Delicious and Beautiful Dinner Menu

in #cooking7 years ago

IMG_2185.JPG

                Squash & Potato White Pizza  with  Lentil & Chickpea Salad

First we'll start with the pizza. Here's out ingredient list.

IMG_2180.JPG

Preheat the oven to 475 degrees. Chop your butternut squash into cubes and your potato, onion, and chili peppers into very thin slices.

Roast the squash, with olive oil and some salt and pepper, until slightly browned, about 15-20 minutes . The smaller the cubes the less time cooking.

Next step, is mixing the cheeses. I'm using the Follow Your Heart brand Parmesan and Tofutti brand Ricotta (both vegan). They really taste amazing, so even if you are not vegan or are cooking for non-vegans, you should check them out and give them a try.

For one pizza I used half of each container and mixed in salt, pepper and two cloves of garlic. If you want to add more heat to your pizza you could chop another chili pepper and add it to the cheese mix as well.

I'm using a store bought pizza dough (vegan). Simply roll out, stretch, and oil the top side. place on a lightly oiled pan or a pizza stone. Now you can top with as much of the vegetables as you want. I load mine up with as much as will fit!

Then, top everything with little dollops of the cheese mixture.

IMG_2187.JPG

Bake for about 15 to 20 minutes or until the crust is golden brown and the toppings have crisped.

Now for our lentil and chickpea salad.

Ingredients:

IMG_2177.JPG

First step is to get your lentils cooking. (Or use canned if you'd like)
I'm using 2 cups of dried lentils. You do not have to soak overnight.
While they simmer, slice your red onion and place them in a bowl with the juice from one of the lemons and just a pinch of salt.
The dressing is very simple and very delicious. Just juice the other lemon and and add some olive oil. You want 1 part lemon juice to two parts oil. Then shake well.
Next, rough chop your tomato and cucumber and place them in a jar or bowl of dressing with a small handful of the capers, 2 chopped cloves of garlic, and some salt and pepper.

IMG_2190.JPG

Once your lentils are soft, add the chickpeas, just to warm through. I used a 16oz can here, but you can make the ratio however you like best.

Lastly, with a little drizzle of olive oil and some lemon rind I pan fried some slices of tofu for the top of the salad, but this is optional and the salad is amazing with or without it really.

I broke some of the lettuce and topped with the warm lentil and chickpea mix. Then, layered the dressing and vegetables including the red onions. Your final step, if you like, is to top with some parsley.

This whole dinner took me about an hour, to 1 hour 10 minutes to make. Hope you enjoy!

IMG_0014.JPG

Sort:  

I hope this is of good quality... it would be great

@veganmommy

I think they go great together. If my 5 year old will eat it I know the quality is extraordinary ;)

I like pizza. Thankyou for sharing @veganmommy.help upvote my posy.

This looks really good! I tried my first vegan pizza a few weeks back and absolutely loved it. It's pretty hard to make a vegan pizza that isn't healthy :) Love the recipe, thanks!