Sort:  

Good question! I delegate votingpower to very good people on steemit because i trust them, like @goodkarma, @curie, @thecryptofiend @ats-david, @robinhoodwhale, @minnowsupport, @steemtrail, @instructor2121, @papa-pepper, @kevinwong . . . . . they are voting for me in my name and with my votingpower because I trust them. You wrote: I rarely upvote . . . . Thats a big mistake. Not voting, curating posting Is like a bitcoin miningfarm who gets only electricity for 45 minutes a day. I think this is a good comparison. mining on Steemit is upvoting, taking part in the action.
steemdtrailers-.jpg

Thanks for some well needed advice...
@pocketechange

But take care with the upvoting, and only vote for what you believe you deserves it. Your voting power is not unlimited and reduces over a specific time period before it replenishes.
Also, decent commenting that contributes to the article and conversation, also earns you rewards. In other words, as @elgeko is saying, get involved in the community and the community will get involved in you. =)

Thanks again... Knowledge is power and I could use a little right now...

And here you go! I just found this post by @edje explaining it all.

https://steemit.com/howto/@edje/post-promotions-do-s-and-don-ts

thank you leo!

Just ask around, there are plenty of helpful people on Steemit. I haven't kept a track of their Steemit how-to posts, but there are plenty. But most of all, be patient! There have been a recent influx of people to Steemit, thinking they will scam it and get rich quick, but the ways of the old social networks do not apply here.