You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WhaleShares Short Story Contest Series | Week #7

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Kismet

"What am I watching?"

"A replay," I heard a small voice say behind me. My visage hardened into ice as I realized what spoke, behind me... an orb. It happened again. A replay, but not of my life.

"Why are we watching the accident? Who are you?"
"My name is not your concern." Raising slightly in tone.

"Accident?" It paused. "There is no accident today."

The replay happened again, but much slower. The orb moved playfully as a toddler ran after it, through an intersection, THAT intersection. As my car sped down the road, swerving to miss him, just knocking the kid off his feet. As I was about to look away, a truck also swerving to miss my car... hits the child.

"This was NOT an accident?!"

"The man.... Driving the truck has murdered several men, and today he will be caught. The child, can be incarnated into a non-abusive family."

"What about me?"

"Today..." It started. "She had complications from surgery... You rushed to reach her bedside correct? You'll see her soon."

"But why?"

"Why," It paused, as if he began a thought. "Because it's my job. To complete the most, in the shortest amount of time."