Winter is Coming, Knit Faster

in #craft7 years ago

knit1.jpg

This is where you'll most likely find me until the new spring arrives. I can spend hours and hours like this, knitting, watching Netflix or listening to an audiobook, and a cup (read: several liters) of tea by my side. I'm completely at peace when I'm knitting something, my favorite being wool socks. You can never have too many of those when living in Finland.

knit2.jpg

I will do this until my fingers bleed, quite literally. A dent forms in the nail of my left thumb, where it rest against the needle and pushes up the next stitch. Slowly the same needle punctures a hole in my right index finger, after thousands of times pushing it down. The wool yarn runs over my left index finger, and soon cuts through several layers of skin. Yet I enjoy knitting more than anything else.

knit3.jpg

Have a great Sunday!

Sort:  

You need to find yourself a SteemHusband👱 @eveuncovered! Can you make some socks for me, I'll be yours forever❤️

I always alternate between knitting and crochet, with the first my fingers start to bleed and the second my knuckles ache after some time xD

Haha that is a great tactic! :D

How'd you get started?

My mother and grandmother taught me when I was little :)

The first rule of knitclub is... the family has one of them old machines you use a handle. its the old metal white & pink model. all i remember ;)

That's a great skill - not something I can do. I think it's really cool you can make your own socks. Very colorful too. :-)

Thank you :) I'm really an old school grandma at heart.

Appreciate the humor in your title!

No humor there, all true ;) Also, getting hyped up for the last episode of the season for GOT!

Knitting... it's such a Scandinavian and northern European thing! I'm sure it's quite meditative, too... you just get into a "place" and time and life around you more or less ceases to exist. That's also how I feel when I paint tiny intricate patterns on beach stones (my hobby/creative outlet).

It is! I try to make sure to keep the craft alive and bring it to the this century.

Knitting is definitely me what yoga is to many other people.

I can imagine this being so relaxing!!! My mum was amazing at it but I could never pick up the skill I guess I could give it a try again ;)

You definitely should. Make sure to store some patience for when you start ;)

Lol, the "Winter is coming" title made think this post was going to be about Game of Thrones... :-)
Nevertheless, happy knitting!

Sorry to trick you ;)

No worries, you got me reading about knitting! That is quite the accomplishment, I can tell you!

would like to See the knitted steem pully, and Nice steem socks 👌

When you reach your elderly years, what chance is there that you'll be the grandma on the front porch knitting and yelling for little kids to stay out of the highway? lol

Yes, I hope so, though my porch will be no where near the highway!

Looks like you're very skilled! That must take a lot of patience.

Like with learning any new skill, it does require quite a lot of patience at first, but I've been doing this for 10+ years now so it's not hard for me anymore. Though I'm always teaching myself new techniques, so I never get bored.

Very cool! You should knit a pair of STEEM socks ;)

Let's not tell anyone but that might be in the works already ;)

Sweeet! I'll try my best to keep my mouth shut!
If you get bored or go on any super long Netflix binges feel free to make an extra pair.. I've a got chilly toes and some SBD laying around ;)

You made me laugh with this title. I guess winters are damn harsh in Finland.

I wish they were, but lately they've been pretty mild :(

You mean the temperatures were above freezing point?

Knitting is cool and good for life.

@crosheille has made an initiative here on Steemit to spread needlework art and get it displayed. Sewing, knitting and crocheting seems to have become a lost art, that is until Steemit. There are quite a few crafters that still love these arts. A group of us share our needlework creations every Monday using the tag #NeedleworkMonday. We share ideas, tips, patterns and techniques while encouraging and inspiring one another. Any art involving a needle is welcome! You can post new projects that you are working on or archived projects that you have pictures of. We would love for you to join us on Mondays and post under the tag so everyone can find your work. It has gotten pretty popular these past few months and more crafters are starting to share. We hope you check it out :) Thanks for your time~

hello im korean knitter i like ur post

I love your title. I, too, love to knit socks. It is hard to work on other projects when I find another sock pattern I love. Knitters rock!