Sort:  

"I support the use of masks in public places"

EVERYBODY supports the voluntary use of masks in public places, though. People have been voluntarily wearing masks in public for decades here in Vancouver. The Chinese here are known to wear masks to the corner store and back. Nobody tells them they can't wear masks in public for health reasons.

What I'm talking about here is forced masking - the opposite of voluntary.

And yet, here in Murika, people get cussed out for wearing a mask in a public place...

People should be more tolerant of others right to do as they please. It's not directly harming anyone else if you want to wear a mask (as long as you don't pass out while driving or something). In Vancouver, the Chinese population has been wearing masks for decades, on and off. I think they do it more during winter flu season, but I never really paid much attention.

If masks work, why do you think EVERYBODY needs to wear them? If they work, won't yours protect you, even if other people aren't wearing one?

Heheh, and now the mainstream media says that face SHIELDS are interchangeable with face MASKS. One is as good as the other, they say. Wear whatever suits you!

Is this reality? Let me off this ridiculous ride!!

Yes, my mask will protect me. But what about all the other people who could get it because they are unwilling to wear a mask? People die from that...
In a free country like the U.S., I guess it is an individual's choice to make if they want to expose themselves to a virus such as covid-19...sometimes freedom brings needless death.