You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I need to say something about COVID-19 in Australia

in #covid194 years ago

My photographic business endeavours were a complete write-off this year - and the investments I made in that equipment will likely not see a ROI for many more years to come. I'm not blaming the virus, I'm a shit marketer, but the virus has definitely seen a downturn in that industry.

My day job... that's never been busier.

I think we should go one step further money wise - I'm a big fan of UBI, but from the point of nutrition - because "ration packs" that are developed for a specific dietary or cultural requirement would be far more valuable than money. Throw in some sort of guaranteed accommodation of reasonable quality for people, and then we all focus on what we care about, and what we're passionate about, instead of doing (in the vast majority of cases) - things we hate, so we can do the things we love.

I don't talk about politics much, but my "ration packs" idea is a bit more than war-time rations :P

Sort:  

Ah, I'm in the other boat... Day job is a wipe for the moment... But the side jobs have gotten better. So, surviving... But it stings!

UBI would be a great thing. Subsistence support should be something that you don't need to 'run to stay still' for. If people want more, then jobs are possible... But endless consumption feeding endless growth is a touch like a Ponzi.

People would be free to pursue their interests and desires, and that would have more possible innovative effects than labouring at a job that has little meaningful contribution to society that doesn't engage the person.

We'll all continue to get-by so long as we keep breathing. :)