Vitamix vs. Ninja Blender

in #cooking7 years ago

I have had a Ninja blender for years. I used it almost everyday to make Green Drink smoothies. I loved my Ninja, and there are things that I prefer with it over my Vitamix 750 Pro. But, my Ninja wore out, and I had to get a new blender. It was only then that I realized that I wasn't really getting a smoothie from my Ninja, but rather a semi-liquid drink that I could still drink like a smoothie. So having used them both, let me tell you some pros and cons to both of them.

Vitamix 750 Pro
Vitamix 750 Pro.jpg
Pros:

  • It blends anything I throw into it to a smooth and even texture.
  • The programmed settings allow me to start it and walk away (as long as I don't need to use the tamper.)
  • It cleans itself with one of the programmed settings.
  • I have been using it for a year and have not noticed any change in the sharpness of the blades or the quality of the product. - I did have an issue for which I called customer service. They told me what I was doing wrong (the issue was not using the tamper) and walked me through the best way to pack the container for my smoothies.
  • It fits on my counter slid back under my upper cabinets.

Cons:

  • It is expensive (but I think it is worth the money).
  • The pour spout is difficult to use without spilling smoothie outside of its intended glass.
  • My daughter thinks it is really loud and leaves the room when I turn it on.

Ninja Blender
Ninja Blender.jpg
Pros:

  • It is inexpensive (comparatively).
  • It has a wonderful pour spout that can be used by opening a lift tab in the lid, without the removal of the lid. I never made a mess while pouring from this blender.
  • It came with attachments and a smaller canister that could be used more like a food processor.
  • It lasted for about 5 years before it no longer could handle the raw vegetables and frozen fruits that I used in my smoothies.

Cons:

  • It did not blend items to a uniform texture and consistency. (It simply could not grind cacao nibs or smaller seeds.)
  • It only lasted about 5 years before it just didn't get the job done. (This is listed as a pro and a con, because I do feel that I got my money out of the machine, I just don't like that it wore out.)
  • It is more difficult to clean, especially the lid which always seemed to have a seed stuck in that wonderful flap for the pour spout.

At the end of the day, I love my Vitamix. The quality of the product that it makes is far superior to the Ninja. It is so easy for me to get my children to drink my smoothies every day. This compared to the chunkier Ninja smoothies which were difficult for a baby to cope with. I really hope that the Vitamix lasts a long time, because I don't want to have to pay for another one, and I don't think I would be satisfied with anything else.