You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WhaleShares Short Story Contest Series | Week #7

in #contest7 years ago

My Funeral
I went to my funeral the other day, I was sitting sitting there gazing around the room when I started to realize a few things about the life I no longer had. I watch as the few friends and loved ones I had left weep in sorrow, my life begins to play back before my eyes like an old time movie flashing memories of all of the good times and the bad. I think of all the things I could have done diffrent wondering what life would been like, I wonder if I would have the same family and friends, or a new set of family and friends, or anyone at all??
The scenarios and questions begin to flow, (what if what if), then I realize once more that it dont matter for that life is no more. I look over at my wife wondering if she will be alright, I am sad that I am leaving her here alone, I wish I could have had more time with her. I hope the life we had together fills her heart with love and not regret, our life was not fancy or without worry, we had our good days and bad, but we always made it through.
I watch the tears comming from her eyes roll dowh her cheeks and drip of her chin, I reach out to wipe them like I had many times before when death pushes my hand away, he had crept in behind me and was waiting for me to say goodbye, he places his hand on my shoulder and whispers ( you are no longer able to interact with the living, it is time to go).
I ask death for that one last wish as everyone does, he gazes down at me and nods his head, I turn to my wife and kiss her for the last time. Death and I begin to walk off into the darkness, I turn and gaze back at her one last time when I see her smile and I hear her say (I love you and I will miss you, you were a good man but you are now in a better place and I will see you on the other side). I whisper back, I love you my beautiful wife, I will be waiting for you.

Sort:  

Wow! This inspired me to write about my own funeral and how it would be. It reminded me of Mitch Bloom's "Have a little faith".