Cook With Us – March, Week 1 – Cauliflower Fritters @Cooknbake!

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I was checking out a few blogs from steemians who had commented on my recent posts and suddenly I came across this new exciting @cookwithus contest that was resteemed by one of the 'Cook With Us' team- @chefsteve! So thank you for that! :) (thats what I love about this platform! Dig in a bit deeper and you find/learn new fun and exciting things :))

The Cook with Us team (@chefsteve, @pandamama, and @offoodandart) have recently launched a new contest, starting on March 6th with a different theme for each of the upcoming 4 weeks. So good luck to everyone and lets enjoy!

This 1st weeks contest theme: Favorite Family Meal (can be either a starter/main course/dessert) and for this, my entry is:

CAULIFLOWER FRITTERS by @cooknbake!

20180309_122358.jpg

When I was a kid, my brothers and I weren't big fan of veggies at all, so my mom used to secretly put them in our food while disguising them into something less 'veggie looking!'. One of her ways to get us to eat cauliflower was turning them fritters:) and it worked! We've been eating them ALOT, especially on Fridays, right after school- they would be sitting there on the counter, just waiting to be eaten :)

20180309_122926.jpg


They are great for a starter or even a refreshing meal, since they are DELICIOUS with yogurt and tomato/cucumber on the side!

20180309_124918.jpg

A few years ago I went to this restaurant which served cauliflower fritters as a starter and they reminded me so much of my childhood! So I went home and tried to recapture that delicious taste in my kitchen, with a few little twists..
Since then, I've been making them for my family as well :)
Here's the recipe and step by step instructions:

Hope you enjoy!!

Recipe for Cauliflower Fritters:


Ingredients:
2 Medium Sized Cauliflower
25 grams fresh coriander leaves
50 grams softened goat cheese
1 garlic clove
2 eggs
3/4 cup flour
Salt to taste

20180309_123858.jpg

Method:

Wash and cut the cauliflower to florets.

20180309_094403.jpg

20180309_094902.jpg

Cook in a large pot with water for 20 minutes until lightly softened.

20180309_100636.jpg

Drain the cauliflower

20180309_100741.jpg

Place all ingredients in a food processor until finely blended (if batter is too runny, add a little more flour)

20180309_103558.jpg

20180309_111920.jpg

On medium heat, cover bottom of a large, non-stick, frying pan with oil to deep fry and spoon in a tablespoon of batter for each fritter.

20180309_112213.jpg

Turn and cook until both sides are lightly browned and drain on paper towel.

20180309_112609.jpg

20180309_123822.jpg

Place the fritters on a plate and serve with yogurt, chopped tomatoes and cucumber on the side and ENJOY! :)

20180309_122350.jpg

20180309_122453.jpg

20180309_124138.jpg
ENJOY!

20180309_122332.jpg

20180309_124858.jpg

Recipe for Cauliflower Fritters:


Ingredients:
2 Medium Sized Cauliflower
25 grams fresh coriander leaves
50 grams softened goat cheese
1 garlic clove
2 eggs
3/4 cup flour
Salt to taste

Method:

  • Wash and cut the cauliflower to florets.
  • Cook in a large pot with water for 20 minutes until lightly softened.
  • Drain the cauliflower
  • Place all ingredients in a food processor until finely blended (if batter is too runny, add a little more flour)
  • On medium heat, cover bottom of a large, non-stick, frying pan with oil to deep fry and spoon in a tablespoon of batter for each fritter.
  • Turn and cook until both sides are lightly browned and drain on paper towel.
  • Place the fritters on a plate and serve with yogurt, chopped tomatoes and cucumber on the side and ENJOY! :)

Pictures are original and mine, taken with my Galaxy 7 phone

I hope you enjoyed this post :)
Thanks again to the @cookwithus team! Good luck to everyone and enjoy your cooking !!!

Thank you all for your comments upvotes and support!

Much love,

@cooknbake
the alliance.png

Sort:  

Your photos make me hungry.... :)

Lol😊 glad they have that affect on you!! Cute comment @worldfinances!😄

Nice kitchen tutorial. I would try this out

Im happy to hear you liked it @meritigbinu! Please tell me how it turned out if you get a chance to try them out:))
Thanks for your comment🤗🤗

Very good recipe...One question: Is there a solution if I don't eat eggs to put something else ?

Hi @tatjanastan, thats a great question ☺however, Ive never tried them without the eggs. its usually what helps it stick together BUT Ive tried other recipes for fritters without eggs and they turned out perfect as well.
Give it a try without the eggs and see how it goes! Ill be happy to know how it went if you do! 🤗

Thanks 🤗

So delicious looking! I love fritters too! I make a similar version of these with zucchini. Super yummy and super healthy (I don't deep fry them). I'm definitely going to try with cauliflower.

Ooohh... im sure the zucchini is great! Maybe even an idea for one of your next posts 😉 !
Im not a big fan of deep frying either but once in a while....
Never tried baking them, I wonder how itll turn out... 🤔 thanks for the idea and great comment @girlinchief🤗!

Hmm they look so good. Just love cauliflower. recipe added to my bookmarks ;)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:18:29
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 44.60/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Your fritters look so delicious and you have made the plate look so appetising - well done @cooknbake

Wow this is awesome, great one dear.

Thank you @olamatto for your lovely comment! Glad you liked!🤗

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 10.84% Upvote

Transfer 0.200 SBD or 0.250 steem to @mrbean1 and put the link of your post in the public memo I GIVE you FOLLOW AND 5 GOOD UPVOT and resteem by @mrbean1

click here to read more  about me
 

A beautifully presented post with a delicious looking recipe @cooknbake I think the goats cheese would make all the diference to the flavour of the fritters and I love the yoghurt dip, cucumber and tomatoes to complete the dish which can be a meal on its own. Sharing with pleasure .

Awww thank you for your great comment and support as always @trudeehunter! Goat cheeze gives it a nice little twist to its taste!
I usually dont like eating goat cheeze but here the taste blends in perfectly!
I really appreciate the share! ❤ thank you

Wonderful recipe! Nice and easy!
Thank you!

Thanks for the lovely comment and support @kaminchan!! Glad u liked!

wow looks amazing!

Thank you @minerva23! I appreciate ur comment🤗

These look really good!

Glad you liked them @nat-expressions! Thank you for your comment!🤗

Hi @cooknbake! And welcome to @cookwithus! We are excited to have you here with us. Your entry is so amazing. I love the story about how you were "tricked" into eating veggies! That seems to be a theme with a few of the other contestants too. They told of how they hide veggies in their meals for their kids. Your photos, taken on your Galaxy 7 phone, are great. I like the close up shot with the sauce on the fritter. I can almost taste it! Also, the photos show the method so well. That is really helpful for people that never made something like this before. Thank you for entering this week and we hope to see you again soon! The contest ends every week on Monday and we will announce the winners within a couple of days.

Hi @chefsteve! I was really excited to come across your team and contest here on steemit! :) great initiative 💪😊
Im glad you enjoyed this post :) I guess thats a 'mom thing' - to hide veggies in food. Ive started to do that to my kids as well ! 😄
thank you for your great comment! Already thinking of my next entry😉

OMG, is this lovely 😀

😊 glad you liked @afifa! Thanks for stopping by! 🤗

This was so well explained with so much detail I am prepared to attempt it my self hahah hope it turns out as beautiful as the photo. :) Thank you for sharing.

Aww thank you so much for your appreciation!
I hope you try them out and if you do ill be very happy to know how they turned out @debart!🤗💪

Yummm, sounds delicious! I love cauliflower and don't mind them cooked any way. This sounds extra delicious though - I also love fried food! Lol... Thanks for sharing your recipe!!

Hi @ackhoo, glad you liked it! Lol! I love fried food too😄 but i try to cook it only once in a while😉

Thank you so much for your entry!

These cauliflower fritters looks absolutely delicious @cooknbake. I can imagine how good the goat cheese and coriander help liven up the dish while the cauliflower gives the fritters a nice and light body. I can't wait to get a chance to do a #myturn on this.

I can see why this is a family favorite recipe and am sure the fritters went quickly.

If you're interested in learning more about #myturn, please check out the following posts:

https://steemit.com/cookwithus/@offoodandart/myturn-on-leelektrik-s-lettuce-and-courgette-soup

https://steemit.com/myturn/@offoodandart/myturn-on-michellectv-s-vodka-buck-cocktail

Looking forward to seeing your future entries!

Hi @offoodand art! Thanks for your great comment:) yes, i dont usually eat goat cheese but here it really blends in well and gives it a nice rich flavor :) and you guessed right, it gets devoured litterally in minutes 😄
I never heard about #myturn, will check it out🖒🖒 thank you!

That looks and sounds delicious. I love cauliflower, but have never even thiught of preparing them like this. I’m definitely saving this to try out later.
I’m one of those people who think coriander smells and tastes like soap, but I can imagine there are lots of other herbs I can use to prepare this. I’m going to give it a try real soon! :0)

Haha! 😄 im not a big fan of coriander but the flavor blends here great!
If you want you could substitute it with parsley👍👍 If you try it out id love to hear how it went!! Thanks for your comment @simplymike!🤗

I’ll be sure to let you know ;0)

Parsley would be a great substitute. My german Nana used to make us great potato pancakes which were similiar to these - grated potato, squeezed dry, a bit of flour, eggs and TONS OF PARSLEY - I mean, she put HEAPS of parsley in there, bless her. To this day, whenever I think of her (she's passed now, a long time ago) it's usually when I'm eating parsley. She used to have FORESTS of the stuff growing in her garden. Plus, the german word for potato cake is kartoffelpuffer, which is the best word ever. Right, I'm definately heading to the kitchen now...

My partner loves cauliflower sooooo much. This looks right up her alley. I'll have to make them for her some time. Thanks for sharing!

Then im sure your partner will love these! 😁 glad you liked and hope you get a chance to try it out @veckinon ! 🤗

Looks delicious. have you ever made a base for pizza out of cauliflower? It's amazing! I'll get around to posting it as soon as i figure out this steem it caper...

I heard about the cauliflower pizza base! I never got a chance to try it out though... That could definately be a great post for you to write! Im looking forward to it and trying it out🤗
And welcome to steemit dear @riverflows:)
If you have any quest. Ill be happy to help out
👍👍

Thanks so much!!! Mainly, I'm trying to find like minded people and quality posts first, which I'm finding pretty tricky. I'm off to get some cauliflower - I think I'll cook it next week if I have time!! After I cook your fritters ;) - goats cheese and coriander! Yum.

@cooknbake - Your Cauliflower Fritters look really great and your recipe is so easy to cook with less ingredients. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @andyjim for your sweet comment🤗Im glad you liked it!!

I so wanna dig in they look so good ! I will have to try it with my daughter Victoria... she is 8 and defo no veggiefan ... might even try on my 73 yo dad who is a slight bit worse at the veggie department than my daughter

Haha!!😄 I hope you get a chance to try it! I really hope they love it, as it doesnt have that veggie taste or texture :) thats how I slowly sneaked it in for my kids😉 good luck @globaldoodlegems (loved the name u chose:)) Id b happy to hear how it turned out if you get a chance to try them!
Thanks for the great comment💪🤗