You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Beautiful Disasters as an A^^hole Gardener

in #creativegarden10 months ago

I find it funny that someone with the last name Wood writes about plants.

Am I crazy? I feel so sad when I pull weeds, No, I do not replant them but wonder if they can feel it when being pulled. I feel as if everything is here for a reason and just because we do not understand what it is does not mean it is useless.

Am I getting too old and overthinking things?

I can not recall the documentary but I saw it on trees in a faraway land, some sort of animal will start eating the leaves and when they do this to one tree the others start producing a bad-tasting stuff in their leaves that the animals do not like to eat. I know this does not give details but I hope you can get what I am saying. The trees knew when one was being devoured and said, OH NO, you will not eat me. (those were my words).

Sort:  

YES, your world view (tree view) makes sense!
We impose order onto "chaos" (weeds) - or we impose disorder - depending on who's looking.
I love love love the studies on how trees communicate and conspire to help each other.
Matt Wood (don't get me started on funny names; Dear Abby listed a lot of unlikely names matching occupations, such as Mr. Coffin, the undertaker).
Considering how many non-native "weeds" have choked out my native pollinator plants, I feel no pain on pulling the weeds, aside from the usual pains of arthritis (and chigger bites, and poison ivy lurking unseen).
Long live the trees! (Just saw a documentary on the old sequoias being decimated for lumber)....