Sort:  

Your opinion has been duly noted and dismissed. This is a competitive market place my friend. That said if I were an average writer, or the typical knucklehead that you find here on STEEMIT then I would perhaps agree with you in that promoting oneself when they have nothing to offer is asinine. That being as it would only draw attention to their lack of insight, ability and creative content. On the other side of the equation I put significant effort in to creating engaging posts, comments etc. and Yes I choose to draw attention to it for the sake of getting a click through, follow and interaction on the page. A strategy that is apparently working quite well in terms of make the account profitable. If the GIF bothers you then avert your eyes, look at something else or find something else to bitch about, or create content build a following. To each their own..

Great way to welcome someone new to Steemit! Forgive me for wanting to read good comments and not look at shitty gifs like a used car salesman yelling in my face. If Steemit is "a competitive market place" and not a tool to curate good content without shoving ads in my face then I will excuse myself from this "Community".

It was nice having you.. What you need to understand is that while steemit is a community, it likewise carries a financial incentive to succeed. Unfortunately with plethora of bullshit articles, that amount to nothing more than pages full of conglomerations of links that lazy dickheads sourced from google news in the hopes of getting an upvote. Those of us that do write excellent content need to be aggressive to a degree to get our name out there. Also not my job to welcome you when you come in the door bitching, if you need a hug.. go to your safe space and call some one whom cares to come give you one. If this is adios, then take care..