Duck duck goose!

in #coronavirus4 years ago

duck.jpg

Just got a delivery of five ducks and two geese from a local rancher. These are pasture raised in a rotational grazing system in combination with cattle. This combination is highly efficient, resulting in high output of meat per acre with very high food quality. It is far preferable to factory farmed meats, which produce an inferior product from both a taste standpoint as well as the fat composition. Not to mention the lack of hormone residues, lack of routine antibiotic use etc.

(For those who are curious, I have dropped the idea of raising my own poultry, as I have found a source for them that raises them the way that I want)

Now, I must learn how to cook these birds. I'm planning to roast one duck whole and make a low carb Peking duck with it. Others I plan to cut up and make various dishes.

I have basically entirely stopped eating out. It has required me to learn a lot about cooking, but I have never felt better, weighed less or had such a long period of uninterrupted excellent diet. When you can control everything that goes in your food, it is really great.