Dedicated CCC Curator

I wanted to test different techniques for filling out large areas with prismacolor; so I dashed out an image of a person curating images shown on a lopsided monitor (I wanted the monitor to be lopsided.)

This account @vagabondspirit has been working as a dedicated CCC curator. It took a lot of work but I built the account up to 30,000 CCC. The account is now position 66 in the CCC richlist. I also have a pile of POB, VYB and WAIV.

Unfortunately, the price of CCC collapsed. The HIVE tokens page says CCC is worth $0.00061. My 30,000 CCC is worth only $18. I probably wouldn't get $15 if I tried to sell.

Anyway curation is the primary use case for the tribal coins. IMHO, the best way to handle curation is with dedicated accounts; so while the CCC coin isn't worth much it provides an interesting study in the workings of tribal coins.

The CreativeCoin.live interface says my upvote is worth about 6 CCC. I need to run reports to see what I actually receive.

I get 10 upvotes a day. So, the account could deliver 60 CCC a day. 60 * 365 = 21,900. That is an incredibly high interest rate. This might be why the price is low.

According the the SCOT configuration page page, 60% of the upvote goes to the author and 40% to the curator. Over a year, the curation account should give out about 13,000 CCC to the authors and 8,760 to the curator. I will run additional reports to see what really happens.

What I am Curating

I understand that the #creativecoin was created to reward creative content such as music and orginal art. It appears to have devolved into a general use tag.

Well, I like the idea of rewarding creative content. What I've been doing is upvoting posts that appear to contain original art.

The CreativeCoin site has been getting upwards to twenty posts a day that appear to contain original art.

The way I curate is to pull up the last 24 hours worth of post. I load every post that appears to have original art.

For the last several weeks there has been about 20 pages that contain what appears to be original drawings. This brings up a big question. Show I upvote all of the posts or upvote just 10 posts.

I happen to have 90 HP. The minimum HP curation reward is 0.001. If I upvote 50%; I would lose my precious 0.001 HP curation reward; So decided to simply drop 10 upvotes a day.

What I Look For

A few things that I take into consideration in curation includes the origins of the art work, the nature and purpose of the art.

Fan art is interesting, but is problematic from a copyright standpoint. For example, all of the images from Star Wars and the Simpsons are copyrighted. A person might do a great job tracing an coloring in a scene from a movie. But if the original picture was copyrighted, then the traced picture is a copyright violation.

This means I favor original drawings to fan art.

Several people draw pictures for contests or as NFTs. I figure that the contest or NFT market will provide rewards for those works.

I know that drawing is difficult and often goes unrewarded. I often end up skipping the works of artists will large established audience in favor of accounts with few upvotes.

There is enough dark material in the news that I tend to favor positive and naturalist images over dark images.

Conclusion

Since curation is the primary use case of alt-coins, I figure that I would use this account as a dedicated curator. I might create some tools to aid in curation. Please give your thoughts on the best way to curate original art works on CCC and HIVe.

BTW, the account is also building up a store of #POB and #VYB as I find that ProofOfBrain enhances CCC.

Building 30,000 CCC was a huge effort. It is disappointing that my treasure trove is worth only $18. I hope to have 50K coins when inktober comes around.

PS: I tried publishing with creativecoin.live, but the site would not let me publish; so I used peakd.com.

Sort:  

Congratulations @vagabondspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!