Condo Boards need to keep and eye on power.

My grandmother lives in a building where power is included in her condo fees. She got a letter from the board saying they needed to raise the fees this year due to increase power costs. One of her friends is on the board so I took a look at her bills and in fact, the kwh cost remained relatively the same throughout the year but the usage went up considerably.

I am an electrical technician and offered free of charge to test the individual suit feeders for amperage draw. Turns out 3 of the 32 units in the building were using almost 70A each using mining rigs, fans, and AC 24/7. In the end the condo board and police got involved and it scared the guys enough to find another place to do their crypto mining.

Just makes me wonder how much this kind of thing is happening all over the place. No reason others should have to pay for all this mining power usage, especially someone on a limited budget like my grandmother. I hope other Condo Boards start doing these kinds of assessments. Those of you who live in condos should bring it up with your boards.