You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I need to say something about COVID-19 in Australia

in #covid194 years ago (edited)

Sorry I missed this when it came out. I'm not good at notifications. A week later and ALL of Vic has to wear masks, and we aren't allowed visitors in our homes. Still fine to go to cafes etc if you wear masks. I can barely breath with them on - lucky you don't have to wear them with 'strenuous' activity ie walking on beach - I had to leave Bunnings yesterday (the horror) because I couldn't breath.

That hotel quarantine drama was a debacle. The overseas cap on numbers coming in is a debacle. Yep, it will only take a small outbreak in SA for it to happen there. So, what to do? I'm more libertarian. COVID will be with us for a while - keep locking us up, and the knock on effects will be bigger than ever. Learn to live with it, and it'll fizzle out eventually. Get some better systems in place - i.e care homes, where most of numbers are, shouldn't have people working in different jobs (cross contamination). No one's REALLY going to listen to Dan now. We're all burnt out. People have to work - 300 bucks waiting for a test isn't going to feed your family if you're low income working three jobs in Melbourne Town. You can't blame people for that.

I don't know what the solution is, I just know I'm slammed if I suggest we let this play out. If you're immune compromised, it's you that should be staying at home imho. Life is a risk - whilst I'm not dumb enough to rub shoulders with everyone at a footy match, have house parties or tongue kiss strangers, and I'm happy enough to wear a mask in the supermarket, I do need to be trusted to 'do the right thing' according to the moral policing of the Australian people right now. And I think we've erred on the side of blind fear, seeing COVID as the only risk. Why don't we care about deaths from alchohol and fags - we still allow them. We still allow people to drive cars and over 1000 people died in them last year. Let alone climate change - remember that? Yeah yeah I know if we don't take precautions we might have more die, but I think it's time to consider this virus might just be with us for a long time anyway, and if not, another one, so whatever we do isn't working - maybe we need to see it differently.

Sorry, it's @riverflows --- forgot to log out of NM.