A Path to Peace


image source



"Hello, Sadness," said Peace. "How's your day going to go today?"
"Oh, you know. I'll probably look at things in my life that don't fill me with joy. Probably, wallow in the shallow end of the pool, dreaming about diving to new depths, and then list all the reasons I can think up that won't allow me to do that. I'll stay in the shallow end and remain sad."
"Interesting," said Peace. "Wasn't that how you spent yesterday?"
"Yes," said Sadness. "It's how I spend most of my days."
"So, it's a habit?" asked Peace without any note of judgement.
"I guess," murmured Sadness, feeling a little confused.

"Hello, Confusion," said Peace. "How're things?"
"Ummm! I'm not really sure," said Confusion distractedly.
"Interesting," mused Peace. "I wonder why that is."
"Yeah, me too. I was sitting here, and suddenly, everything seemed to shift. It was very strange."
Confusion sat looking perplexed, and then as if by magic, he pulled on a prickly-looking tunic. "I really don't know what happened. I was thinking about diving into the depths of the deep end," He breathed in quickly.
"Are you okay, Confusion?" Asked Peace noticing the subtle changes in Confusion's tone, as well as the prickly tunic.

"No! I don't want to go to the deep end. What if I go under the water? What if I can't breathe?" Hyperventilating, Confusion disappeared and Anxiety showed up in his place.

"Anxiety, is that you?" asked Peace.
Anxiety didn't notice Peace asking the question. She was wide-eyed but unseeing.
"Can I make a suggestion, Anxiety?" Peace paused and lay a calm hand on Anxiety's shoulder.
"What?" Anxiety breathed out. "What?" A little more panic in her voice.
"How about we take off this prickly tunic." Peace gently supported Anxiety, while helping her remove the tunic. "And, Anxiety?"
"Yes?" Anxiety gazed at Peace.
"Where are you?"
Anxiety looked around her and felt the warm water. "I'm in the shallow end," she blinked. Noticing where she was, she sighed.

Peace now returned to the present moment, and smiling swam towards the deep end. After all, she had worked through her sadness, her confusion and her anxiety. She was ready.

Sort:  

like reading one of Aesop's Fables! so beautifully capturing a picturesque scene that vividly (but simply) tells a tale of the complexity and predictability of the human condition! hehehehe

i could see it all. feel the prickly tunic. my eyes got wide WITH Anxiety's hehehehe

i love your style! and i'm so glad that this was left for me in screening - cuz as Sam said - more eyes... (and more treats for me)
hehehehehe

love you - here (early) from dreemport! can't wait til you get some more dreemer eyes on this tomorrow!!! hehehe

I'm thinking it would be kind of fun to write a little series on emotions, and perhaps, after playing with them here, turn them into children's books.

Just at the ideas stage at the mo, but I found your comment encouraging as you likened this to Aesop's Fables. Hehehehe. You are very kind.

I might even get @purplemaze to do some illustrations for me. Who knows, thoughts are free-falling and spinning in this moment. I'll just have to wait and see which ones land best.

I think you're on to something. Sort of a modern day version of Aesop's Fables. There so many life lessons in them but a lot of kids never see the any more.

Yes, I might check out some old tales to give me more ideas. This idea is beginning to grow wings. 😀

young birds take a bit of time to spread their wings... sounds like your idea is starting to unfold

Hi @juliamulcahy,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you x

Peace now returned to the present moment, and smiling swam towards the deep end. After all, she had worked through her sadness, her confusion and her anxiety. She was ready

The end still confusing. Either peace surrended at the deep end, or let anxiety go..😅

Ummm... confusion came back? Lol!

Thank you for taking the time to read my post @jane1289. I appreciate it. !Luv

Your content has been curated on behalf VYB/pob curation trail.
You are recommended to use vyb and/or pob tag for earning the tokens. Thanks

I loved how you make different emotions feel in such a seemingly simple way. Achieving that is very difficult, congratulations on your writing art. Thanks for sharing it on DreemPort, he brought me here. 🤗

Thank you for stopping by fellow dreemer. 💛

We're going to have a whole lot of fun this July!

Sending some !Luv @palomap3 for your time and lovely comment x

This is an intriguing piece. As I read through, I couldn't help but feel like I was reading about myself. These emotions surface only when you let them and they stay there if you encourage them. It starts with sadness then comes confusion and then panic sets in and if that moment one doesn't calm down to think properly, they may never find peace. That's for the motivating story.

Glad you enjoyed it @zyzymena. Peace is always there, it just sometimes gets overshadowed by other emotions. x

One of the best emotions is !Luv so here is a little sent directly to you x

Awwww! Thank you so much 🥰

Exactly! I loved it.

Congratulations @juliamulcahy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 30000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 31000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The 7th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2022
NFT for peace - Thank you for your continuous support
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I adore this. @traisto, this is what I was kinda talking about the other day with Rumi's Guest House poem, or at least, it made me think about it.

Poor old anxiety, She does need that extra bit of tenderness, doesn't she?

Cheers, @riverflows!
Glad @dreemsteem introduced us. 💛

This is incredibly creative @juliamulcahy, I love how you explained the war that go on in our minds. Peace indeed has the power to calm every emotions in us.


It's been a while, so I thought to check on you, hope you're doing well? I haven't heard from you for almost a day or more I guess 🤔.

It's Friday and I hope to see you at the party and have fun engaging, hehe.

Much love from #teemunity 💙💙.

Has it been that long, @hopestylist. My, my! I'm sure glad you stopped by.

I will see you at the party, all going well. But, I may have to listen in at the beginning because it's likely I'll be driving. Ah well, it is what it is. 😊

It's good to hear from you. I couldn't speak to you at the party, hehe maybe next time.