California Shelter-In-Place Update - The Days Are Running into Each Other -

in #corona4 years ago

For the most part things are great

My house is cleaner than its been since my mom was babysitting for my current youngest.

All my laundry is done, even the blankets and the towels. All my counters are clear to be disinfected often. I've decluttered...

detergent-4073138_1920.jpg
Bild von mohamed Hassan auf Pixabay

My kids color and read and play. They also watch a lot of tv and play on their electronics but since they color and read and play, I feel ok with it.

We have plenty of food and supplies.

Things are lasting longer than I thought they would, funny what happens when you don't have an unlimited supply. All of a sudden using cloth napkins and rags over paper towels is a great idea.

I am learning how to cook just enough, and eat all my leftovers.

I am also learning how to make produce last longer. Asparagus in water covered with a plastic bag. Carrots in a jar filled with water. Lettuce dried and wrapped in a paper towel. Tomatoes on the counter. Potatoes in a dark place...

I am thankful that I get to rest and reset, while I am in my late pregnancy. If this situation was not going on, I would feel behind - at least in the cleaning.

Vacuuming and mopping and sweeping every day makes it feel less necessary to get new carpets. The windows will have to wait for a while, as I will not be self isolating only to bring a germ filled window replacement person to my home...

But the days are starting to run into each other.

I have been eating breakfast after 12pm everyday. That's what happens when you are up until the wee hours, and then sleep until very, very late. Up at 2pm, bedtime at 5am. Its kinda weird.

We are allowed and even encouraged to go outside and walk

But we really haven't. Although I do make the kids stretch some and the decluttering of my home leaves it so they can run around just a little and play ball. Not the teenager, she's too big...

My paperwork is caught up, except for my taxes

I don't know why I keep avoiding them, but I do...

In a way, I feel I manifested this

Not the virus of course, but the hibernation.

When I was a kid, we would have almost three months off in the summer.

My parents worked all day, so they encouraged us to stay up late, like really late, so that we would be sleeping most of the day while they were gone.

We weren't allowed outside if they weren't home and once they were home they were too tired to take us anywhere. It was much like it is now.

And I kind of loved it.

When else do you get time to do anything you want as long as it is at home.

crayons-1445053_1920.jpg
Bild von Aline Ponce auf Pixabay

I've been coloring.

I've been reading

Writing.

Making master plans.

Playing on my phone.

Meditating

Stretching

Purposely keeping myself in a bubble

Texting.

Letting the kids play with all my craft supplies, nice papers, scissors, glue etc. If we don't use it to create now, then when will be?

I even had my son organize my closet in return for letting him play MORE minecraft.

Ahhh, nice closets...

Sure, I could be more productive, but...

I am at the tip end of a pregnancy, caring for three kids during a shelter in place.

If I can find a way to make it relaxing, well, that's exactly, what I have been doing.

Thank you for taking the time to read.

How is staying home working for you?

Sort:  

I work from home now going on 4 years so I'm pretty used to it, sadly I've been preparing for a moment like this for the longest time lol now cabin fever issues for me

It seems that it felt "bad" when the order was passed. Now I am back to it feeling good.

Really, I don't mind staying home all day, what I do mind is being able to take the kids out for a walk or a picnic or a movie.

They need the social interaction, I don't.

But, hey, what a better way to build sibling memories?

We are down in Los Angeles (San Pedro) and also on lockdown. Luckily we managed to do a Costco run before all the madness. Even over a month ago they were already out of TP, but we always keep the cabinet stocked up because we hate shopping.

It's a bit stressful because just like you, my wife is pregnant. She is about 23 weeks along so it is kind of nuts. We are in weird times and I hope we come out the other side of this soon.

Hey from San Diego :)

Chula Vista, right next to the border.

Good luck to you and your wife, let's do our best to stay safe, high fevers can really hurt our babies, but, from the limited information "they" have about corona and babies, it seems like the babies are fine, and mother's who have had corona have antibodies in their milk - maybe I should catch it purposely after I give birth and sell my milk!

(I am 100% kidding, but thoughts like that do briefly run through my head).

I stocked up early too, thanks to blockchain bloggers there. I saw how people were being asked to stay home and I saw the supplies they were running out of and just knew it would come here next. My family laughed at me a little, but I haven't had to stand in line at any grocery stores, like they have.

Also, they have special shopping hours at some places for those at "high risk," pregnant women are part of that high risk crowd, so that's an option, but I have everything I need so I am not rushing to go anywhere...

Thanks for stopping by :)