cook with us #12- Rib Sunday

in #cookwithus6 years ago

rib10.jpg

rib9.jpg


Hi Everybody!

I'm cutting it a little fine, but hopefully my entry is in time for this week's cookwithus theme: Things on the fire, or mystery sauce theme.
Naturally, I had to do both!

First things first: Huge thanks to @pandamama, @offoodandart and @chefsteve from the @cookwithus team for hosting this most prestigious weekly event. If you haven't entered yet, head on down and meet all the lovely humans sharing food knowledge from all over the place. It's a good time. Go try it!

Now a bit about this challenge:
We have a little tradition at my place. Once or twice a month, we get a bunch of friends together, play several hours of scrabble or 30 seconds, and feast on ribs.
Add in a couple of cocktails and the regular get together earns a nickname: RibSunday. (This doesn't not have to happen on a Sunday, it turns out).
Unfortunately, the weather's been iffy for the last couple of weeks, and most of us have come down with a cough, so Rib Sunday this weekend ended up being just my other half, Matt, and I.
By some miracle, the rain cleared and we could spend a little time in the sun.

Before I share the recipes, I'd like to give you a little tidbit about South African culture.
The local version of a BBQ, known here as a 'Braai' is as much a ritual as it is a method of cooking.
For generations, women have marinaded the meats, prepared the salads and mixed the drinks. She will then carry the prepared meat out to the man of the house (A.K.A Braaimaster) and he would put it on the fire and flip it until cooked, and take all the credit for the entire meal.

It seems unfair, but it is the South African way.

So, while I made everything, the credit for the meal goes to the Braaimaster this time round.

Here's how he (I) did it.


braaiman.jpg

Braaimaster Matt hard at work


Ribs with Sticky Pineapple, Ginger and Chilli Glaze:

Basically, about 6 months ago I finally figured out the technique that works for me in achieving tender, juicy, fall-off-the-bone ribs, and our little monthly get-together has revolved around the ribs ever since.
While I changed things up with a new sauce, this time round was no exception, and I'm so excited to share this glaze with you, it was delicious!



rib2.jpg

rib6.jpg

rib4.jpg


The Ribs: (Serves 6)

  • 1.5 kgs pork ribs
  • 3 Tbsp sliced Ginger
  • 1/2 Large Ripe Pineapple, chopped
  • 1/2 Cup of Thick Soy Sauce
  • 4 Thai Green Chilis, sliced
  • 1 Tsp Dried Red Chili Flakes
  • 1 Cup White Spirit Vinegar
  • 1 Chicken stock cube
  • 1 Green Apple, Chopped
    *1/4 Cup Honey or Golden Syrup
  • 1 Tbsp Smoked Paprika
  • 1 White Onion, finely diced
  • 1 Tbsp Dried Garlic Flakes
  • Salt, pepper and a little extra vinegar to taste.

Method:

  1. Place Ribs in a large bowl and add all the glaze ingredients except the stock cube. Rub all over to ensure it's covered evenly in the sauce and refrigerate for at least an hour, or ideally overnight.
  2. Pour ribs and all the sauce into a large pot, add stock cube and enough water to completely cover ribs.
  3. Bring to a rolling boil before reducing heat to a simmer. Put a lid on it and let it stew slowly without stirring it for 1 hour.
  4. Turn off heat and resist opening the lid. Leave it for at least an hour to cool completely in the cooking liquor, this can be done a day in advance and left in the liquid, in the fridge until ready to braai. (Removing the meat from the liquid now will result in a dry rib. Do not do it!)
  5. (While ribs are cooling, get your fire started and prep your roosterbrood and veggies.)
  6. Once cool, remove ribs and set aside covered with foil. Bring cooking liquid to a rolling boil and reduce until thick and syrupy-once thickened, season with salt, pepper and a splash of vinegar to revive a little acidity.
  7. Place ribs on the grill and turn once beginning to brown. Baste with the sticky glaze and continue turning until no more glaze remains, and the ribs are sticky, glossy and speckled with lovely char marks.
  8. Remove from braai and place under foil to rest for 5 minutes before carving.

To Serve, I just cut a cauliflower into steaks and sliced some thick ribbons of zucchini and threw them on the braai 5 minutes before the ribs were done.


rooster.jpg


Roosterbrood (Griddle Bread)

A South African staple, these are balls of dough flattened and cooked over an open flame, resulting in beautiful bar marks and the signature smokey aroma of the braai.

As always, I've used my recipe for The Dough from my first-ever blog for these little buns. It never fails me.
Just whip up the ingredients, knead for a moment and roll them out. No need for proofing! Depending on thickness (I use my pinky finger to measure) they cook 4 minutes a side and result in lovely, fluffy buns.


DSC00106.JPG
DSC00096.JPG


A couple of quick snaps (including one of the garden, with the drought in Cape Town, we haven't seen so much green in months!) before the food got cold, and we tucked into the spoils. Soooo Good!


rib11.jpg

braaiman2.jpg

rib13.jpg

munchies.jpg

Sort:  

Wow those ribs look amazing. How about sending some our way? Your friends must be really lucky to enjoy such amazing food. Good luck for this week. And as usual your pics looks so appealing. A big hi to Matt for his cameo appearance.

Not sure how they'll hold up in the mail, but I can post you some marinade (if it makes it through security) If you're even in RSA give me a shout and we'll do a rib sunday! (if you bring cake. I've been drooling over your cakes!)

Oh wow @whattheduck, everything looks so yummy, from the ribs to your Matt, but please don't tell him an old duck has been eyeing him out; sure the younger duck is much more tender ;);)
Sorry I just could not resist, another awesome post!
BTW I discovered another excellent tag #slothicorn - mainly for art but they also upvote food posts that catches their fancy - check out the account @slothicorn, think it was started by the great @stellabelle.

Gah I just had such a laugh! Matt is too handsome, so I don't blame you! haha. Thanks so much for the tag suggestion, will definitely have a look!

Hahaha, lucky duck ;)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-28T08:54:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 91.00/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

It's good to learn a little about how they do things in other countries I like cooking so I like to learn and it's funny how pineapple and meat go hand in hand, that looks very good in the contest

First of all thanks you for the short lesson about braai. Secondly, wow!! That's all the meat I am craving now!! I wanna lick the screen!! It's nice to see your entry once more... Was looking forward since CWU 10!!

Thanks so much @alansthoughts! Excited to see what wizardry you've performed for this challenge!

I can't believe even you are calling me that haha

haha maybe it's time your profile picture features a symbol just off center above your glasses. Perhaps not a lightning bolt, maybe a flame or a fork? Happy Pot(ter) The Houdini of Halloumi? Gandalf the Grey(t) cook? I think the wizard title is fitting! Glad I'm not the only one who sees it!

That is one awesome shot of the ribs. I want to invite myself over for a plate of those ribs, grilled veggies and roosterbrood. Just the description of the pineapple, ginger chili glaze is making me want to lick my fingers as if I were eating the ribs right now. Nice work @whattheduck.

Should you ever find yourself in South Africa, let me know and I'll fire up the braai! Thanks so much for your lovely comments!

Wow! what a meal! Where to begin... Well I love scrabble but my wife refuses to play with me anymore! She says I'm too competitive and it's not fun! Haha. It is a game right?

I think your bbq culture is the same as here in the States! Men drinking beer and poking at the fire! But I think we all know who is responsible for the meal.

Your sticky glaze looks insanely good! No wonder your RibSunday is such a hit! Your grilled veggies and griddle bread make this a perfect meal!

Your photos really bring this meal to life too. Please tell Matt that he did an incredible job making this meal! Haha!! Just kidding. I really like your dish, thanks for sharing it and good luck this week.

Thankfully Matt is as competitive as I am, and so are most of our friends. An outsider would think we can't stand each other the way most of our games go (I won't discuss Risk however, no one will play Risk with me anymore, apparently that's where the line is drawn!)
Let me know if you're on Words with Friends, I'll introduce you to a gaggle of relentless players!

Thanks again for hosting and always offering constructive feedback! I'll be sure to let Matt know the internet thinks he did a great job!

Sounds good - I'm a scrabble fan - haven't played for ages

Awesome! Let me know if you're on words with friends, I'll look you up!

Lovely post @whattheduck - and you describe SA and the culture so well. Your meal looks outstanding - and definitely going to try your home made buns next time I braai

Thanks @pandamama! I think you'll love the roosterbrood! They're lovely filled with salted butter, apricot jam and a little black pepper with pork or chicken, or garlic butter with beef or lamb. When camping we often use the same dough, wrap it thinly around a long stick and cook it slowly over the flame. Then pull it off and fill it with condensed milk- childhood treats deluxe!

Sorry for the late reply @whattheduck - couldn't resist still replying - oh my - hot bread with condensed milk - couldn't get better and I also love apricot jam

better late than never! They're soo good. With any luck we'll have good weather this weekend. Must teach my soutie boyfriend about bread on a stick! :P

What a relief to see your other half, Matt, eating in the last photo. Whew! After all the work he did, yes, you should feed him. Otherwise ... poor Matt! Haha!

Seriously though, those ribs look so tasty. Thanks for all the tips. Will have to try making it this summer, following your instructions on what to do and what not to. Thanks also for the dough recipe. It's another one to try.

Great photos as usual! So, so glad you're back!

Thanks so much! haha He's very well fed in this house- someone has to eat all the things I make for the blog!

The technique hasn't failed me yet- definitely recommend it!

So glad to be back!

@gaman you're on the @abusereports naughty list!

Bad Steemian! Bad!