Decentralized VPN powered by Blockchain

in #crypto7 years ago

I think there are great new concepts and ideas out there.
Today I want to introduce Mysterium Network.

mysterixxxum.jpg

really good ideas can be described in few words

Mysterium is an Open Sourced Network allowing anyone to rent
their unused Network traffic, while providing
a secure connection for those in need."

thats it basically.
I think this is a good idea. A big step forward to our privacy. It closes the weak point in VPN solutions.
Until now you had to trust your VPN provider, at least there was always one weak point while using VPN services

Mysterium Network – an Open source software, powering a Decentralized Network of VPN Nodes.

here some more detailed information:

webpage mysterium project: https://mysterium.network/

Sort:  

It's a great idea, but I hope MaidSafe will be better response to censorship.

Anyway - more the merrier. Thank you for your post!

anything helping getting rid of middlemen is welcome. go crypto go!

I hope mysterium can succeed. In an age where internet privacy is becoming more and more of a concern, decentralized vpn can be amazing. As someone who lives in China and must use VPN every day, I hope mysterium can be cheaper and more secure than anything available now.

bye bye centralized middlemen !!!

I need to know how someone can comment on my Post and get an upvote from you instantly... Check my post titled ATTENTION ALL WHALES....
@pocketechange

Good question! I delegate votingpower to very good people on steemit because i trust them, like @goodkarma, @curie, @thecryptofiend @ats-david, @robinhoodwhale, @minnowsupport, @steemtrail, @instructor2121, @papa-pepper, @kevinwong . . . . . they are voting for me in my name and with my votingpower because I trust them. You wrote: I rarely upvote . . . . Thats a big mistake. Not voting, curating posting Is like a bitcoin miningfarm who gets only electricity for 45 minutes a day. I think this is a good comparison. mining on Steemit is upvoting, taking part in the action.
steemdtrailers-.jpg

Thanks for some well needed advice...
@pocketechange

But take care with the upvoting, and only vote for what you believe you deserves it. Your voting power is not unlimited and reduces over a specific time period before it replenishes.
Also, decent commenting that contributes to the article and conversation, also earns you rewards. In other words, as @elgeko is saying, get involved in the community and the community will get involved in you. =)

Thanks again... Knowledge is power and I could use a little right now...

And here you go! I just found this post by @edje explaining it all.

https://steemit.com/howto/@edje/post-promotions-do-s-and-don-ts

thank you leo!

Just ask around, there are plenty of helpful people on Steemit. I haven't kept a track of their Steemit how-to posts, but there are plenty. But most of all, be patient! There have been a recent influx of people to Steemit, thinking they will scam it and get rich quick, but the ways of the old social networks do not apply here.

Good blockchain. Keep sharing upvote friend

I am constantly surprised by the innovated applications that blockchain is being applied to.

Me too, so many new good ideas. Much better concepts than burning huge amounts of electricity for blockmining like the bitcoin generation. Steemit is an example of the future. (mining by typing this reply -lol) It just makes more sense than gettn profiled on fakebook NWOscam. STEEMIT is the best "Basic income" model i have ever seen. bye bye centralized profiler.
fakebook.jpg

I'm blogging away here on Steemit, and starting to see the potential in it. But, I'm curious to see the shake down in the rewards after HF19.

Great idea. Hope you will do great job.
How do you want solve problem of scaling?

maybe EOS can help out and becomes the main-chain for many timecritical applications/ETH-assets. It really could be that the ultrahigh speed approach of EOS is making ethereum_masterchain look like a oldfashioned snail compared to EOS. dantheman_remake.jpg

Congratulations @elgeko! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Please follow @ herman2141 hai kawan steemit wherever you are and vote on steem okay

I can't imagine how slow the initial prototype would be. A normal VPN + blockchain transactions.

Someday, sure. Near-term, I'd want to see the data.

I describe the basic idea and the fact that I like the idea, taking centralized server out of play.
If you wanna see the data go and research them.
I can only show you the DADA. dada.jpg

I think your thought goes in a wrong direction- all the VPN-traffic 4sure goes trough without any blockchain entry anonymously, the blockchain only randomizes the VPN-tunnel-system in a uncrackable way from a cloud of potential nodes to let the traffic flow to a bunch of randomly selected nodes which are defined trough blocks in the chain. No traffic/content from the tunnel will be ever written into blockchain - lol - guess nobody wants to have his secret (=content in VPN-tunnel) data written in a blockchain. Maybe i got it all wrong, if so can happen, we are all learning

Yea, I should have been more clear. I'd want to see the performance metrics on normal traffic vs VPN traffic vs decentralized VPN.

Ideally, no one is watching the actual request data.

I just imagine that the blockchain lookups may still be slower than something like Tor or a normal VPN.