what the fuck do i do with all these vegetables; vol 1 scallions

in #cooking7 years ago

A little background. I love to cook and I love to shop at farmers markets. This summer I decided to be a part of a CSA aka Community Supported Agriculture. I chose to go with a half share, which means I pay less and I pick up less (I pick up every other week). I did opt in to an egg share (so I get a dozen eggs every other week and yes it costs more $$) and a fruit share (so I get some fruit whenever I pick up my veggies --add another $5).
As for how I chose the CSA , I went with Central Brooklyn CSA for a few reasons. 1.They provide sliding scale prices based on your income (I’m a librarian at a nonprofit so I don’t make lots of $$) 2.The members with higher incomes pay a higher prices which subsidizes the members who make less money, but allows them to take part of the CSA! 3.They provide a donation service to a food pantry if you cannot pick up your share.

Aight. Let’s get to it.

What the fuck do I do with all these veggies?

So I got some scallions. I love scallions, but what do I do with them if I’m not making scrambled eggs or a recipe that calls for them?
IMG_9262.JPG

Well I decided to pickle some of them! Honestly I don’t know how I came up with the idea, but I am SO glad I did. I googled “pickled scallion recipe”, Bon Appetit came up and I trust them so I went with one of their recipes, I did make some minor changes.
http://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/pickled-scallions

Pickled Scallions (makes 1 pint)
Ingredients
1 bunch scallions (trimmed and cut in half crosswise [hamburger style])
2 teaspoons mustard seeds
1 teaspoon coriander seeds
½ teaspoon cumin seeds
1 cup white wine vinegar
½ cup sugar → I used brown sugar
1 tablespoon kosher salt

And I added
1 onion (sliced)
4 medium garlic cloves (shelled)
a garlic stalk (cut into 6 pieces I dunno if I can eat this but i thought it would be good for flavor)
1 carrot (sliced moderately thinly into coins)
--->I picked up the onion/carrot/garlic from the farmers market and they desperately needed to be used
Preparation
Pack into a 1-pint heatproof jar with all them veggies.
Toast mustard, coriander, and cumin seeds in a dry small saucepan over medium-low heat, tossing often, until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Add to jar.
Bring vinegar, sugar, and salt to a simmer in same saucepan over medium heat, stirring to dissolve sugar and salt. Pour brine over scallions and seal jar. Chill at least 1 day before using.

IMG_9263.JPG

IMG_9265.JPG

So what the fuck do I do with pickled scallions? EAT THEM. They can be part of a meat and cheese plate. I like to chop them up and put them in salads. As I’m writing this I’m thinking how delicious they would be in a sammy. Maybe a side for tacos. Or bbq. Shit I’m hungry.

Well I still have more scallions, what the fuck do I do with the rest of them?

I added them to a frittata! I don’t have a picture of because I made it before I decided to document my experience with CSA. I used other veggies from the farmers market (asparagus, cheese curds [yes this is a veggie to me], and oyster mushrooms] which I inserted into this neat recipe from Kenji Lopez-Alt (a personal favorite of mine). http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2016/07/flipped-frittata-egg-spanish-tortilla-asparagus-ham-spinach-cheese.html

Oh cool. I still have more scallions. WILL I EVER GET RID OF THESE SCALLIONS? Oh I will? Okay. Phew.

I picked up Sea Trout from the Union Square Greenmarket and decided to incorporate them here!

IMG_9270.JPG

1lb of Sea Trout (washed and then dried)
Zest of 1 lemon
Salt & Pepper (to taste)
4 scallions (you could do more)
½ tbsp of butter (chopped into small pieces)

Preheat the oven to 350F. I drizzled a small amount of olive oil on the fish and the baking dish, making sure the pan was oiled. I sprinkled the lemon zest, salt, and pepper on the fish and rubbed it in. I placed the scallions on top of the fish. Then I sprinkled the butter. Place dish into the oven at 350F and set a timer for 25 min. Voila!

IMG_9297.JPG

UPDATE
After writing this post I decided to make a chicken sammy for dinner. Ciabatta roll, avocado, lettuce (from the CSA), pickled scallions, n chicken. It was amazing.

File_006.jpeg

Sort:  

Never thought of pickling scallions! We did cucumber pickles and strawberry jam this week. Girl, I'm tired! LOL Last fall i pickled so many green tomatoes before the frost. I've given away one jar and we ate another. What do we do with the other 12 jars? !! Future emergency food... : )

ooooo!!! pickled green tomatoes. I WANT THAT!
12 jars is on the many pickles side of things. Def emergency food. But you should bring them to every bbq you attend, that would be a good topper for burgers and hot dogs. Also. could you fry them up?! Or grill them?!
Those jars would also be good gifts...I mean, I wouldn't mind receiving that as a gift...YUM

I don't even know where one stores that many jars of pickled green tomatoes!

Congratulations @ladythisandthat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!