DREAMS DO COME TRUE || CROCHETED DRESS TO BE FEATURED IN MILAN ITALY'S FASHION SHOW!

in #crochet2 years ago

(Edited on Canva)

Right after celebrating Christmas, I received a bulk order from one of my clients. This was her third order since 2020. Her first order consisted of three sets of crochet wearables, which she repeated for her second order. But this time I was blown away when she told me that my crochet dresses would be featured in her fashion show in Milan, Italy! (Such a big GIFT from above.🥰)

Isn't that great? That someone had finally trusted my skill in crocheting and decided to introduce my handmade crocheted dresses in fashion world? Well, I doubt it if she will let my name be known, because she's planning to sell it to the market and that prospect buyers will only find the specific items in her store alone. It means all my crochet dresses cannot be made for other customers that is coming straight from me. The designs will be exclusively for her store only. But it's not really a big deal for me, I think. What's important for me is that finally someone big believes and trusted my capabilities when it comes to crocheting. I know it will be an eye opener to anyone who under estimate my hobby just like my last post, regarding some family members who thinks my crocheting was useless. God had given me the chance of proving them not to underestimate and compare everyone's capabilities. We all shine in our own unique way. We have different paths to take and I had decided which path to walk.

Anyway, back to my client, she had ordered 11 crochet dresses to be featured in her fashion show that will be held in Milan, Italy this coming February 25-26.

So I had a month and 2 weeks to prepare all her orders. But the problem during that time was, I can't ordered from an online app (SHOPEE) where I usually ordered my yarns because it banned Visayas and Mindanao regions due to the effects of typhoon Odette. So what I did first is to search some online sellers on Facebook. I remembered messaging them one by one, asking their pricelist and all available colors. Another problem was that they can't provide the actual picture of the colors and some sellers don't have all the colors I want. Then I remembered another online app (LAZADA) and started to look for yarns. I decided to use spun polyester since a lot of crocheter had recommended this type of yarn because it's shinny. I was happy to fine some spun polyester and ordered 500grams each color. I only find 6 available colors and decided to look the other 5 colors on other Facebook yarn sellers.

My purchase was made on the 1st week of January and the yarns arrived on the 2nd week of the said month leaving me 4 weeks to do the magic. Well, I can't make 3 crochet dresses in a week! So I asked my 2 sisters (back home) for a help. Good thing they know how to crochet also. Sister Jen had an online work at home and sister Judy had stopped schooling since she decided to transfer here in Negros instead of continuing her nursing course in Cebu.

By the way, when the yarns arrived (the one I ordered in LAZADA), I was frustrated. It's not spun polyester but an indophil type of yarns. Though it felt so soft and lighter, but still it's not the type I wanted. Time is running out if I have to order another sets of colors in spun polyester since it takes 5-6 days to arrive upon ordering. Plus I don't want these yarns go to waste and the money I spent. I scan again the online app to check the yarns I ordered and was SHOCKED because the seller had CHANGED the name of the yarns from SPUN POLYESTER to INDOPHIL. Wow! I felt betrayed. But then, I don't have the time to argue or anything. And I just think that "EVERYTHING HAS ITS REASON". So the other colors of yarns from other seller arrived and it's what I expected, the shinny spun polyester yarns.
(Before purchasing.)
(After the yarns arrived.)

(These pictures were taken just to show you the changes that the seller had made after I purchased the yarns.)

I asked my client about the measurements of the models (like bust, waist, hips, arm, armhole, length of top part and skirt part). But she was unable to give all the necessary measurements needed and able to give only 7 out of 11 models' measurements.

So what I did is to think of a way, where everything is adjustable (the sleeve and the opening of the dresses on both sides and some are on the front).

The designs of the dresses will be all the same with different kinds of appliques. I design the dress with my own pattern and my client had approved it but she's the one who told me to put some appliques like stars, hearts, cherries, and more. But I decide what appliques be sewn on a particular color of dress.

To cut the story, I made 5 crocheted dresses while my sisters made 3 dresses each of them. I mostly made all the appliques and sewn it all on the dresses.

We were able to sent it on time (I guess) to my client in US through DHL Express last Tuesday. We paid P10,192.00 pesos ($200) for the shipping fee which was shouldered by my client of course. And I was hoping that everything will be perfectly okay during the fashion show.

And here are some sneak peek on our crocheted dresses we made and I would love to hear your comments, reactions, conclusions or suggestions if you have.

After I made some pictorials with the dresses I thought of putting some extension on the inside of the opening of the dress so that no skin will show if the model tend to be bigger than the dress.

This post is to inspire also other crafters to never surrender your dreams. DREAMS DO COME TRUE. God bless everyone. 🥰

(All the photos are mine except the 2 pictures on the above showing the changes of the name of the yarn.)

Sort:  

Those are the cutest dresses! They are adorable, and so fun and colorful! Kudos for a job well done, and having your hard work featured in a fashion show! 😃

Thank you for liking those dresses @thekittygirl. It means a lot to me.🥰

Wow, congrats. I can see the excitement from you know your work will be exposed. Good luck and keep going.

Thank you @mrnightmare89. 😊 Indeed, I'm very excited to see even in pictures when models started to walk on the runway wearing those dresses.🥰

I love them
I wish I could crochet like this

Thanks @kaerpediem.🥰 Everyone can crochet, but great passion and determination is the key to amazing handwork.

those dresses are really beautiful!!! i admire your patience:) i would also love to see how they look in your clients fashion show..

Thank you @kesityu.fashion. I'll try to make a post after the fashion show and hoping to get pictures also.🥰 Thanks for dropping by and God bless.

Congrat! So good to have your creations featured in a real fashion week show. :)

!PIZZA

Thank you @juanvegetarian. Excited nako sa outcome.🥰

Good job on your part. 😁

What an inspiring journey.😍 May the good Lord bless you more and your business. Stay safe! 😊

Thank you @inspiringcebuana. 🥰

You're welcome.❤️

Beautiful dresses. The colors blended really well. So envious, I hope I can make one for myself. Just a top or a cover up will do,

Thank you @dizzyapple.
For over a decade of crocheting, I learned a lot. Practice makes you perfect as they've said.🥰 You can make it happen naman once your eager enough and determine.

Beautiful dresses. Wonderful talent you have there. You can see a lot of love went into these. Congrats! I came to your post via Pimp Your Post Thursday !PIZZA !ALIVE

@jonalyn2020! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you so much @samsmith1971. 🥰

Omg! I couldn't imagine the work you've put into these pieces @jonalyn2020! I know how to crochet but just the basic enough to finish a cellphone case hehe Your skills are insane! Amazing! Congrats and you deserve it! Cheers! 🥂

Thank you so much @patsitivity.🥰 I also started in cellphone cases and small pouches. And over a decade of practicing crochet, I learned a lot. And it became my addiction.😅

Wow, these are beautiful, I love the purple one a lot.
Indeed dreams do come true.

Thank you so much @khaleesii. 🥰 I bet, purple is your fave color.😁

I am a black coloured girl but your dresses are starting to change my mind.

I think it doesn't matter if you're white or black. It would be great on anyone, even on you. 😊

I mean I love black colours, but yeah this would look good on anyone.

Congrats sis, well deserved! 😘

Thank you so much sis..🥰

You're welcome sis 😊😉

GHAD LOL! CONGRATULATIONS! I wish you all the success and some more! Iba talga pag talented!



Hey, thanks for using our tag #vyb #proofofbrain or #pob

We upvoted you using our tribe tokens POB and VYB! In case you don't know... (truth be told I just read it somewhere 🤣) By staking our tokens then delegating them to @pob-curator and @vyb-curator respectively, you can have 95% of the curation gained back to you in daily automated payments.


VYB Curation Project (VCP)

"Every man's work, whether it be literature or music or pictures or architecture or anything else, is always a portrait of himself." - Samuel Butler

Thank you @khoola.🥰

Amazing! You deserve it! Things you croche are spectacular and you are very talented. Never let anyone make you believe otherwise!

Thank you so much @rimicane for that uplifting words. I got devastated every time they make me fell like worthless. That this craft of mine is just a waste of time. But I'm still thankful for some people, like you that you had appreciated what I'm doing. Thank you so much from the bottom of heart. 💕🥰

Congratulations @jonalyn2020! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 21000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 22000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 14
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.