One year Steemit anniversary retrospective and giveaway: win SBI shares!

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

In a couple of weeks or so it will be a year since I joined Steemit. Overall, I feel like I've had a pretty good experience so far and wanted to do a little retrospective (giveaway further down below for the impatient ones).

I first learned about Steemit thanks to @DavidPakman, who talked about it on his show. "What? A social network where the likes/upvotes translate into actual currency?" seemed pretty cool. In the beginning my philosophy was to simply write for myself and hopefully slowly build an audience if my content was good and interesting, but I admit that, even as I was still learning how the Steemit ecosystem worked, I almost immediately started to haphazardly try bots out to see if I could expand my reach. While the idea of Steemit is indeed pretty cool, the incentive structure creates a lot of issues (Perhaps I'll talk about it at a later time.)

One of the first great moments on the platform for me came when I won second place in the @steemitboard World Cup contest. That was a really fun ride. In the end, @bidbots won first place and @chehkuna secured the third position. But probably the biggest change for me was finding the @steemstem community, it did wonders to promote my science posts and finding other like-minded individuals who post high quality content.

In all, I made 41 posts on varying topics:

Climate change and other ecology news

New satellite data study finds oceans rising at an accelerating rate
Climate Change Update - Ocean Edition
55-73% of oceanic surface is being fished, and that is not completely bad news
Greenhouse gases could skyrocket as developing nations increase air conditioning usage
2017-2018 winter Arctic sea ice extension revealed to be second lowest on record
Scientists engineer a better "plastic-eating" enzyme
Global warming spells great trouble for coral reefs
"Dams have had their day in Europe" ecologist claim as dismantling of river barriers ramps up
Remote coral sites around Samoa found to be a virtual "graveyard"
As the Arctic warms many marine mammal species will become vulnerable to human activity
Largest king penguin population has been devastated in the last 30 years
New study maps the causes behind deforestation around the world
Banned more than a decade ago, polychlorinated biphenyls are still set to destroy orca whale populations
New study warns Bitcoin could become major climate change driver
New report shows vertebrate biodiversity is plummeting worldwide

Other science topics

New study confirms previous results: happiness increases with income up to around 75k-100k per annum
Biggest family tree goes back eleven generations and holds 13 million people
Stephen Hawking had completed new multiverse theory just before dying
Amazing video showcases anglerfish mating
Stem cell trial successfully restores sight to patients with macular degeneration
Newly discovered family of genes played key role in human brain evolution
On the origin of life
Scientists engineer optimized version of previously useless class of antibiotics
Ancient viral infection linked to modern human drug addiction
Pooping: you are (probably) doing it wrong
Trump administration would like to pretend some LGBT+ people don't exist, let's look at the facts
Sexual development of the brain
Recording of Carl Sagan's 'Age of Exploration' 1994 lecture has been found

Political news, usually with some commentary

Joe Biden brags about having engaged in mafia diplomacy in Ukraine
Trump expands world's largest terror program
UN efforts see release of more than 300 child soldiers in South Sudan
Democrats still would rather lose to a Republican than win with a true progressive
Ireland repeals abortion ban in landslide referendum
'Rational National' breaks down how the mainstream media is purposefully clueless toward progressives
Is the USA preparing to bomb Iran before 2018 is through?
EU approves problematic copyright reform directive

Weirdo leftist posts

Noam Chomsky Day
Why automation could be a good thing
Is "nerve stapling" next?
"Capitalism breeds innovation"

Culture news

Peter Jackson restored and colourized hours of WW1 footage for new documentary

This means I made one post every nine days or so. 36.6% of the posts were on climate change, 31.7% on other science topics, 19.5% on political news, 9.8% were weirdo leftist posts and 2.4% related to culture news.

Looking back I'm, not completely proud, there’re some half-baked posts and some that could have used more structure editing time (not to mention typos!). But overall I'm quite satisfied with the quality I have produced, especially considering one can only devote so much time to this what with work and other real life things.

SHUT UP AND GIVE ME THE BLOODY GIVEAWAY ALREADY

OK, OK... sheesh. Here's the deal, I'll be giving away 6 Steem Basic Income (SBI) sponsorships. Specifically, 3 lucky winners will get 2 SBI shares each. If you don't know what SBI is, basically, the project upvotes yours posts and the value of the upvote is proportional to the number of shares you have. In the past I was lucky to be sponsored myself, so I thought this would be a nice way of giving back to the community. According to @steembasicincome:

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content.

To have a chance to win all you have to do is leave a comment. In seven days all comments will be assigned a number according to the date of posting and the Random Gods will decide the three winners. Feel free to upvote and resteem of course! If enough people participate I will increase the number of winners (and if I think not enough people joined I may extend the giveaway for another week, but I'm confident that won't be necessary).

Good luck!

EDIT:

It's now a little over 12 hours till the giveaway is over (ie. in around 12 hours it'll be 7 days since posting). I count 25 entries so far which seems like a good number so I won't be extending the deadline to enter the giveaway. If you made an entry, you should check back shortly after the 7 days are past to find out who are the three lucky winners. I will place a comment to this post detailing all entries and winners. Immediately after that I will send the sponsorships to @stemmbasicincome, so anyone will be able to see the transaction in my wallet history. Good luck!

Sort:  

Firstly congrts on the one year mark, I'am now on my 2nd year and counting. Honestly same here my experience with Steemit.com as almost always been a positive one and while I didn't bother much with other social media sites Steemit.com as been the most supportive and friendly one out there of the others ones I spent my time on, and for this reason the "community" not only do I think Steemit.com will be a even bigger success than it already is but its also another reason why I wont leave @tychoxi.

hopefully you are right and it will continue to grow, good luck!

I found your post because I like contests. It seems to be a good way to practice writing skills and get to know some new people in the community. Well, actually I'm the new one, so I'm just trying to get to know ANY people in the community. And @steembasicincome contests have helped me with that. Congratulations on your one year anniversary, hope you have many more. Very impressive to see all the content you have produced, I'll be checking it out from your links!

Thanks. It's cool to hear steembasicincome is helping people, good luck!

Happy steemiversary!

Thankee sai!

Congratulations! ^^

Impressive contribution for that small period of time! :D
@steembasicincome is indeed an excellent concept and project, I've been already supporting few artists myself too.

Thank you, @tychoxi, happy anniversary and Steem on!


SteemitBannerLightCaptured400px.jpg

Thanks, good luck!

Congrats!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats on your first steem anniversary!

Congrats !!!
Keep going on Steemit

Happy steemiversary and Congrats!

Congratulations

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank ya

Congratulations!

congratulation

Happy Anniversary

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

Weird leftist posts, science and politics? I'm in!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! happy to hear there's an audience!

Congrats on your first anniversary! More to come ;)

Hopefully!

Congrats!
Good Luck all!!

Congratulation anniversary!

Congratulations @tychoxi! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Uh? First...?

I really like this one-year retrospective idea. I've seen other Steemians do similar stuff, and content creators like Vlogbrothers even have annual surveys for their viewers.

On my account anniversary, I'm totally stealing your idea!

Hopefully we'll be all there for your first Steemit birthday!

Congratulation for the anniversary !! And wish to see your second year here.!! by the way, I recommend you enlarge the size of your post link so that I can read easier and better to promote yourself!!

Thanks! I will keep in mind what you say about font size, I didn't want to make an overly long post, but perhaps you're right and I'm just making it difficult for people to read . Decisions, decisions...

Goodness nearly a year first off congratulations. I am quite quite impressed with your catalogue. I wish that I had copied and pasted the links as I went, but the thought of going back through nearly daily blogs since April makes my blood run cold. I always find it hard to believe that I haven't met some people here and also feel heartened that there are a lot of people that have been here for a long time and have no plans to go anywhere. I certainly have no plans to disappear. The titles of your posts I quite intriguing and I do hope I meet you again xx

Posted using Partiko Android

well thanks. And wow daily blogs, judging by today you seem to have grown a lot in Steemit in a very short time congrats!

hello, I'd like to participate too :)

Great, good luck!

Congratulations for one year Steemit anniversary !

Thanks cheers!

Congratulations to your anniversary. Nice of you celebrating it by the contest. Good luck!

hello!😊Congratulations on your happy first anniversary💐🎊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, good luck!😊

congrats on your anniversary on Steemit!those science article looks interesting,will find some time to view it, thanks for sharing and congrats again!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Good luck!

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Thanks for the win!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @tychoxi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!