You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #24: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

I've thought of committing suicide for a long time. I even went as far as asking my brother to write a suicide note for me deceiving him that it was for an assignment in school so he won't tell our parents.
One phrase of the notes read:

You don't have to be ashamed of me anymore.

This phrase has been in my mind when I stumbled on the bitter story of how my mum refused to hold me after she realized that I was born without limbs.
I couldn't get myself to tie the knobs of a rope so I started making plans towards taking poison.
I loved my parents and siblings but then I had fears bigger than love at the moment.

  • Fear of being laughed at in school
  • Fear of not having friends to talk to and play with when in school.

But then my whole self esteem changed when I was told the story of Nick Vujicic
by my mother.
No matter where he goes he communicates one core message

that no matter your circumstance, you can overcome!

It was then I realized that ALL IS NOT LOST