You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amish Sweet Bread

in #cooking6 years ago

I love Amish Sweet bread, I grew up in the southern tier in New York and the Amish were an integral part of the community where my grandparents were from. Their jams and pies are to die for too! Great recipe, thank you I will be making some soon.

Sort:  

That is awesome @sunscape. I just moved from the Syracuse, NY area. There was an Amish store I loved to go to in Maddison County. Troyer's was the name of it I think. We always loved to get ourselves a sweet treat anytime we visited. I have acquired a few Amish cookbooks over the years too and enjoy many of their recipes. Much of which I use during canning season too.

i live near Rochester so that was not too far from you. You sound just like me, lol Baking, canning, growing my own food, then now I've added soap making to the mix. How much fun are we having? TONS!

We do sound a lot alike. I have been making soap now for just over 2 years. In addition to the soap I also make body butters, bath bombs, salves and beard oil. What is your favorite type of soap to make. I love a good Olive oil, shea and coconut oil mix. I have never used beef tallow or lard. I have 50 pounds of beef tallow sitting in my living room waiting for me to try it though. LOL I typically stick to vegan bath and body products though.