You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Traditions and Customs)

in #contest6 years ago

[Okay, now who keeps stealing my time?}

Tradition

There's only one tradition which I like and this happen's on Halloween (Day of the Dead). For our tradition, much resembling the Mexican tradition but of course starting first in Europe and more popular in Poland, we attend the cemeteries and honour the dead. However, for the Polish, we place down the person's favorite flowers on their graves, pictures of their high-times and candles strewn about. Of course we give the honorary prayers to them and giving honorary speeches to them if needed for a massive crowd gathering on such a family member. Of course, the most immediate family members are supposed to attend and honour the person as yearly as they can, but, if costs are too much, places change or the cemetery is restrictive on access, then honoring them at least once is socially allowed and the frowning is upon those that inhibit the yearly honors.

Sort:  

LOL, seriously! Do you wait for the last possible moment! I'm afraid that I didn't quite get to you in time for the Steem-Bounty, I will have to be a bit better on the ball next time (or you could give me a half day notice!).

The only things that I really know about the Festival of the Day of the Dead, is what I had learnt from playing Grim Fandango! However, I do think it is nice to have a national tradition of honouring the dead. We don't really have that in either country that I have some affiliation to (Australia and Netherlands), but when I am in my home town in Australia, I always visit and pay homage to ancestors in line with my Chinese heritage...

The winners and the next SBI Givewaway (Recurring Dreams) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/alldutchenglish/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayrecurringdreams-bh3ogyftjk