Salmon dinner with vegetables

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

I try to plan out nice dinners when I have the time. I am home more often then my love is so I have the opportunity to cook nice meals. Last night was one of these occasions. Now of course I try to get a little fancy and make here nice things but as you know situation and time are factors in that.

I threw it down the the seafood route. You can't go wrong with that. At least not in North Eastern Pennsylvania.
I cooked up some salmon on the cast iron while on the side doing some peas and softened carrots. I put a glaze on the carrots when they're done. It's something a little different that went well with this dish.

cast iron salmon starting .JPG

The carrots are just baby carrots chopped up into smaller slices. Peas are you know, just typical peas. These salmon i'm using still have the skin on one side, now this is important to have for the cooking method.

I season the flesh side of the salmon with:
one teaspoon of paprika
one teaspoon of cayenne
one teaspoon of thyme
one teaspoon of oregano
one half teaspoon of pink Himalayan salt
Cover the salmon in this mixture.

Heat cast iron on medium heat until oil smokes. Turn the heat off. place salmon (flesh side down) in the cast iron turning the heat back on. Cook for 2-3 minutes. Flip the salmon over ( skin side down), continue cooking for 5- 7 minutes or until the skin is crispy.

When the carrots are soft top with butter and brown sugar.

cast iron salmon start.JPG

cast iron salmon finished.JPG