What's a post worth in USD right now?

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

For right now here's the tl:dr: Take your post payout listed on steemit.com and multiply by 5.5. That will tell you how many USD worth of Steem and SBD you're going to get for your post at the time of payout. If you multiply by 5 this will give you a rough estimate of what it's worth in liquid rewards.

Here's the deal

When you look at a post and see the value that's not actually USD (even though there is a dollar sign there). That number references post rewards, which is a combination of SBDs and SP that are going to be rewarded by the blockchain. It's pretty complicated how it works so I thought I'd break it down for you so that'd you know what a post is worth.

I'm going to take my last post to payout as an example: https://steemit.com/mspwaves/@aggroed/minnow-mayor-town-hall-live-in-90-min

The post payout was 142.01. I'm going to call the units here Pay (post payout)

As the author I received 113.79Pay.
As curators folks received 28.22Pay

From those author rewards due to conversions in the system those 113.79 Pay turn into 56.895 SBD and 33.448 Steem Power.

(you'll notice that SBD is at exactly 50% of Pay is dolled out as SBD rewards, "Rewards" when you post initially says 50/50 but conversions set by the witnesses distort it from that)

SBDs are worth $12.8 USD at the time of writing this. SP is worth 1.8.

So, from SBD I earned $728 USD. From SP I earned $60USD. For a grand total of $788.46.

So, if you're looking for a fast way to figure out what it's worth to you in USD simply take the post reward shown on the post and multiply by 5.5 and that will tell you roughly how much it's worth in USD (this number is undergoing a lot of change right now because SBDs and Steem values are bouncing a lot). If you want to know what the liquid portion is worth just multiply post reards by 5.

Here's a spreadsheet to help you see the USD value of a post when it pays out will be

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/18FOyy7ngm5Ar-7TWyaW0b46SYYFX4gqZgQhLZ7YlagY/edit?usp=sharing

This thing is subject to change so don't take this as certain forever. Edit. It would also seem that people like to edit google sheets to the point they are unusable...

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Steem dollar is worth more than it used to be, the only problem is how long it is going to last. Hopefully forever :)

Hopefully steem dollar will last forever my friend. so that people would be very happy to have it. Merry Christmas in advance.

Steemit!!

This is something I was looking for.Thanks for sharing

Holy Moly. I am not doing math right now. I am posting like crazy to get more sbd. This is shocking. I am really a weight loss and social media blogger here to take advantage of the alexa ranking, sell books, spread my message etc.

But now???

Oh my goodness. Let me just post another post and a few more comments and then sleep and get up and keep doing it. I can't believe my luck to be here.

Thank you for the calculation. It will make me happier as I work.

I am little here, but I do have one post coming with $50+ payout on it right now. I am so happy. I live in Thailand because I love it, but I am here because it is cheap. This is a miracle.

I live in thailand too! -

Imagine making an extra $20 a day on here? wooohooo!

Trust me - I am completely beside myself now. My rent and bills are $300 a month. I am posting as fast as I can!

I'm in bkk out by mrt sutthisan. How about you?

Near Udon thani at the moment.(north).

I have lived in various parts- on and off, since '93 ish.

( I now have 25 thai words in my vocabulary. lol )

You and me both! I can grunt in Thai and they think I can talk. But grunting and ten other words are it. I feel like such a loser. So glad to meet another one.

I was living outside of Amphoe Pehn last year for a few months. What a fantastic spot. I would definitely go back. All I need in life is wifi, healthy food and peace and quiet. I sure got it up there with the cow for my neighbor lol. Lucky you. You are now a very rich man in your part of the world :)

losers of the world unite!

I'm not a rich man in any part of the world! lol

Keep posting and you will be! This is a wild ride.

it's magic, yo

It really is amazing at this time! The value has shot yo. I still have no idea why SBD which is supposed to be tied to the USD is at such high levels!

Wow, it looks like I am going to get $200 for this post which for me is an all time high for me. It says $36.

Steem and SBD are now more strengthen, good for the community

you are right :) , sbd and steem now beautiful :)

Thanks for doing the math. Steemit never fails to bring out the best in people who care.

yeah ...we are making 12x more now....till the price of sbd is high...

It will keep going high for a good while.

Great information.

The high price of SBDs is really exciting news especially for whales.
I just wrote a post encouraging Minnows to stop posting and start commenting on Whales Posts,the rewards from comments are more valuable for Minnows than rewards from posts!

I've said this for months.

There, my two cent vote is worth 11. ;)

Hahaha thanks for the 2 cents

I just calculate it like this: Take the number shown as the profit and multiply it by 5. That is how many pennies you get in USD right now (assuming STEEM dollars are about 10$). There is also the STEEM Power you get in the same volume, which I do not turn into plain STEEM so I can sell it.

Thanks for the heads up!

Great description of how Steem works. Thanks Bro!

the perfect explanation, many friends still do not understand exactly about the 50-50 result sharing @aggroed

Learned somethin' new. Thanks :)

This post is timely as there has been some questions begging for answers regarding payout differences. This idea is helpful, thanks @ggroed. Upvoted

What's a post worth in USD right now?

my first thought after I read the title; Mine or yours? 😆
keep working hard @aggroed, got my witness vote, bud!

well thats what I wass looking for...
Thanks u so much

Oww exellent post. I am feel better and i also like this post.

That's a good detailed explanation, thanks alot pal

A very useful post for those who had no clue of how rewards were given for posts and to think I just used to wonder why were my rewards far less than what I expected them to be.

Thanks for this!

I cant wait till those days i can see one of my posts say "$100.00+" in rewards..... I have a plan on learning python and making an upvote bot that goes through what it thinks are the best posts of the day and just upvotes something along the lines of $20-$50 in rewards without anyone needing to donate or anything....

Wouldn't it be wounderful to have the delight to log on and see a single vote that makes your day? I think so 😉

But thats far off, currently putting all my effort into making my vote worth it for the content i like.... Its a long journey but i'm really looking foreward to those days.

Hey I use that picture all the time! @aggroed gotta love Unsplash. Great info as always. This is why you get my witness vote.

i liked this post

Cheers for this. When you’re lucky enough that someone wallops a huge wadge on your post, always fun to see what might be coming in!

I like very much your post.thanks for sharing this info.

Thanks so much for the explanation @aggroed! I wish you have a great day!

hey @aggroed especilly thanks for discuss about bitcoin..best of luck my friend...

are you know the reason why price of steem down @anggroed? please tell me

How do I get a PHD(post hyping degree) in Steemology?
:-)
I think I need a student loan... to become a postgraduate!!!
:-)
Happy Monday to you Aggroed!

Hopefully in a month we’ll be talking about two digit multipliers!

Kind of strange how they convert into SP, why is it less than 50 % ? It seems that every time there is a different formula.

This whole monetary aspect is still very confusing to me :(

Thank you for the simple breakdown.

Holy fucking shit

Great information. I had been wondering about this for some time now and I'm glad you cleared it up.

(you'll notice that SBD is at exactly 50% of Pay is dolled out as SBD rewards, "Rewards" when you post initially says 50/50 but conversions set by the witnesses distort it from that).

What do you mean by that? The payout is exactly 50/50. 50% is paid out in SBD and the other 50% is paid out in STEEM based on the current STEEM price.

33.448 STEEM in your example, multiplied by the current price of about $1.7 is $56.86 - so exactly 50/50 payout.

The problem comes from the fact that the system assumes a $1 = 1 SBD conversion rate.

taht's roughly what I mean. There's a conversation factor that's put in there from the witness feed that makes it so you don't get 50 units of SBD and 50 Steem. You get 50 SBD and 50 Steem divided by the price feed.

So, a minnow that wonders why it's not 50:50 by number of them, and it's not 50:50 by value of them might be confused.

What! thats amazing! I totally didn't understand that!

You got a 33.21% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @aggroed!

Wow steemit is getting more and more exciting. Everyone is so motivated. Keep it up!

Thank you for this article! Following you for more helpful info like this. Is there a place I can check to see how much to multiply the Pay # by (or is there a simple equation to figure it out?)? thanks!

Wow, this is why Steemit is a great investment.

This post has received a 49.07 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @aggroed

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Nice! Useful information.

This is very exciting. However, is it okay for us to post for the sake of rewards at this time?

My posts make around 3-4 Pay in average (unless I use a voting bot and I get lucky with it working)

Honestly, I would love to make more money and grow to get more noticed as well as vote my followers with better ROI.

However, I keep thinking of all the drama that will be raised for abusing the reward pool etc.. and the flagging that may appear with it.

What do you think @aggroed?

Many thanks

I spent 7 SBD on a vote from @booster, got a huge hit and my post is saying $84, so multiply by 5.5 and you get....eh...mmm...

...

...STEEM IS FRICKIN AWESOME RIGHT NOW. Lolz. Thank God for Steem, let's all keep steeming. HA!

There are 2 pages
Pages