You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Beautiful Disasters as an A^^hole Gardener

in #creativegarden10 months ago

Classic Carol Kean! Cleverly framing one of the two prompts with the other. Nice!

Your entire garden is spectacularly beautiful. Your dogs are lookers, and your son - I can hear the music from here.

Very funny poem! Probably would be cancelled by cancel culture, but funny to those of us who won't budge on that crap.

We gardeners toil, ruthlessly, for the greater good all the time.

gardeners toil -
killing night and day -
for the greater good

I've been talking haiku with @dbooster and @boxcarblue so these things keep popping out

If you want Kelly to be in your rose hedge, then Kelly is in your rose hedge. Niko is in murders of crows, or lone hawks flying low overhead.

This is a very positive post, despite all the mayhem!

Sort:  

Awwww, thank you for reading, and for your kind comments.
You see this as a positive post....! Bless you!!

Lone hawks,
murders of crows.
Why not, Niko?

Why not Niko visiting you via the feathered friends?

Butterflies hover and feathers appear
Whenever lost loved ones and angels are near

You commented two years ago:

image.png

My mom, the Bible-believing Fundamentalist, doesn't see "signs" from lost loved ones.
Honestly, I wonder if she really believes, deep down, At ALL, what she tried to instill in us - hope of heaven, faith in God and justice, and a reward for all our suffering, in some next life.

But I see flocks of goldfinches (yellow = Kelly, just as purple = Julie), and I feel a flicker of hope.
Or a goldfinch of hope.
Hope of what...?
That death is not the end?
That our loved ones do live on, not just as some newly recycled part of the Greater Good, but with some sentience and self and identity and remainders (had to get a math term in) of who and what they were in this life?

Sorry. Clearly, even after all this time, I'm not done mourning, and not ready to write again.
THANK YOU for reading and commenting, my dear friend!

Why should you ever be done mourning? Does that mean to never feel sadness or grief again? Your mother's not seeing signs probably helps her to never feel grief. When I see those signs, I am bereft all over again. Today, the anniversary, he came and I spoke to him when I sliced a lovely, locally grown no-nitrates cured ham. Finding ham that Niko liked, and that I thought worthy of consumption, proved impossible. It was nice when he stopped eating pork so I didn't have to keep buying all those hams to try. He wouldn't have liked today's either, but I do.

You hunted for a comment by me from two years ago? You must have some search tool I don't know about.

No search tool.
Just went to my own Hive posts, searched for the Butterflies and Feathers, then found the comment.
My brain ought to be a file cabinet full of folders, easy to access, with memorable quotes.
Nope. Chaos reigns.
But I kinda/sorta remembered your response to my post on signs.
And I love your insight - for my mom, the signs might be MORE PAIN than consolation!
I had not thought of that!
She keeps these things away with a ten-foot pole in one hand, the other hand gripping her Bible...
So it seems...
You have found nitrate-free ham? Here, it's cost prohibitive. I'd raise my own pigs, but I could never kill my own. I like pigs too much. I'd rather not eat bacon or ham at all than kill a pig.
but oh they taste so good