Story about mining in 2010 and one chinese mp3 player

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

78_main.jpg

I have a friend who is one of those legendary early investors. At the very dawn of cryptoanarchism, he consolidated certain number of bitcoins, and now is enjoying his life in southeast Asia. Eating an incredible amount of drugs and indulging in all sorts of depraved actions. And if nothing terrible happens, then in such a regime he will be able to live at least 20 years. He's got rich, well done.

In 2010, it was he who told me to try to mine bitcoins on my home gaming computer. Fortunately, it was extremely stuffed with best hardware. I really like gaming, but it's a completely different story.

So that's it. After a while, I had about 30 bitcoins in my wallet. There could be more, but I always forgot to switch on the miner, did not remember about it at all, and did not really think that it might be useful to me in the future. For me it was only an introduction to the new technology, interesting experience. The joy of the fact that in the world there are new processes and changes.

Of course, I wanted to test the practical application of that small number of mined cryptocurrency. And when I have found the first Chinese site that traded all sorts of rubbish for the crypt, I immediately decided to buy something for myself. It was so interesting!

I had 30 bitcoins.

And for them I bought a very "necessary" thing - mp3 car player, which can be inserted into the cigarette lighter.

And it cost (with delivery) 30 bitcoins. Thirty!

This story ended with the fact that I was left without a crypt. And the player was not even delivered to my address - maybe they did not send it at all, or maybe someone at the customs office decided to keep a very "necessary" thing for themselves. It was normal in Ukraine in those times.

Thus ended my mining history. Now I'm remembering this with a laugh and, of course, I am a little sorry that I did not keep these money and did not increase the overall sum when there was an opportunity. But, most likely, even then it was a sign that mining is not for me. And the blockchain itself is much more interesting.

But 30 bitcoins!

If you have had similar stories, share them in the comments to the post.

Hello, Steemit! :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @atvalevsky! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!