Cracking the HSPU (Hand Stand Push-Ups)

in #crossfit7 years ago

Hand Stand Push-Ups... that old chestnut.

As a novice, this movement is seemingly difficult at first. And it really is.

So how do we do them?

Answer - build them up.

If you try to go straight into doing your first full hand stand push-up with no training, chances are you'll lower your head to the ground, then as you take a deep breath before you attempt to push your entire body weight back up, you'll realise you're not strong enough to do so. I know, because this was me a 18 months ago.

The best way to build up to a full HSPU is to place padding underneath where your head will be in the hand stand position. Initially, have the padding build fairly high so that you're only having to lower your head a few inches before it hits the padding and you have to push yourself back up again. Then gradually, start to remove more padding as you become stronger and are able to lower your head even more.

Eventually, should have built up enough shoulder strength that you can lower yourself fully to the ground and you are able to push your entire body back up again. This is no mean feet, but HSPU's are a fantastic measurement of strength.

18 months ago, my head hit the ground and I was unable to push myself back up again.

Just keep on 'a trainin'!

Sort:  

The potential for injury seems to outweigh the health benefits?

Though that won't stop me from trying =)

Please check out my post regarding the start of a 3 month healthy living challenge here. Ill be sure to include a HSPU during my 30 day 100 push up mini challenge I've included.

Crossfit does have this reputation for causing injuries, but crossfit isn't responsible for injuries, poor form is responsible. But personally, I would rather risk injury while trying to be the fittest I can be than avoid injury and be average haha

Sweet man. I'll be sure to follow your progress. Best of luck cracking those HSPU's!