward to reading thoroughly :)

Greetings oh illustrious ones: here is my poem: https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@mistermercury/spu-poetry-contest-1-winds. RESTEEMED

Your poem has been approved for the contest, will be looking forward to reading it

Intriguing contest, @poetrybyjeremy. Kindly, find my entry, below, in response to the poetry prompt by @lymepoet:

https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@yahialababidi/spu-poetry-contest-1-if-only-i-had-a-match-to-light

photo-1486581307799-1c235e1231eb.jpg

Your entry has been approved! Will be looking forward to reading it quietly :)

Happy to hear it, Jeremy, and I hope it keeps you good company 🙏🏼

I am excited about this contest. I like that I can do free verse. The lack of restrictions on the Poetry is awesome. I also like the prompt idea. Great contest.

Glad that the lack of restrictions helped you! I like to give as much power and control towards the poet. Especially when it comes to form, there is a lot of room for creativity, and restrictions would lock that creativity into a small box.

Thank you for participating. Your entry has been approved for the contest :)

Your poem has been approved as an entry. I will be looking forward to reading it :)

I'm so excited for this contest. This looks awesome! Thanks for doing this. Here is my entry. Good luck everyone!
https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@walkingkeys/spu-poetry-contest-1

Your entry to the contest has been approved :)

Hi folks, loving poetsunited and your promotion of poetry! I hope you like my entry called Life's Wind no surprise I used "A Birthday Limerick" by @madevi. Thanks for the inspiration!

Thank you for participating! Your entry has been approved :)

Am really honoured being in this community and congratulations to last week winners.
Here's my own entry

https://steemit.com/poetry/@mah7/imagine

your entry has been approved! I will be looking forward to reading it :)

@poetrybyjeremy upvoted and resteemed!

thank you! I appreciate the support :)

Resteemed.

Thank you!! We do appreciate the support :D

Glad to. Contests like the one you're running are "social glue" for Steemit, so I'm happy to help you get more entrants.

That's true! I've joined my fair share of contests and won a couple in my first few weeks on steemit. It made me value my poetry that much more, and encouraged me to continue sharing! Nonetheless, thank you <3

I had to breathe deep to do this I pray you find solace in it....here is my link.
https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@febizle/spu-poetry-contest-1-what-inspires-you-hate-or-love..God bless

You added the link incorrectly. However, I found it myself, as https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@febizle/spu-poetry-contest-1-what-inspires-you-hate-or-love

It has been officially added to the entry list.

Am sorry that is a result of typographic errors...bear with me

This is a wonderful contest and I dare not miss participating, thank you for the chance. Writing is fun and I hope to build a legacy out of my hobby.

Here is my poem
https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@pharaohspeaks/spu-poetry-contest-1-the-darkness-in-heaven

Thank you for participating. We would appreciate if you could state or link which prompt you have used. Although it is pretty clear to me, it would be nice that you tell the readers which poem or quote was the inspiration.

@poetrybyjeremy,

So, Jeremy, this is how you get out of having to go toe-to-toe with me ... you sponsor the damned contest! Clever.

https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@quillfire/spu-poetry-contest-1-poets

We're giving back to the community!

Your poem has been added to the official entry list ;)

Thank you for participating :) Your poem has been approved as an entry :)

hi guys, so I was informed of this post by @sharoonyasir and now I am a member of the Steemit Poets United .... yay !!!!
here is my entry
https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@klynic/spu-poetry-contest-1-joy-activist

Thanks
I await my approval status @poetrybyjeremy

Welcome to Steemit Poets United! Your entry has been approved :) We hope you enjoy it in our community!

I plan to ..

@angelveselinov just got this post resteemed to 5000 followers.

I am not a bot. Upvote this comment if you like this service

This is a wonderful contest and I dare not miss participating, thank you for the chance. Writing is fun and I hope to build a legacy out of my hobby.

Well I took my inspiration from the Poetic quote 2 which states:
If only I had a match to light
And see where I am now
Wrong side of heaven
Or righteous
Depth of hell?.

Here is my poem
https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@pharaohspeaks/spu-poetry-contest-1-the-darkness-in-heaven

Thank you
@poetrybyjeremy

Your entry has been approved.

You could have edited the comment or post, for future reference. I understand people are new to steemit and discord and all this stuff, so don't worry. But there's an edit feature that you can always use ;)

Your entry has been approved! I can see that it's going to be on a controversial topic!

Your entry has been approved! I will be looking forward to reading your poem :)

Thank you for participating in our contest! Your poem has been officially approved :)

Here is my entry. Thanks for looking. Paper Hat Captain

your entry has been approved :)

just finished my late night first-time submission and I'm delighted to join in the fun! thanks for hosting us @poetrybyjeremy - i look forward to reading some other submissions!:

https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@itinerantartist/spu-poetry-contest-1-the-process-of-writing-a-love-letter

Your poem has been added to the entry list! Thank you for participating :D It's a pleasure to have so many poets participate in our first contest!

You have been resteemed by @resteemy, courtesy of @angelveselinov!
Want to increase your following? Read more about me here

Good luck everyone with the competition! @poetrybyjeremy great contest!

Hi @artbylaurajansen - this does not seem to be an entry to this contest. All the other links that have been shared are poetry submissions. I understand that it's hard to get attention and recognition for your work, however, posting unsolicited links which may be inappropriate or do not follow the rules of the contest is frowned upon. Having said that, I would suggest looking more into the Steemits Poets United group, where you can get much more recognition for your work :)

https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@akinboyewa/spu-poetry-contest-1-silent-influence-72612361c172d
This is my entry... Goodluck to me.. Am excited to be part of the community

It's nice to see that you entered :D Your post has been approved :)

Loading...

Do not know if I am even considered an active poet but here is my entry just incase :P https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@tygertyger/spu-poetry-contest-1-unravel-the-cord

Thank you for participating! Yes, this entry has been approved :)

Active poet is within the group status that allows you for further achievements/contests/features. However, I'm keeping this contest open to everyone. There's more information on discord.

Hey guys, here's my poem :

https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@lorddominik007/spu-poetry-contest-1-life-s-ride

Finally got to write something, spent the last week with a shitty flu, not being able to think ..

I hope you're feeling better and will continue to get better :) Your entry has been approved

Here is my entry for the spu contest #1. Thank you for hosting such contest this is a great avenue for expressing myself. More power to all you guys!!:) https://busy.org/@stephey/spu-contest-1-turning-pages

Your entry has been approved for the contest. Thank you for participating :)

I hope I'm not yet late for the deadline. Hope you like my little piece. Thank you for your contest.

https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@chadee/spu-poetry-contest-1

You are not late, indeed. Your entry has been approved :)

You made it in time! The entry has been approved

Hot damn, there is a lot of competition for this one. Good luck, everyone!

You have no idea! it's very tough!